We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Likas Square Apartment Hotel
Ranked #24 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed December 24, 2011

Despite an excellent room rate and spacious well-built rooms, it was such a horrible experience!
We had checked in late in the evening and asked for towels (only three in the apartment - despite telling the staff repeatedly that there is 6 of us, thought it would be obvious since there is 4 single beds and a double bed in the three roomed apartment!!) - this became a regular occurrance - whenever we returned from our outings in the evening, we would have to call housekeeping to ask for extra towels and on more than one occasion we would have to call asking them to clean our rooms!!
Before we left the rooms in the morning we would call housekeeping and ask them to clean our rooms - lo and behold when we get back in the evening, the rooms are still not cleaned - seriously the bathrooms needs scrubbing!!
The final straw was when we got back on the last evening on our stay to find the in-room fridge to be wide open (everything in the fridge was warm!) PLUS some of our children's chocolates was opened, half eaten and placed on top of the fridge!! When we called to complained to reception, the receptionist simply said she didn't know anything, and added there is no manager plus housekeeping was closed!
The next day upon check out, I complained to the staff - they simply told me to fill in a form!!!
So to sum it up - AVOID THIS PLACE!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank han111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LikasSquareAptHotel, General Manager at Likas Square Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2012

First of all I would like to thank you for your feedback. My apologies for not getting back to you sooner.

We truly regret to have caused inconvenience during your last stay with us. We agree with you that the usual high standard of our services were not met in this instance. Please accept our sincere apology for the lapse in service delivery. I want to assure you that we take such feedback very seriously and will ensure the necessary action is taken to avoid any future occurrence.

I would like to invite you to contact me directly at razali@likassquare.com.my in order for me to gather some further detail. I want to let you know that we have every intention of assisting our guests and resolving all issues brought to our attention because our guests' interest is our utmost priority.

Once again, we thank you for giving us the opportunity to do better. We are looking forward to your continued support.

Wish you a pleasant day ahead.

Yours sincerely,
Razali Ali
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

146 - 152 of 189 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2011

We had a great time staying at Likas Square Condotel. We had a rented car so travelling within KK was not a problem at all. The hotel does provide shuttle service to KK town at specific intervals so should not be a problem to others without own transport. Just check with the reception and book your seats an be flexible with your plan.
Unit has full condo facilities and you can cook if you wish. just call the housekeeping and they will supply you with the necessary utensils. Units are furnished tastefully and very modern. Housekeeping is very friendly and cooperative. Front desk is helpful and late check out can be arranged upon request subject to room availability.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizKualaLumpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

First impression is not very good. The security of the hotel is not good. Everyone can simply get into the floor. No toilet at the lobby, we need to going to the share toilet at the shop lot beside the condo. Corridor side is very dirty and insecure. There is kitchen in the suite but without any cooking facilities. 3 bed rooms suite only with 2 sitting sofa at the living rooms which can only sit by max 4 person. The window at the living rooms is broken, it is too dangerous...! The floor with a lots of dust. Didn't clean/check the room before guest check in? The water from the shower head is too small..although there is free shuttle to the city, but the other public transport is not convenient at this area. There is only some small stall at the next door, the shopping complex is no longer with any supermarket. It is hardly to get nice food at this area, forgot about the supper since the cafe/restaurant near by will be close just after your dinner. will not visit for next, Wont recommend for long stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank y3e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We had 7 members of a family staying in an apartment unit. The place was clean and well laid out. Free shuttle bus was provided to CBD. Food stores and restaurants are available and traveling to CBD not necessary. Wetland Bird Sactuary is just a walking distance. We drove an MPV and parking is free. This accomodation is well woth the money adn is recommended for family sized travelers.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burnerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2011

My first impression when we reach this hotel, is this really 3stars hotel and really make me regret booking this hotel online. But, my impression 360' change when i enter our 3bedrooms premiere suite. It really stylish modern apartment for dull-look coridor and poor-maintenance lift. The room is really clean and comfortable for long stay. The kitchenette is almost complete, with various of plates and bowls but no pan. Their location is regrettable. Even there only 5km from city, but it will cost you a lot. We are in group of 7 been charged rm120 from hotel to philipino market(2ways). However, taxi only cost us rm15 per taxi one way for the same destination. But, there is no taxi around the hotel area. I highly recommended you who in large group to get 2taxis than use van charter through travel agency. The price in doubled. It is wiser decision for you to rent a car or just find any taxi number contact if you plan to stay here

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nazuha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2010

I have stayed in this apartment twice. Both in Deluxe room.
Yes, the corridor to the apartment really need repainting but the apartment itself is nice. What I like about this apartment hotel is it is very spacious. It has 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms, Kitchen with gas stove, big fridge, etc. In short it's like staying at home! Both of my kids got their own bed to sleep in. And my parents stayed in the other room. Very comfortable compare to normal hotel where you have to cramped in 2 single bed.
The house keeping service is good. They came in every day to clean the room and replace the towels.
The only drawback is the location. Little bit out of town. But it is fine for us because we had a car and the parking is free with security. Only about 10 minutes drive to the town.

If you travel big group and have your own transport this is a place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmirHam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2010

We stayed for six nights at Likas Square. I first had hesitations when we checked in and the receptionist had no idea what she was doing and gave me the key and walked off, and I had to ask where the room was! The rooms were fine, reasonably clean but the showers hadn't been cleaned very well. We had to constantly ask housekeeping for more things like toilet paper and towels, and they charge if you ask for extra soap etc, luckily we had our own. The door to the room was aboslutely filthy and the whole place needs a paint. The pool was quite large and clean so that was an upside. Location is in this weird centre and we asked the hotel staff if there was anywhere to eat in there, and they said no, but there was! There were a few little local style cafe places. You couldn't walk into town so taxis became a cost that we weren't really anticipating. Upon checkout, the same receptionist that checked us in just ignored us and continue looking at paperwork until I said, excuse me we'd like to check out. Reception was never busy and there were always more than enough staff on so I'm not sure what their issue was. Overall, unless you're taking a big family as the apartments can have three bedrooms, I wouldn't stay there again. The staff were so frustrating and incredibly unhelpful, and location inconvenient.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel_lover3067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,201 reviews
2.0 mi away
Borneo Vista Suites Hotel
Borneo Vista Suites Hotel
#39 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
37 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#11 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Grand Borneo Hotel
Grand Borneo Hotel
#63 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
369 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
714 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
#40 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Likas Square Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Likas Square Apartment Hotel

Address: 1 Jalan Istiadat, Kota Kinabalu 88400, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#9 Best Value Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: $26 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Likas Square Apartment Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Likas Square Apartment Hotel offers spacious 3 bedroom suites with modern furnishings in Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, Malaysian Borneo. Linked to a shopping complex, it is just 15 minutes from Kota Kinabalu International Airport, 3 minutes from 1 Borneo Hypermall, Jesselton Point and Likas Sports Complex and Golf Driving Range, walking distance to the Sabah Trade Centre and offers free scheduled shuttle service to Kota Kinabalu City Centre just 5 minutes away.Elegantly furnished with the scenic Likas Bay, Mount Kinabalu and quaint city of Kota Kinabalu as its backdrop and ample space ranging from 1352 square feet onward, it features a living room, dining room and kitchenette, all with individually controlled air-conditioning, a television, telephone, modern bathroom facilities, refrigerator as well as coffee and tea making facilities, WIFI and parking.In house guests can utilize the outdoor swimming pool while enjoying the views of Mount Kinabalu, or workout in the fitness center while children play at the playground. The hotel also has an all day dining Café and meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Likas Square Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Likas Square Condotel Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Likas Square Apartment Hotel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing