We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Nice room and excellence Service"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Ranked #13 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Kota Belud, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Nice room and excellence Service"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is our second time in Nexus and are celebrate 5th anniversary,everything was excellence.Check in was fast and room is great.Nick in Penyu Restaurant was very kind and excellence set up ( out side table ) for our breakfast as our request.Pool staff was very friendly and very helpful and the Sport Assistance Ms Belinda make our experience more valuable in Batik Painting activity was perfect.So nice to staying in this resort and would recommended to all for own experience."Some say it heaven".
Hope my comment very helpful for all the honeymooner and other people planning to visit Borneo land below the wind.

Room Tip: Room at ground floor is nearer and easier to get to the swimming pool and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mis_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    407
    215
    119
    119
See reviews for
380
427
47
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Spent our one week vacation in Borneo. We spent our first night in a 4 star hotels in the city and we didn't get that much 'holiday' as we faced a lots of ridiculous problems. Our fourth day, we moved to Nexus. Worried that we might experience bad holiday here but that all burn away!As we arrived we were welcome by this bunch of potter boys who offers and don't be surprise with the talkative reception staff! They just can;t stop smiling! A truly Malaysian smile!
We got our wooden room and the view is great. It has the ocean view just a meters away from our room. Wish a relax body and mind? Try the Borneo spa..its great..At last we've got our HOLIDAY.!
A wonderful place for a beach lovers.Amazingly friendly welcoming staff. Perfect for a newly wed couple like me and my husband. If you looking for a relaxing holiday this is the place.Might be too crowd sometimes but still I amazed by the staff service.Not for a business trip but perfect for a Truly Holiday.

Room Tip: For a better ocean view, choose the Borneo Ocean Wooden Rooms. Ground floor would be better if you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeonieVPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

been checked in and spent my great and spectacular experience on this "heaven'... the staff were very helpful. all staff offered an amazing services even we just stay for 2 nights here. so speechless. the staff trying their best to settled the problem immediately with any circumstances. even the facilities some of them were look obsolete, but we don't look through on it. the important is, staff threat us well and feel like we were a King and Queen on the hanging clouds. recommended 5 star hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anton_mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

The best resort i ever stayed in my life.WHY?

When i arrived in this hotel,the staff gave me a very warm welcome especially the person wearing black weird uniform.I was told that is traditional costume which is i forgot what was called.Bellman escorted me to the reception with promt and attentive manner.Few second after that,one of the reception a very young lady called Elizabeth offered me a cold towel.It was really freshened me up after a long flight.Its only took few minutes for the check in process and i was escorted to the room with one of the knowledgeable bellman called Nicholas.I was amazed with the service.An excellent impression.

Dinner at penyu was good.The food was superb,but only for the service:Quite SLOW.

My room was really superb.Really love the sea view.Wonderful.
I took shuttle bus from hotel to town which is cheaper then took a taxi.

I will come back indeed!

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank jung g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

I consider the Nexus to be a place where you can lose yourself.
We visited the Nexus for one of the stops on our honeymoon, just a divine place.
It is just out of town, but it’s a place you never have to leave- it offers everything. The beach is a short stroll from the rooms, and there is also a swim up bar in the pool and a variety of restaurants to chose from.
I have very fond memories of the Nexus and would recommend to anyone planning a trip to Kota Kinabalu

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KyScarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed at the Nexus Resort for our honeymoon in 2011 and I must say we are very glad we did. Picture this you drive into a driveway with tropical tree's and you are in the middle of the beautiful Sabah forest!! The resort is amazing and big enough to compensate the fact you are a little out of the city but the shuttle bus service is no problem and is cheap! 4 resturants to choose from.. a little pricey but for resort prices we found them very resonable. We met the manager who was kind enough to come around and speak to the guest sitting by the pool to ask how the guests stays were going. When we told him we were honeymooners we returned to our room to find a knock on the door and the manager had sent us a complimentry tray of chocolates and card saying happy honeymoon!!!! The kingfisher resturant was amazing and very romantic and we had alot of fun at the night club drinking with some other travellers with cheap cocktails!. We stayed in a ocean view room and the view every night was amazing. After dinner you can take a nice romantic walk down the beach and the big lizard who hangs around the garden is very cute! All in all a amazing honeymoon thanks to the nexus! My compliments to the manager for making our trip that little more amazing with your kind gift (sorry it took so long to write a review)!

Room Tip: Ocean View for a romantic trip away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ita A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Staying in the Borneo Gardenview (Block 7), I was worried by previous reviews saying how far away the suites are from the main building and about the quality of the cuisine - HOWEVER, I have found our stay to be really enjoyable, with none of the aforementioned 'dramas'.

The resort was quiet - maybe the time of year - and we were not looking for an 'activity holiday', so we pretty much popped to the beach, which is a stones throw from the hotel, or pottered around the complex.

The sea is like BATH WATER!? It was so inviting, though there were no guests swimming in it. After 3 days of dipping and swimming, we asked why people were choosing to stay by the pool, to get the answer "because of the jellyfish!" OH!
Saying this, it was not jellyfish season and we did not encounter such a creature ourselves. (We then noticed small bottles of vinegar by the beach with signs, later in the stay!).

The room - elegant and of asian-style furniture (but a little tired), the ceilings were very high up, a gorgeous little balcony, a lovely big bed and - best of all - a large bathroom WITH bath!? Yay!
A DVD player is in the room (though there are no dvd's here - and we didnt bring any) but the room had everything you probably would expect/need for a decent stay.

Breakfast - a nice choice of asian and western. The staff are quite attentive and friendly if one makes an effort with them.

There are 4 or 5 restaurants on the complex offering different types of food ie Sunset Bar & Grill, Olives Seafood Dining, Darlin Darlin Pub (grub). I am quite picky about food, but always managed to find something I liked on a menu. The main downside is the price. Being a resort quite far away from KK city, there isn't much option for low cost dining (the room service price was just as expensive) and on top of the price - normally ranging from RM25-40 per dish - there is a 6% government tax, THEN a 10% service tax. Being on holiday, you kind of just think 'what the heck', but having just come from a 3 day stay in KK and paying local food prices there, we realised we were getting ripped off in comparison. TOP TIP: pack or buy some nibbles or drink in your case - it will save you a small fortune!?

Gift shop/Convenience store: Wowsers!? The price tags nearly made my eyelashes melt!? Don't buy anything you are not desperate for here - we unfortunately (Hello British people abroad here!) got badly sunburnt and HAD to fork out on Aloe Vera products!

Shuttlebus: There IS a shuttlebus to the nearest shopping centre '1Borneo' or to KK malls (you are not allowed to travel to both on one trip???) and again there is a fee of RM24 each for a return trip. A bit stingy when the last hotel provided free shuttlebuses. The 1Borneo does have a supermarket where you can stock up on lunch-type snacks etc!!

Overall, the feel of the place is lovely. The rainforest backdrop is spectacular (I just wanted to be Tarzan and go exploring - but then I thought of all the mozzies and sandflies!?) The accomm is comfy, homely and BEST OF ALL there is FREE internet (via cable) to save your bacon! (Speaking of bacon - you wont find that here being Muslim-orientated).

One criticism may be the service offered by the Reception Desk Team - upon arrival, we found a group of young boys wearing 'Trainee' badges serving us. They were obviously not accustomed to treating people totally respectfully and did not communicate very well - they huddled together, giggled and laughed in Malaysian (something we found annoying at the previous hotel, so we put it down to cultural differences?). I had to virtually demand 'where do we go, please?' as we were handed the room key and waived off in a vague direction, then dismissed. Turned out we had to be collected by a buggy to take us to the Block of rooms by a porter.
In fact, every time I approached the Reception Desk I was met with a number of young people seemingly doing nothing but chatting amongst themselves, yet I still had to wait and 'ahem' a little to get any service - TOO MANY COOKS SPOIL THE BROTH!

The pool - what is it with hotels putting slippery floor surfaces around the place?? I mean, given the fact it rains so much, getting grip-style tiles would save them a fortune in 'Caution:Wet' signs and lawsuits!

There are daily activities scheduled by the hotel if you are interested in such things (it seemed nobody bothered - even we did not), but it is nice to know they are there - simple things like folding napkins, canvas painting, malaysian language lessons, mahjong lessons, guided walks etc (all for extra fees). There were no 'shows' or entertainment to speak of - nothing is explained about the complex facilities or the location of them (including where to go for breakfast) when you check in & a MAP would be nice too! - which is a shame cos there are some lovely aspects to the complex we did not explore until too late (the spa is quite gorgeous!).

The weather in October was unpredictable, it rained heavily off/on but we had long sunny spells, with amazing thunder/lightning of an evening. (you get brollies in your room!)As I say, we got sunstroke, so the weather wasn't a complete washout!

Tour wise..........if you are not interested in climbing a mountain or doing different kinds of water sport at the nearby 'lagoon', there isn't much to see or do. So if you like to be busy and go sightseeing, this might have to be a short trip for you. We stayed for 1 week - had a relaxing time, did not have high expectations, so were not disappointed.

Room Tip: Blocks 7 & 6 are nearest to the main building, pool and restaurants. (Block 8 looks old and worn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Clintyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
10.6 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
9.5 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,979 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
9.1 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai

Property: Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Address: Nexus Resort Karambunai 100 Jalan Sepangar Bay, Kota Kinabalu 88993, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 479
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nexus Resort Karambunai is set within 3,335 acres of unique & unspoiled beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Fastbooking and Ctrip TA so you can book your Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nexus Resort And Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Nexus Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Nexus Hotel Karambunai
Nexus Resort Sabah
Nexus Resort Karambunai
Nexus Sabah Hotel
Nexus Karambunai Hotel
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing