We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect if you want somewhere near the airport” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of C'haya Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
C'haya Hotel
Ranked #3 of 78 Kota Kinabalu B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“perfect if you want somewhere near the airport”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

We were looking for somewhere for one night before an internal flight the following morning and were having trouble finding somewhere online. Consequently we hadnt booked anywhere in advance of our trip. So just walked in off the street. Very impressed. Good value for money. Clean. Very comfortable room. Good service. Breakfast was not buffet style but fine.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pilning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    37
    18
    5
    3
See reviews for
22
32
9
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

It was our first family trip to KK. We are staying in a suite with King size bed and nice bath tub. The bed and pillow are so comfortable till we wish to buy from the hotel. The breakfast was delicious (especially Bread Pudding, super yummy). The staffs are friendly and extremely helpful. The hotel have shuttle van to pick and fetch to town area (Jln Gaya). Journey to Jln Gaya is about 10-15 minutes. Unfortunate, the swimming pool is still close for maintenance. Overall, it is a good experience and pleasure stay in this hotel. Highly recommend to everyone!!
3 stars price with 4 stars hotel facilities and service :)

Room Tip: For family with kid above 2 year old, you may go for 2 bed room suit. There are two bed room (1 quee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miu138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya
Level Contributor
109 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed for a night during my business trip to Kota Kinabalu. I had booked my hotel over the phone the previous day but upon arrival my booking was not recorded. Nonetheless there were still vacancy so it wasn't an issue. Everything was still new so overall stay was pleasant. Would be ideal to stay here if one has a vehicle to move about. There are plenty of food few metres away from the hotel. At night there are couple of food stalls which are within walking distance from the hotel. Ample parking space. Food served in this hotel may be on the high side. Rooftop bar is still under renovation at this moment in time. All in all, it was a pleasant stay and ideal for someone with a vehicle to move about.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donovan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

I've stayed here twice now and really like the hotel and friendly staff, it's still under construction but with much promise of a great future, the restaurant is not fully open yet but that is also being worked out and i look forward to it's opening........

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paradisicalmostly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, UAE
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

I'll start with the positive. The staff is kind and friendly. I had a suite and it was really spacious, and so was the bathroom. The breakfast was adequate although for 25 myr it is on the very expensive side (2 eggs with tomatoes Provençal and hash, and juice...). There is free wifi.
The negative.
1. Being close to the airport, you would assume the windows are soundproof. They are not! Don't expect to fall asleep easily.
2. Awful location. The city is 15 min away by car and if you have your own transportation, you are lucky! I had to wait every morning for a taxi for at least 40 min. Never found a taxi on the taxi stand close to the hotel and the staff always failed to get the taxi on time even when I'd requested it in advance.
3. The restaurant was open only for breakfast and lunch till 3pm. They did not serve dinner and did not have room service.
If you are staying for longer than one night, choose another hotel. This one is alright only for a short layover.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mindtrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lombok, Nusa Tenggara Barat, Indonesia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel in kota kinabalu for the last 2 days of our holiday mainly because of its affordable price, and it didnt look too far away from the main attractions. If you are on a budget and dont have big bags, you can save yourself 25myr on arrival and walk to the hotel from the international terminal in 15 minutes. We arrived at about 10 am, and without question the lovely staff let us check in early. The hotel had only been open about a month when we stayed there on 19 and 20th of August, and you could tell as everything was still so fresh. Even the cafe was not yet open. On our second morning, with the cafe still not open, i'd like to say thanks to the lovely french chef who made me yoghurt and berries for breakfast. The rooms are smart, clean and very comfortable. The only dissapointing thing about our stay, is that i especially picked thishotel over others of the same price, as it had a really nice looking rooftop pool..... Which agoda failed to mention was still very much under construction :-( when both the cafe and pool are open, if i ever have a night in kota kinabalu again, i would definately choose to stay here again. The little area of Tanjung Aru is a very interesting place to see in itself. There are lots of chinese or muslim eateries which all serve amazing local food at great prices. There is also little food stalls which sell gorengan, bananas, and fresh fruit. We enjoyed seeing the slightly different architecture of this old style suburb, and usually took a taxi from the rank outside kfc on the mainstreet. To the main shopping area and jessletown area of kota kinabalu the fare is about 15 to 25 myr depending on the driver, and your bartering skills!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jade P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

The hotel was a good choice for one night. If you plan to stay longer, select another one farer away from the airport, because you will hear planes once in a while from 6:00 to 0:00. Dinner until 22:00, local and western food of good quality. Staff was friendly, too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holodeck10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
2.9 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
2.5 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#10 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
2.2 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,977 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to C'haya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about C'haya Hotel

Property: C'haya Hotel
Address: Jalan Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — C'haya Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your C'haya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
C'Haya Hotel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing