We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Jesselton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Jesselton Hotel
Ranked #9 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
190 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights as a packagedeal from our tourarranger, and that was a very good choice. First of all jesselton don't look like any of these massive concreteblocks, second is hat a lot of charm.
At arrival we were met with a Big smile, and one of the staff even carried our luggage to our room, or should i say the suite room no.333 at 3rd. Floor. A huge hotelroom a livingroom and a Big bathroom. Muhammed Ali onde stayed here, i felt like a king!
We went on a Tour and came back 2 days later, and stayed another 2 nights, this time in normal room, but still great.
Location is right in the center of town, close to famous nightmarket and shoppingmalls.
I Would stay here again if i come back. Friendly staff as well.

Room Tip: 333 the suite room is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stoffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    263
    72
    13
    10
See reviews for
67
220
55
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

We booked the Jesselton Hotel for our first three nights in Kota Kinabalu, and it was a great choice. This is an elegant old hotel, with lots of character. It's in a good location, within an easy walk of Jesselton Point where the boats are, and the night market where you can find a fantastic fish supper, and it's right next to the famous Sunday Market. It's great to be able to browse the stalls for bargains and then pop back to the hotel for a cooling drink. Our rooms were lovely; large and clean and well furnished, with really comfortable beds and good bathrooms. The staff are courteous, friendly and helpful. We wanted to come back after trips to Sandakan and Mantanani, but sadly the Jesselton was full. The hotel staff however kindly found us another really pleasant hotel (the Oceania), and took good care of our luggage while we were away.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pingtung, T'ai-wan, Taiwan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

I stayed here for three nights. The best part of the experience is the staff is super nice, including people at the front desk and the door men. Second the location is very good! It's convenient to go everywhere from here. It takes ONE minute to walk across the street to eat the famous "bak kut teh" (pork rib soup), 8 minutes to walk to the largest shopping mall Suria Sabah, and 15 minutes to the Jesselton Point to take the ship to the islands of Tunku Abdul Rahman Park. The room itself is big and comfortable. The only downside is there is some old stains on the carpet and the door is opened with an old style key which seems not very safe. But overall, the stay is very pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wangtwdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Loved the architure, the front entrance & the layout of my room. Clean bathroom and a comfortable bed. Lots of good dinning within a short walk from the hotel. Lucky you, if you are at the hotel during Sunday Market. For me, best of all, was the sight & sounds of the 100's if not 1000's of birds that roost each night, in the lovely trees in front of the hotel. Those birds sure have lots to talk over before settleing in for the night.... I LOVED IT!

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank mthoodlarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We spent only one night here before starting a Sabah tour. It had lots of history and character and was very well located for a wander through Kota Kinabalu's city centre. We especially enjoyed going to the market where the fishing boats are tied up and seeing all the day's catch being cooked over coals. We ate our meal there that night and found it cheap and with a great atmosphere. The hotel room was roomy and clean with a good bathroom and we slept well, despite being close to the busy street. Breakfast was quite adequate. If you want to be close to everything, this hotel is a good choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussie076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

The Jesselton Hotel is located in the most interesting street ( Jalan Gaya) in KK.
Great location with "Old Town" cafe opposite, a popular Buk Kut Teh restauarant over the road, 24 hour minimarket 30m away, tourist office 30m away and 1 block away Peppermint Vietnamese restauarant and about the same distance to Little Italy restaurant.
The Jalan Gaya Sunday street market is right outside the door.
Rooms are clean, beds comfortable and showers hot.
Wifi was fast . Reception staff friendly, efficient and helpful.
This is a good value hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clarke m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Dated but still very charming. We had a room on the third floor, overlooking Gaya Street. It was large with lots of light. Nora, the assistant manager was very welcoming and helpful with suggestions on where to eat and what to do. Reception staff, although pleasant was limiting in information. I suspect this has more to do with language capacity.

Location was central, and we could walk everywhere. Explored the city center, firstly on the bus (50 cents), then we walked. We ate at the local cafes, all within easy distance. When it became unbearingly hot, we escaped into a shopping mall with air-conditioning.

The food in the restaurant was fine. Aki (the bar tender) who has been there for 30 years and is a KK icon, made my husband and friends singapore slings to celebrate the conquest of Mount Kinabalu.

I believe that renovations are being planned, and this would put the hotel on another level. Overall, if I wanted a hotel in the city centre, this is where I would happily stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the third floor overlooking Gaya Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agltay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#7 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#10 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jesselton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jesselton Hotel

Property: The Jesselton Hotel
Address: 69 Gaya Street, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Jesselton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Jesselton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jesselton Hotel Kota Kinabalu
The Jesselton Hotel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing