We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Ranked #9 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We have just come back from Borneo and stayed 8 nights in the Nexus Spa resort. Our room was fantastic the middle block 3rd floor overlooking the sea and pool. Our room consisted of kitchen, lounge with large TV bedroom with Queen size bed from which you could lay and watch the waves on the beach. 2 bathrooms one of which had a jacuzi bath, shower which turned into a steam room with a switch of the button. It had a lovely balcony with glass shutters so when it rained it did not get wet inside and another glass door to the lounge area. Air con in both lounge and bedroom and fans on the ceiling. It was all that we wished for and more. The staff were very helpful and friendly and breakfast was served on the poolside unless it was wet. The staff were always more than happy to bring your drinks and lunch to the sun beds and to move the sun umbrellas to the grass area overlooking the beach. The pool was great and never got crowded, the beach is kept really clean and the water is so warm. To eat in the evening you can catch the mini bus which runs every half an hour through the day, if you want it at other times just contacted reception and it arrived. In the main resort (5 mins) in the mini bus there are 3 pools if you want to go there. 5 very nice restaurants to eat in. We mainly ate in the Malaysian one and the sun set bar good food and good variety. You can take your breakfast in the main resort if you wish and when it is wet.
Breakfast was great anything from cereal to fruit, eggs cooked to order, yogurt, and even curry it you fancied it. We enjoyed our stay very much and would definately recommend to everyone young or old.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizofsurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,455)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

710 - 716 of 1,455 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2011

We stayed for four days three nights as a short getaway to the beach and sun, plus 5 star service. Well Nexus has the beach (perfect for kids as waves were gentle) and the sun (tropical location with easy access via flight), but nothing else.

As soon as we arrive at the hotel, we noticed the shortage of shuttles that take guests from the lobby to their rooms which located quite a bit of distance away. And the bell boy definitely wasn't helpful. We waited for over 15 min to get a car to take us to our room. We booked sea view room on the Borneo wing. Room size was big, however, everything inside the room - from the door to the toilet showed their age, not to mention the 15" CRT TV that should belong to the museum. We spent most of the time on the beach, because this activity involved the least hotel service.

There are a few restaurants within the hotel, Kingfishers that serves breakfast buffet and Malay/Indian cuisine, Noble House for the Chinese, The Olives for the western and Penyu for international buffet. There is also a bar/restaurant along the beach, plus Darlin Darlin the night club. The restaurants weren't very impressive as you would expect from a 5 star resort, but they do the job. Breakfast buffet was filled with people and we only found out on the last day that you can have the same breakfast buffet at the bar/restaurant along the beach too. Services at the restaurant was very slow and it took the waiters a long time to clean the table after the previous guests were gone. Food price in general was cheap, maybe reflected the sub-standard service.

We were very disappointed by the hotel service and clearly the hotel staff were not properly trained.

But the biggest disappointment came at the spa - Borneo Spa. We booked a two hours aromatherapist massage on the last day. The massage room had an usual bed arrangement. Unlike the normal couples room where the beds are set side-by-side, the beds in this room were lined up with a 30 degree angle. There were no aircon in the room and the masseurs had to open the door and turn on the fan. All we could feel was heat and all we could hear was loud music from outside. So after the two hours, we couldn't wait to get out. I actually felt worse after the massage. When we left a disappointing comment with the Spa, the manager was not impressed but she couldn't offer any improvement except for non stop apologies. Again we felt it was a management failure.

Overall we were not impressed by the hotel given its 5 star rating. It's too much to pay for too little service.

Room Tip: Don't go until they change their management for the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank bigmac_88888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

I stayed at Nexus karambunai for the second time from 29th Sept till 2 Oct 2011. There were 30 of us and we stayed there for a conference. I was given a double-room with the sea view. The room was spacious, comfortable with clean linen and an attached bathroom with a long bath and shower. The room was clean with coffee making facility and a personal safe, besides an iron and ironing boad. The large, flat screen TV came with a DVD player. The cable channels were rather limited with BBC but no CNN or CNBC. Sports channel was limited to ESPN. The seaside had remained clean with white sandy beach which is very therapeutic for a refreshing and rejuvenating evening or early morning stroll. Checking in and out were not a hassle as this was handled by a local tour agent.

Cons: The resort is located 28 km from town centre and is accessible only through the shuttle bus (MYR 24 return) or chartered cabs. The breakfast area was rather congested although there are extra tables outside the cafe. The food was only average with the usual (limited) spread of pastries, local soup noodle and nasi lemak. Fruit cuts were also limited to local fruits like pineapple, water melon and jambu batu. There was no change in the variety at all for the two days we were there. We did not try the food in the restaurant. Why should we when there are plenty of restaurants in town offering fresh seafood!The resort promised free broadband internet access in the room. However, all the delegates in my group could not access the internet on both days we were there. The meeting rooms were just adequate but the acoustic system leaves much to be desired. There was just too much echoes from the mic.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the beach of course!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravellinMan0052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

I went there in 2004. Had a fabulous time. Great place, great service etc etc. Went again around Xmas in 2010. Awful. Simply awful with the exception of the masseuses at the spa and the their manager. Now they are well trained and provided excellent service. Their reception staff however, needs to buck up.

We stayed at the spa suites. Room service took 1-1 1/2 hours! Exceedingly difficult to get information or to book activities. The operator kept on using "I am new" excuses. The staff are friendly, polite, warm as expected of people from the Borneo culture. It is really not their fault. Overall, it seems that management threw them in the deep end with very little training. We wrote complaints and personally handed it in. Well all our complaints were ignored.

Oh yes, the alarm at the spa suites building where we stayed kept on going off around 2-4am.

Breakfast. Poor selection.However, must say other than breakfast, food at the King Fisher is excellent.

Room Tip: Stay at the main area. Unless you want to wait "forever" for the buggy. They dont have eno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Ana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

This was our third stay at the Nexus and we’ve always been well satisfied.

We booked a “Stay and Play” package which provided four nights accommodation in a Borneo Garden Deluxe room and 2 rounds of golf – it was very good value. The room was very clean, comfortable and spacious, and more than met our requirements.

The breakfast buffet was very good, and one night we also tried the Italian Restaurant which we thought was very good, if a little pricey. Fortunately we had our own hire car, so we were able to drive into KK for other meals or simply try local restaurants which were within a 10 minute drive.

The grounds and facilities of the Nexus are excellent, and we also made use of the beach every day. We certainly find it a relaxing and comfortable place to stay. Perhaps we're just easy to please, but we can't understand why anyone would want to complain.

The golf course has become one of our favourites – a well kept and challenging course, with some wonderful scenery which includes the novelty of having to chase monkeys away from the golf buggy on a couple of holes. The restaurant at the golf course also offers good food, beverage and service.

We probably wouldn’t enjoy it so much if we felt “trapped” at the resort, but having a hire car means we have the flexibility and freedom to come and go as we want, and make the 30 minute trip into KK for eating and shopping whenever we feel like it.

Service at the Nexus is sometimes a little slow, but generally the staff are helpful and friendly. And we won’t hesitate to book in for another few nights on our trip next year.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Darwin_Dweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

This was our second stay at the resort. It's truly a beautiful place. The rooms are OK - you can see it's aging but it's nicely maintained and most importantly, clean. The service was great but nothing to boast about. This time, we picked the perfect time to visit as it was NOT too busy. We had the beach almost to ourselves (then again, maybe the other guests were busy elsewhere), and we actually managed to get good spots to sit by the pool. The only drawback that might turn off some visitors is the location. It's a good half an hour drive from the city or 15-mins from 1Borneo (big shopping mall). The restaurants all cater excellent dishes (they were Chinese, Steak house, Asian fusion, Malaysian) but extremely pricey even for us with our Canadian currency! Anyway, it's not all the time that we get to splurge so I supposed that was somewhat acceptable:) In short, you come here because of it's gorgeous spot, and you want to unwind and be away from the hustle and bustle of city life!

Room Tip: Get an ocean view or if you have extra $$$, get an ocean front Borneo villa (it's called if I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DayungBidayuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We just arrived home after spending 5 days at the Nexus Resort in Tuaran.
The Hotel is overall great as it has many facilities and activities to keep you occupied and hold your interest given it is about 30K's out of Kota Kinabalu. Our room was nice and their standard rooms are quite large. The resort has about 5 restaurants, 2 of which are buffet. The Kingfisher buffet restaurant we don't recommend. It is overpriced and the food is very average. They focus more on quantity and larger variety than quality. The sunset bar was the best for lunch time dining - right on the beach front and the Noble Chinese restaurant was the winner for dinner dining. The peking duck was fab!
The hotel could use a bit of updating as it does look a little outdated in some areas, but if you are after a great Beach in Sabah and don't want to pay through the roof to stay on one of the off coast islands, I highly reccomend here. The water is very clear and clean, there are some waves, but not too rough for children and the location is great if you are happy to stay and relax as there isn't much to do near the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deetravels77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
10.7 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
9.6 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,265 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
10 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
365 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai

Address: Nexus Resort Karambunai 100 Jalan Sepangar Bay, Kota Kinabalu 88993, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: $116 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 479
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nexus Resort Karambunai is set within 3,335 acres of unique & unspoiled beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nexus Resort And Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Nexus Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Nexus Hotel Karambunai
Nexus Resort Sabah
Nexus Resort Karambunai
Nexus Sabah Hotel
Nexus Karambunai Hotel
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing