We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm decor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Jesselton Hotel
Ranked #12 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Stayed here one night, hotel is well situated. Close to shops, cafés and tourism information centre.
Hotel has a warm ambience with its timber decor. The hotel was undergoing some reno's so future visitors should have a nice experience.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
Thank Re B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (546)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

227 - 233 of 546 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed there for three nights at the end of December 2013
Its a nice allround clean hotel. The staff were friendly and the twin room very spacious and clean. The beds and pillows were really comfortable.
The hotel is located in the centre of town and everything in the city was within easy walking distance. Breakfast was not included in tne price which is just as well as the restaurant and bar were closed for refurbishment.
We originally thought the price was expensive for Malaysia but when we checked the other hotels the Jesselton is very reasonable. I think Kota Kinabalu is a bit more expensive than mainland Malaysia but still reasonable.

Room Tip: Unfortunately none of the rooms have a view as the hotel is in the centre of town, we were on the fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jim t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

This is well located in the hart of the town. Lots of restaurants and stuff are walk able. Room was very fresh with clean bath. Check in efficient. Wifi worked. Even though I faced a major street noise was minimal. Bar-Restaurant under renovation during my stay so no comment on those

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InTheMoment_TBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

The location is excellent, but the service lower the expectation! Some comments about the service of this hotel is good, in fact, negative ! Perhaps, I expected too much before check-in.
Some time 1 big towel in the room only, another day no big towel with only small towel! The second day no fridge in the room 107 but 101 had...
Anyway, the attitude of the staff is nice, only the facilities are little disappointed!

Stayed: November 2013
Thank TwoOwlEgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Located right smack in the heart of Gaya Street, it is near to great local foods and a walking distance to the seafront.

Although the hotel is rather old, the rooms are clean and staff are friendly. Wifi was not working though but not really a big deal.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tekk0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

A beautifully restored hotel complete with doorman in a white suit and pith hat and housekeepers in traditional English maid uniforms. If I had to criticise anything, it would be that the carpets had a few stains and were probably due for a shampoo. We felt room tariff was reasonable and was surprised it only rates as 4 star.
Modern is good but in my opinion you can't beat a beautifully restored hotel. This of course being Kota Kinabalu's 1st hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dreamer0708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights as a packagedeal from our tourarranger, and that was a very good choice. First of all jesselton don't look like any of these massive concreteblocks, second is hat a lot of charm.
At arrival we were met with a Big smile, and one of the staff even carried our luggage to our room, or should i say the suite room no.333 at 3rd. Floor. A huge hotelroom a livingroom and a Big bathroom. Muhammed Ali onde stayed here, i felt like a king!
We went on a Tour and came back 2 days later, and stayed another 2 nights, this time in normal room, but still great.
Location is right in the center of town, close to famous nightmarket and shoppingmalls.
I Would stay here again if i come back. Friendly staff as well.

Room Tip: 333 the suite room is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stoffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
748 reviews
0.2 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#9 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
854 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#14 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,533 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jesselton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jesselton Hotel

Address: 69 Gaya Street, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: $56 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Jesselton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Jesselton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jesselton Hotel Kota Kinabalu
The Jesselton Hotel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing