We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, secluded beach, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Ranked #14 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great view, secluded beach, friendly staff”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I have stayed here before and the experience was only so-so, but this recent stay has changed my mind. The pool villa had a great view of the secluded beach, service was polite and helpful, and the food selection has seen the greatest improvement. There is now a dedicated restaurant, Lanai, next to the villas and suites, with a nice selection of Western, Indian and Thai dishes. Staff were invariably polite and very helpful, to the point of being overly respectful sometimes. You feel they really care about making your stay memorable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    421
    223
    123
    123
See reviews for
392
441
50
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
perth
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Have stayed here before but the standards have dropped. The grounds and golf course are in poor condition. The food at breakfast was a very poor standard. The whole hotel seems so rundown in fact while we were there they closed a restaurant because they had no chef.The sand flies were a major problem.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank tenro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I think this my first negative review ever. We spent 2 nights at the Nexus Suites and had to change rooms 3 times. The first room we were given presented partially cleaned with dirty towels still lying around from the previous guests, half drunk water bottles and used soaps in the sink. The second room featured a falling out shower glass door. Room number three only had one forgotten towel from the previous guest. Overall you got the feel that maintenance and cleaning isn't taken very seriously as things are are falling apart everywhere. However, I must commend the service and staff who were professional and very friendly. Food was ok. Occupancy appeared to be low.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank TAKETHEL0NGWAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We spent 3 days here and as far as i'm concerned it was paradise! We had booked a Borneo garden room and as many people before us, we asked if we could have a free upgrade to an ocean view room. Well, no problem there, we got one and it was so lovely - an uninterrupted view of the sea through palm trees. The room was very clean and large, the facilities were good, i.e. big strong shower, very comfortable bed, kettle, ice bucket, coffee etc etc.
The staff were so very friendly and helpful and the pool was perfect. There are happy hours at the bars and restaurants so prices weren't an issue although we did hire a car at the airport to explore and eat out.
All in all a wonderful break and we'd go back like a shot if we were in this part of the world again

Room Tip: Any with oceanview!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank izt99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This hotel was my accommodation during my trip, it was situated with a little bit distance from the town, but with great view.

When arrived at this hotel, the staff at the lobby greeted me with warm welcome. I can remember one guy I think named Bismarck, he did help me a lot by helping me with my luggage and finding rooms. He even gave me a brief orientation about this hotel as well as the whole resort with a fluent English. I must say such warm service in your resort made my whole vacation nice and perfect.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yaxi Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Although the resort is far away from the town, it is just perfect for those wish to have a quiet holiday. We booked the spa suite, which is a distance from the main lobby, but this is not the issue as you can just make a call, the bell boy can drop you anywhere as you wish at any time. The room is big, bed is big and comfortable, really enjoy the ensuite spa. The resort has the best sunset view.. I really enjoy it.. The breakfast is ok, it would be better if the kitchen can provide more cooking facilities. Overall is a great resort .

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ngsiewcheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

The hotel is situated far away from the town. When we first arrive, the hotel's staffs greeted us politely and helped us unload our luggage. The lobby is nice but our hotel rooms are faraway from the lobby and the beach. Anyway, the room is really decent with nice fittings.

The beach is amazing! The sand is so soft and pure. The sea is so clean on this part of Sabah! We waited for the sunset and the view is amazing.

Its expensive to me, but this hotel does offer good breakfast, great beach and nice rooms. Only thing is, you might have to walk a lot from your room to the lobby or the beach.

Room Tip: Try ask room nearer to the lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FongSaiYuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
10.7 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
9.6 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,023 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
9.2 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai

Property: Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Address: Nexus Resort Karambunai 100 Jalan Sepangar Bay, Kota Kinabalu 88993, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 479
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nexus Resort Karambunai is set within 3,335 acres of unique & unspoiled beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Nexus Resort And Spa Karambunai
Nexus Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Nexus Hotel Karambunai
Nexus Resort Sabah
Nexus Resort Karambunai
Nexus Sabah Hotel
Nexus Karambunai Hotel
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing