We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the price..”
Review of Oceania Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Oceania Hotel
Ranked #23 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
129 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Worth the price..”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

It's a new modern hotel, a bit outside the city. So, it's a quiet neighbourhood. The closest supermarket/store is about 5-10 min from hotel. It will cost you RM15-20 to go to Jesselton Point. Luckily, they offer limited free shuttle bus to Centre Point and Suria Sabah, that'd save the taxi fare.

The rooms are clean, big and modern designed. All seems quite new, and are cleaned on a daily basis. The staffs are friendly and helpful. If you need something, they would bring it with a smile. There are limited facilities (if any) though, but overall, no compliant for this hotel. It's worth the cheap price.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lazyism T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    83
    49
    6
    4
See reviews for
27
81
12
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Noida, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Its a brand new hotel which means a modern hotel with superbly clean rooms and common area. I took a suite room (because it was cheap)which was large clean amd excellently designed . Bathroom was really big with shining clean wares. House keeping regular and in obtrusive. The staff was polite and helpfull not seen in many 3 star hotels.the overall look of the hotel is definitely 4 or 4.5 star with a boutique look.i usually stay in 5 stars but this was refreshing and i was happy at the money i saved without compromising On the expetience.the down side it is 15 ringitt taxi ride to the city centre. No room service but free shuttles to city and a really nice and value for money catch 22 restaurent run by a really friendly hawain. But if u want a happening and buzzy neighberhood this hotel is very quiet
Overall i would highly recommend this hotel which comes at 1/3 the price of the very popular and central le meridian.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vpcare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

The hotel is quite good, the standard rooms are of good size, airy and clean. The bed was also good. They had quite a lot of problems with the wifi network authentication which they eventually solved.

KK is not very walkable city and Oceania is somewhat removed from downtown. It takes about 15-20 mins to walk there. Traffic is quite heavy, the sidewalks are narrow or sometimes they do exist. (Actually this does not have anything to do with the hotel but be warned - very different if you are coming from Kuching).

Breakfast which was included in the room price was quite ok. Just remember to order eggs, waffles or pancakes from a waitress. These are included in the breakfast but they do not advertise it. The same is true for marmalade and butter with your toast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JVi_Helsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Rooms were decent sized, clean, comfortable and tastefully furnished. The bed and pillows were comfortable. Rooms were cleaned daily. The room corridors were wide and well lit.
It is not the best of locations but the city is not very large and it is about a 15 minute walk to the city centre.
If you drive, parking during the day will be an issue as there is very limited parking space due to the commercial activities around the hotel. I didn't book the breakfast option but the restaurant adjoining the hotel serves a basic local and western buffet for RM15++ per person which is very good value.
The free wifi and great room rate were the main reasons why I chose the hotel. However the wifi was patch at best and the hotel had their contractors in house trying to sort out the problem when I was there. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: About half the rooms face the building at the back so there is no privacy and no view. The other hal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevie-MYS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Frankly it is a very nice hotel at a good price, everything in this hotel is new and staff are helpful.
We stayed for 3 nights in July in room 404 (top floor). Everything was fine at the first night but not that good in second and third night. There is a function room next to room 404 and it is very noisy when people come in & out of that room. The hotel should do something to deal with this problem like making the sound isolation better.
There is no problem to get to the city center as there is shuttle buses provided and the town is pretty small actually. It takes only 10 mins walk to city center and another 15 mins to the pier.

Room Tip: Dont pick room 404....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lawrence T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Size of the room is great. It's clean and it has everything you would expect from a major hotel chain in North America. Its a bit far from downtown and from the jetty. It's a good 20 minutes walk to get to downtown and over 30 minutes to walk to the jetty. The walk is feasible but you have to walk on the sidewalk of a main and noisy boulevard at first. The hotel does has free shuttle. Otherwise it's around 15 ringgits with a taxi.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The building design is impressive, friendly staff, great restaurant with delicious seafood and most importantly it's new, clean and comfortable!!! Ive read that some people had been complaining bout the wifi problem, but surprisingly I don't have that problem. I think it depends on which level you are staying, if you're close or far from the router.
Overall, everything is great. Unfortunately, the only downside of the hotel is the location as it is quite isolated. But they do provide transportation services so I think it's great that the hotel thought of our needs. So i would still highly recommend this hotel when visiting kk. I, personally will definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vcems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,173 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#11 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
436 reviews
1.3 mi away
Little Gaya Hotel
Little Gaya Hotel
#27 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
#43 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
229 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
#19 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
527 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel No 5
Hotel No 5
#22 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceania Hotel

Property: Oceania Hotel
Address: Lot 60-64, Sadong Jaya, Sabah 5 Jalan Ikan Juara, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Oceania Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Oceania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceania Hotel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing