We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All about seafood”
Review of Catch 22 rESTAURANT - CLOSED

Catch 22 rESTAURANT
Restaurant details
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“All about seafood”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

I celebrated my birthday with friends in Catch 22. Basically, the menu is all about seafood, mainly fish. They have calamari, prawn scampi, salad and etc for starter. For main, they have Wood Grill /Grilled /Steamed / Fried for fish of the day, Halibut, Prawn, Salmon, Sole 25 and Cod. Read on their description, some is served with risotto, some is fries, some is mashed potatoes and vegetables. The food is great and fresh but price is a little bit pricey. However, their fish sandwiches is quite dry. Personally I like their Baked fish with lemon risotto. Worth for a try.

The atmosphere is comfortable and simple. Blue color is the theme color of the restaurant. They use a lot recycled materials to make as furniture. So creative. Catch 22 is located in Oceania Hotel. The location of Catch 22 will be quite quiet as it is located in Sadong Jaya which is near the river.

If you are fish lover, you should pay a visit to Catch 22.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shan0407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    8
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
K L
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“DON'T MESS WITH THE CLASSICS !!!”
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Don't mess with the classics unless you can better them !!!
Would be my advice to the cook at this restaurant.
One of the starters we ordered was a Caesar Salad this was interesting to say the least a large slice of toast sat on the top of some washed but unspung cos lettuce with a small mashed Low quality anchovy mixed into a thin dressing. ..no Parmesan cheese no Egg.
Not a Traditional Caesar Salad by any means.

We both had a Fillet Steak for our main meal
When they turned up one of the steaks looked much bigger than the other one cut thin approximately 140 gm and the larger 180 gm we both ordered our steaks medium done but one was well done and dry.
The steak sat on mashed potato with no accompaniment or garnish. it had a gravy with pepper in it. Also a proper Fillet should have a round of bacon with it.WHAT WE HAD WAS NOT A FILETMIGNON. ...
When you read in the menu that the cook has been around the world you would expect much more.
Yes, the food is cheap according to western standards. ..Fillet Steak for 40 r.m.
But one has to remember "CHEAP FOOD IS NEVER GOOD "
I had to add a little taste to steak it was dry and tasteless so I asked for some mustard. .
they did not hav any. ......!
Won't be going back.
It is a clean new restaurant but somewhat TIZZY decor like the MENU! !!



Helpful?
1 Thank brown656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Worth seeking out”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We only found this place as it's attached to the hotel we were staying in but so glad we checked it out. A good variety of styles of dish and the fish was cooked to perfection whichever way you wanted. On the pricier side for the area but still affordable and well worth it. It's a little way out of the centre hence it it fairly quiet (no problem getting a table even on a Friday evening) but definitely worth the effort

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phizz87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Simple , yet delicious”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

No great variety, the food was simple and delicious. This could be attributed to the culinary skilled chef they have at the hotel.A person who could juggle the ingredients to satisfy your taste buds.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ishaq A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food a bit outside of downtown KK”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

I had the salmon which was really tasty with a quite nice sauce and some mashed sweet potatoes. The service was excellent too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joproulx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catch 22 rESTAURANT also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing