We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap but completely satisfied” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iskandar Sinsuran Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Iskandar Sinsuran Guesthouse
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Lot 4, 2nd Floor, Block M, Sinsuran Shopping Complex, Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 71 Kota Kinabalu B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cheap but completely satisfied”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Clean Room. Nearest to the Sinsurian Food court. There are night market behind the guest house. Easy access to the public transport and souvenirs shop just across the road. I will preferred this hotel for my next visit compare to others backpacker budget hotel around Kota Kinabalu. I really enjoy my 1 night stay at the guest house. Keep it up the good work.

Rossazleny
Penang, Malaysia

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Rossazleny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
3
1
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

The front office staff was very helpful. All basic facilities were provided and the room was very clean. I had a very good sleep at this place.
The Phillipines and wet market are just across the road. Restaurants/coffee shops are available everywhere. There was a night market at night at this place.

Room Tip: Choose a room which is not next to the counter/front office because it is next to the staircase and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ban31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tagbilaran City, Philippines
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

You need to climb 2 flights of stairs which are unclean, but on arrival at the check-in things improve. Staff are courteous and helpful. Rooms are adequate with hot shower. Nice flate screen TV, but only one channel with English programs for a few hours each day - the rest of the time the programs are either in Malay or languages from Sri Lanka and India. Many restaurants and shops in walking distance. Good value for the money I paid.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarawak
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This place is listed in agoda, booking.com etc. So it seems to be quite popular with budget travellers. I stayed for three nights in two different rooms. The first room was and rooms room which was spacious and clean. The second room was a family room which was only a little bigger than the double but looked a lot older with a spoilt water heater.

The walls or partitioning between rooms are plywood and therefore you can hear noises from the outside or other rooms clearly. You will not be getting a good night's rest if you are unlucky to get noisy neighbours who like to have the tv on all night.

Sheets were clean but the second room really looked very old.

There are only a handful of local channels and signal is poor.

Free wifi in rooms.

Friendly staff and good location opposite the Philippine market which is within walking distance of most major touristy areas. There is a bustling night market just across the road. It is about a 20 minute walk to the wawasan bus terminal and the jesselton ferry point.

The rooms are cheap at around 57 per double room. In terms of value, you probably can't find a better or cheaper place in such a convenient location.

However, pay a bit more and you'll get better accommodation elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mysarawak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.0 mi away
Switz Paradise Hotel
Switz Paradise Hotel
#71 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
3.0 of 5 stars 47 reviews
0.0 mi away
Victoria Hotel & Hostel
Victoria Hotel & Hostel
#5 of 71 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 stars 70 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kinabalu Borneo Hotel
Kinabalu Borneo Hotel
#32 of 71 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 stars 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Traveller
Hotel Traveller
#41 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 stars 27 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ganang Village Rest House
Ganang Village Rest House
#19 of 71 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 stars 1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Asia Adventure Lodge
Asia Adventure Lodge
#61 of 85 in Kota Kinabalu
3.0 of 5 stars 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iskandar Sinsuran Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iskandar Sinsuran Guesthouse

Property: Iskandar Sinsuran Guesthouse
Address: Lot 4, 2nd Floor, Block M, Sinsuran Shopping Complex, Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Iskandar Sinsuran Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Iskandar Sinsuran Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iskandar Sinsuran Guesthouse Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing