We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than what others reviewed on this resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Ranked #12 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Better than what others reviewed on this resort”
Reviewed May 16, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights and its not enough time to explore all around the resort. We spent our time here with full of activities from morning until midnight. Its tiring but all of us very happy.

We stayed at the cheapest room here and its huge than what we espect.
Overall cleanliness excellent, no complaint on it.

I don't know why others said their service very bad but i don't feel that even once when i was there. What would they aspect for the resort at this price? Anyway, different people have their own view and i not same as them.

Overall, its a very nice resort to stay with medium budget and you won't regret it. Too all Nexus staffs, keep it up (thumb up).

Room Tip: Ask for near Room to main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Panchai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    437
    225
    124
    123
See reviews for
412
457
51
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

I've been this hotel last week and stay for 3 nights. Our money has been stolen in the hotel room in the first night. Then the electricity was cut off when we get back to the resort after the day tour at the second night and we found out that the window is unlocked by the house keeper. After maintenance, the electricity still suspended 5 times within 3 hours and we moved out to another room at 3 a.m under our requested. Also, the safety box is damaged. After we move to the second room, there toilet was failed.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank AdrianYwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 14, 2011

Lovely resort, full of ammenities however we were of the impression that they were promoting themselves and not very helpful for the traveller who wanted to see something outside of the resort. For those who just want to chill out, laze around and maybe play a little golf it would be perfect. Recommend the Sunset Bar & Grill for best restaurant on the resort.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fly750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

The service is acceptable but not restaurant. The service in the restaurant is poor and I can find stain on the mug. There are too many guest with too little staffs.

The service at the golf course is worst. We were told that there is no more caddy at the golf course and we looking for the general manager, Martin's help but we were told by the general manager that we should book in advance. The golf course only provide buggy and is not their job to ask the client whether do you need caddy. When we walk down from the office there is one caddy waiting for us downstairs.

This is the first time I met a general manager said is the customer fault in this kind of service line. I would recommend stay I rasa ria because I stay there for a night and the service is extremely good. Room is very clean, staff are very friendly and efficiency, food are good.

I do not understand how is the job carry out in this golf course. Is

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YvonneLawss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2011

There were mixed reviews on this resort but we decided to try it because of the pool villas and apartments they had for our extended family. First the location is a little far out but it is the kind of resort that you need not leave anyway. A trip to the city takes about 30 mins and cost about AUD$8 return. It's a nice ride and the shopping experience is fun but not really plentiful.
The rooms were great. The bed beds huge and comfortable. We had an apartment with an awesome view of the beach. Our extended family had pool villas which were fantastic! The villas and apartments are about 2km from the main resort. They have a private pool and pool bar and kiddies pool right on the beach. We loved it! The main resort also has 2 pools with small waterslides and a great kids pool as well. You could catch the shuttle van to the ain resort anytime and the drivers were always friendly. Or you could walk about 15 mins up the beautiful beach to get there.

The service was pretty good although there was a bit of confusion about our bill because of our group booking but was all sorted out in the end. Room service was ok as rooms were cleaned well and we were always happy. There was a bit of a mould smell but this is the tropics!

The restaurants were numerous. Kids menu at the Sunset Grill was cheap and the kids loved it. The buffet restaurant was really good and very accommodating for my dad's 60th birthday dinner. Breakfast was great. No bacon but that's expected here. There's plenty of other things to choose from.

Be aware that there is no nightlife at the apartments you will need to head to the resort.
Shopping was available at the hotel although a little pricey. Good convenience store met our needs and Muffins Cafe had the best donuts! The kids club made time for out sons and for a small cost they participated in batik painting, beading etc. They don't really have many toys but run activities instead. The hotel's waterpark is ok for big kids but run down. It has a playground which is ok for the kids but is a little old and dirty. Kids enjoyed it for a bit but were really too small for the watersports so we didn't stay long.

All up we had a great time and were well looked after. Would definetly recommend to friends and family.

Room Tip: Staying at the apartments and villas is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank redroch_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu Island, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2011

It was my second time to visit Nexus because my first experience was so great with it.
Even though this time was not as good as my first visit, we were all happy. The only complaint was the cleanness of the room. As we were stayed at a pool villa, the space was a bit large. But the curtain was very dusty, and the floor was not so clean. Other than that, everythig was very good. A special falk dance performance at night was very cheerful, and we all were part of the performance together with the staffs.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soon-Saeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

My wife & I went to this resort for our honeymoon last year. We were touched by the view once we enter the resort area. I must say the view was breathtaking with golf course along the road heading towards the main building with tropical atmosphere, totally mesmerizing.

Pros - spacious, clean and nice room facing the ocean, clean and nice private beach, wonderful spa center- must try item!, staff are very friendly and some are quite pretty too..charming Sabahan...., wonderful resort with magnificent view.

Cons - approx. 15km away from town of Kota Kinabalu - quite far from everything. It is advisable to rent a car. The car rent in Kota Kinabalu is rather cheap, with RM88 net you can get new car taken from the airport. The breakfast serving at Kingfisher Restaurant need some improvement - a lot of flies flying around like nobody cares. The management should look into that seriously. The live band performance at the pub was quite poor and boring. Also need improvement.

The rest was good. Certainly a memorable experience.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edd_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
10.7 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
9.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#5 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,442 reviews
9.6 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
215 reviews
3.9 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
9.2 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai

Property: Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Address: Nexus Resort Karambunai 100 Jalan Sepangar Bay, Kota Kinabalu 88993, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 479
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nexus Resort Karambunai is set within 3,335 acres of unique & unspoiled beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fastbooking, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nexus Resort And Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Nexus Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Nexus Hotel Karambunai
Nexus Resort Sabah
Nexus Resort Karambunai
Nexus Sabah Hotel
Nexus Karambunai Hotel
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing