We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible hotel, but great view”

Seri Kinabalu Resort
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kota Kinabalu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seri Kinabalu Resort
Ranked #51 of 82 Kota Kinabalu B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 4, 2013

They call it a resort... but it is about as far from it as you can get. No towel, no chair, no nothing. Fake hotdogs and cold beans for the 30 MYR breakfast. That said, the view is astounding. Get up early in the morning and see Kinabalu come out of the fog.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zefrey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Reviewed June 7, 2013

This hotel is pretty run down. The hotel seems to be in a bad shape. The room was not cleaned properly by the housekeeping. When we arrive, there was no towel provided until we ask for it at the reception. The room have no tv. The blanket have sticky stains on it.I guess they didn't change the covers. Under the pillow, there is still hair , finger nails and specks of dirt on the bed sheet. If you cant find any hotel rooms available, this is the last place to be to get few hours of shut eye.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kickaflink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Stay here with friend and we have a very good time here.
Room is good and i dont have any problem falling asleep.
Location was perfect for the view of Mt Kinabalu which all of us looking forward to see in the morning. Make sure to wake up early before the cloud cover the view :)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicanicoray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

The signboard to this resort is a little bit confusing. From the main road you have to walk uphill. The toilets were smelly & hot shower not functioning. To my surprised I'm the only guest on that day! It seems like a ghost resort with only 4 or 5 workers around. The facilities are not well kept..dirty sofas, tv break down etc.. My room includes breakfast but I did not see any food prepared on the next morning. Maybe coz I'm the only guest they did not prepare it. The only plus is in the room got the qiblat direction. As a muslim traveller this is very important, but because the room so small I can only performed prayer on the upper bed!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raffendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Room was simple - double bed, vanity, tv, wardrobe, ceiling fan and attached bathroom. Bed is comfy and clean. As the climate is cool in Kundasang, you definitely don't need any airconditioning especially on those cold mornings! However as we took 2 rooms, I noticed that both rooms' bathroom doors were a miss - there is actually 1 sliding door that separates room & the bathroom and 1 hinged door that separates the sink area & hot shower/toilet. Our room only had the sliding door and the other room only had the hinged door...erk...but the main thing was, you still have privacy to do your business so that didn't really spoil anything for us. You get a kettle in the room as well (very very very important for making hot drinks often!) together with local coffee & tea. I even had the nerve to ask the reception for a bowl & spoon as I wanted to eat some Maggi Kari we brought along hahaha and yes, they sent it so = happy! :p

Breakfast was great but finished quite fast (I guess because it was cold hence makes you wanna eat more, hahaha!) Simple fried noodles, omelette, bread, jam, kaya, butter, coffee & tea was served at the restaurant. Be warned : you are embracing nature so quite a lot of 'nature' in the form of insects & butterflies flying around hehehe Another plus is they also have BBQ pits for family/friends who wish to enjoy the cool air & each others company. The deck behind the resort is the best spot to just chill out - we had a bottle of liquor to warm us up, definitely neat as it feels like it's on the rocks in that climate :)

The best thing was the view from the deck behind the resort....oh the view of our magnificent Mount Kinabalu...we did not want to leave! The sun is on your face yet you feel the chill of the mountain air...leaves you speechless and in awe of how beautiful life is when you hit the pause button..

All in all, it was a great way to relax with such great scenery around you. Price was justifiable to the room quality - didn't pay much so didn't expect much..

Room Tip: Always remember to latch/lock the windows if you are on the ground floor as it faces the parking lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCLai007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0 mi away
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
0 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
2,202 reviews
0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,513 reviews
0 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#10 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seri Kinabalu Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seri Kinabalu Resort

Address: KM 9.5 Ranau _ Kundasang Highway | Ranau, Kota Kinabalu 89309, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Kota Kinabalu
Also Known As:
Seri Kinabalu Resort Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing