We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay somewhere else”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Ranked #14 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Stay somewhere else”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We have stayed here on several occasions but our recent trip proved to be the worst experience. We booked 2 units of the 2 bedroom spa suite. The suite has a kitchen and was equipped with an induction stove. However, came dinnertime and as we prepared to cook our meal, the cooker was not functioning. Reception informed us that guests are not allowed to cook. When asked why they provided the stove in the first place, they answered simply, "hotel policy. We will send u a microwave".

There were no bath towels provided and we had to call room service for it. Tv in master bedroom could not receive cable channels. No towel rack at balcony to dry wet towels. No hotel staff at the pool, no pool towels provided.

Breakfast at Lanai was good. Good food selection. However they need to upgrade their high chair. For a 5 star resort, i was shocked to be offered a tattered rattan chair to put my baby in. Many trainee waitresses. I understand that they may be new and nervous, but in the service business i believe you should always have a smile on your face and a tidy appearance.

We also found the shuttle bus drivers to be reckless and rude on the road. They may be driving on a private road but road safety and rules applies regardless.

Overall not a good experience.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bedede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    415
    220
    121
    122
See reviews for
387
433
49
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

We had 7 nights at the nexus. Nice maintained golf course, hotel definitely needs a lift. Threadbare towels, with holes in them. Breakfast not really suited for westerners. Seafood platter for 2, couldn't eat the king prawns or the crab as the flesh was like paste, cooked while still frozen or overcooked and mussels were cold. If you compare hotel and what it offers, Bali 5 star hotels are 200% better. Shopping same as Bali. Staff once they got to know you were great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Location has a great potential but value for money is really poor!! Staff friendly, bed comfortable, breakfest so-so, but hotel needs serious renovation!
Drinks in the bar are unashamedly expencive, suggest to review pricing policy.
Flexibility of the stuff is to be improved
For me the stay was disappointing

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lazallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Had a 2 nights stay there for company meeting at the so call new wing Spa & Pool Villa whereby its a chalet house type with 2 bedrooms. Colleague room was broke into and handphone was stolen and the thieve tried to open another colleague's room.
Reported the incident to hotel and was given answer whatever happens at night is at your own risk! Reported to police as well and said has few cases happened before as well.
The hotel management argued that it wasnt their responsibility of stolen items. Security is very poor here and doesnt feel safe staying here at all. On top of that food was not up to par as a 5 star hotel and hotel waitresses hardly can communicate in English. Will not recommend to my family or friends to stay here

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Penampang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

I was here about 6 years ago and it was good, unfortunately this time not good, the place is tired, the staff keen but disorganised. [Manager advised us 'other resorts poach our staff ' - ex staff met elsewhere said because of Nexus pay rates ???]
1. Maintenance of the facility is obviously done on a 'when it breaks down basis' and that happens quite regularly.
2. Room made up after 6.00pm because staff have to many rooms per head to do ???
3. For westerners the resort restaurant menus are very limited.
4. 'Darlin-Darlin' the entertainment hub - went there one evening for a drink - 'tap beer or house wine only' - no one to make a spirit mixer or cocktail ????
Readers note that the part of Nexus referred so favourably by others as to having spa suites and pool villas I think is at a newer part of their property, that is at least a kilometer away from the main resort and golf course, the older part is what I refer to here.

Room Tip: Don't go there espacially if you have children, there is nothing for them to do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tashkent, Toshkent, Uzbekistan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

I've stayed there for 3 nights, pool villa. Very comfortable beds, have smal but nice kitchen. not far from the sea shore. pool is very small but the territory is nice. For our 3 nights hotel give us 1 free SPA treatment. threatment is very nice, i\ve taken with oils, after go to stream room. during spa session I get to a sleep. after feel myself very fresh and chearing.
there is a nice night club, there are not allowed peaople from outside but I spent a very good time there. got tequilla and there is lovely song " KOTA KINA BALU" i dance 3- 5 times (not remember). Like that song too.
there are 2 russian speaking beatiful girls at sales department, for those who does not speak english, they will help them out.
You can chose this hotel for a family or a group of firends, cos one villa can get 2 adults and 3 kids or 4 adults.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elyor I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed one night at the 2 room spa suite, it was very spacious with a living room & small kitchen. Balcony facing the sea provided a beautiful scenery. Bathroom was huge with a bathtub. Rooms were clean & comfortable. However place was quite secluded , better to have own car to travel to town to have meals. Driving to town will take around 30 minutes. Service is good , staff are friendly.
Breakfast average , nice ambiance.
Overall an enjoyable & relaxing stay here

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChingM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
10.7 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
9.6 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,001 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
9.2 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai

Property: Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Address: Nexus Resort Karambunai 100 Jalan Sepangar Bay, Kota Kinabalu 88993, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 479
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nexus Resort Karambunai is set within 3,335 acres of unique & unspoiled beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nexus Resort And Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Nexus Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Nexus Hotel Karambunai
Nexus Resort Sabah
Nexus Resort Karambunai
Nexus Sabah Hotel
Nexus Karambunai Hotel
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing