We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay in a great value hotel!”
Review of Oceania Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Oceania Hotel
Ranked #23 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Ubud, Indonesia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent stay in a great value hotel!”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Clean spacious twin room with nice fixtures and fittings. Comfortable beds! Staff are really lovely and breakfast was pretty good too. The hotel is a little far away from the most lively part of the city but the shuttle bus is free and taxi back shouldn't cost more than 15MYR. Excellent value for money!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kangaroo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    83
    49
    6
    4
See reviews for
27
81
12
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stayed here for one night. As we had a very early flight out the next morning, this was a very convenient hotel as it's close to the airport and not too far from town. We walked into town in about 15 minutes, so it's not too far away. They do have a shuttle, which we took on the way back.
The Hotel is clean and tidy, the room is a good size. There is no view, which we didn't mind as we were not staying very long. It's conveniently located and clean. The staff are helpful and the check in and check out was quick.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cre8memories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

I booked the Oceania last minute and paid just under £30gbp for a basic room. I choose it because of the price and proximity from the airport (10minutes by taxi which cost 30MYR in the eve and 40MYR early morning)...

My room was modern, very clean and the bathroom, especially, was lovely- great shower and the taps are beautiful (I have a bit of a thing for taps!!). The room was also a good size, with a water/ Aqua theme and there was a fridge with complimentary water and a tv for entertainment. Don't expect much of a view from the window though...

I arrived late (10pm) and was gone by 6am so can't comment too much on the surroundings, which to be honest didn't look very exciting, I'd imagine if you want to go in to Kota town you'll need to take the hotel free shuttle or get a taxi.

The hotel were very quick for check in and check out and they were very helpful in providing a wake up call and have a taxi ready for me in the morning.

I'd definitely recommend this hotel for airport stopovers and even if you were planning to have a look round Kota for a day or go on tours from the hotel; whilst it not a luxury holiday resort and there's certainly not a great deal to do or eat in the immediate proximity, it's great value for money and perfect if you are only interested in somewhere to lay your head at night.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank lady_rsr5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

I have no idea why this hotel has such good reviews. It is clean and modern, but i was quite disappointed upon arrival by the size of the rooms -small and stuffy and the service we received was very poor. They do offer a 'free shuttle' into town but only 5 times a day -and if there's more than 7 people wanting to use it then you'll be walking or taking a taxi! The location is quite out of town, the breakfast was one of the poorest selections I've seen and the room walls were paper thin. They also do not offer an aiport shuttle service as per on their facilities/services on Agoda!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucytheengineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
529 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

The check-in was quick. The room was clean. The view from the room was bad as it was the back portion of the building. Was a little paranoid at night as there was a balcony outside which people could climb into and knock on the window. The windows were all locked though.

There is also a free shuttle to centrepoint and suria sabah mall. There is nothing much to eat around the hotel - only malay coffee shops. Other food areas are not walkable but at least there was a free shuttle. At the moment the hotel kitchen is close for lunch and dinner.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swim_jess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed there for two nights on the way to Mount Kinabalu. The place is clean, comfortable and well maintained. It is within the budget as well. It is located along a canal outside the city, 10 min by cab. If you want a decent place only to sleep, it is a good choice. Don't expect much around.

The shuttle to city is free. Well KK city just ok. There is nothing much to do. So going to city area is not really an attraction. There are very limited food options around this hotel. One food court serving Malay and Indian (prata) food. There is one Chinese restaurant at 5 min walk. The malay and Indian food court is actually good, we tried it. The hotel restaurant was under renovation so not food in hotel. So if you could live with the limited food options, stay here. Else find something close to city.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pushkar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angola, Indiana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed here briefly for one night. We didn't have any food at the hotel, but found the service we received and the room to be good. The staff were courteous and the rooms were very clean and well kept.

We also did not stay long enough to determine if the location on the hotel is beneficial to most travelers, however from our experience I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a place for a quick stop over KK.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,173 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#11 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
435 reviews
1.3 mi away
Little Gaya Hotel
Little Gaya Hotel
#27 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
#42 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
228 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
#19 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
525 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel No 5
Hotel No 5
#22 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceania Hotel

Property: Oceania Hotel
Address: Lot 60-64, Sadong Jaya, Sabah 5 Jalan Ikan Juara, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Oceania Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Fastbooking, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oceania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceania Hotel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing