We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sabah Oriental Hotel
Ranked #42 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I chose Sabah Oriental as my first hotel on my trip around Sabah. I was disappointed first because I expected a real 4 star hotel. Well, it turn out it wasn't. However after my four weeks of travelling I returned gladly back to this hotel. Compared to the Sabah-standard of hotels it wasn't a bad choice after all. The staff was friendly, the room spacious (but dated) and the breakfast above the average. If you need a room for three nights or so and get a good deal, pick Sabah Oriental. Just don't expect a 4star extravaganza and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 61hitchhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (307)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

153 - 159 of 307 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2012

I stayed few times at this hotel since few years back. It was a nice 3 stars hotel actually. I love everything inside the room and this is the only hotel that i ever encountered provides sarong and prayer mat in the room. Service also tip top. Only that the food wasn't my cup of tea and the pool was small.

Room Tip: Ask for the room that facing to the building/main road. Its kinda cool at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cintame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

This hotel is pretty expensive and the service isn't very effective. I spent 3 nights there and they never refurbished the toiletries for example.
I was glad it was out of the hustle and bustle from the city so i could enjoy some chill time and the pool but the smell of sewage made me go away from it really fast.
The buffet breakfast was nice though and the service in the "oriental cafe" was really good.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monique L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

The service is okay. There's not much info I can tell since I only stay there for 1 night. I like the bathroom coz its the only hotel I know in KK that ALL ROOM have Bathtub. Location is maybe 5 minute drive to centre point. This hotel provide shuttel bus to the city, two trips a day. If u wish to take a taxi, it'll cos MYR 12. They also provide bathrobe, slippers, toiletries, and iron.

Like : Bathtub, Worth price.
Liked least : Room condition, its look a little bit dusty maybe.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank car0l_j0hn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

For what you pay, it's pretty expensive in comparison to other places. The breakfast is ok, the rooms are fine - dated, but there is nothing wrong with them. It's pretty far from the town and the markets/ shopping/ attractions. So if you are wanting to check these out, I'd recommend finding a place a bit closer to the action. But if you need a break from the bustle, this is probably a good place to chill.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LittleCurrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

The Sabah Oriental in KK is old and it shows it. The decor is tatty. You can see that the hotel is cleaned and maintained well, but it needs a total refurbishment. The breakfast is very disappointing. It is often just warmed over old food.
The lobby smells and they allow smokers in the Coffee Lounge and the reek of stale cigarettes pervades part of the lobby.
The bathroom was old and tacky and you need muscles to flush in this hotel also.
The toiletries are meagre in the Superior Room.
The Hotel is probably right as a Backpackers Accommodation but not at these prices.

Room Tip: Try the Ming Garden Opposite. It is just as inaccessible to the city centre, but it is much newer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnstod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

If you want to stay only one night, say you are in transit in Kota Kinabalu, this is good enough. However, be aware that the standing is local malaysian, means the overall service and level of comfort is quite low compared to other countries, sorry to say. Furnitures are old old old, dirty and smelly carpets, poor breakfast,... We were also quite unlucky as our flush did leak all night, making a strong but short replenisment noise every 15 seconds. In short, the hotel provides you everything you need but don't dream, it is not going to be a lovely stay. Downtown is more 30mn by walk. Taxi to the airport is 30 RM, to downtown is 12 RM and if hou go to Nexus Resort it will cost you 80 RM (45mn).

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Laurent P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
#40 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oceania Hotel
Oceania Hotel
#21 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
189 reviews
6.0 mi away
Grand Borneo Hotel
Grand Borneo Hotel
#61 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#14 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
335 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#10 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
474 reviews
0.9 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#9 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sabah Oriental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sabah Oriental Hotel

Address: Lorong Kemajuan, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia (Formerly Beverly Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: $37 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sabah Oriental Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rooms are designed with your comfort in mind. At Sabah Oriental Hotel you’ll discover that attention to details is our hallmark to ensure your stay in Sabah Oriental Hotel is a perfect one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Splitty, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Orbitz so you can book your Sabah Oriental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sabah Oriental Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing