We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Kota Kinabalu
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,533)
Filter reviews
3,533 results
Traveler rating
1,560
1,248
419
164
142
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,560
1,248
419
164
142
Show reviews that mention
All reviews magellan club al fresco cafe boleh five sails golf view silk garden shuttle bus golf club swimming pool small beach north borneo railway club room manukan island the south china sea family holiday beautiful sunset great facilities
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 3,533 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you are looking for a gateaway holiday resort in the city, then this is the place! We were recommended by our friends from Singapore & stayed during the New Year Eve celebration.

We had some issues during our stay but was sorted out well. Me and my family enjoyed ourselves.
This resort live up to its expectations. Special thanks to The General Manager, Gerry D'Cruz and his team who made our stay a memorable one.

Will recommend and will return

Room tip: The Skybar view is awesome
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jenniferoM9722KB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice dinner with my favourite whisky in clubroom, we could see the sunset freely and took lots of beautiful photo then share to others. The clubroom is best I‘ve’ ever seen.Thanks for the service!! My parents and little daughter enjoyed the swimming pool with sea view very much.
It would be perfect if TVB channel is available.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ycqicy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2020 via mobile

We booked through agoda and at the check in the staff requested us to give the booking number which was odd. Took a long time to check in and the staff attitude was not so pleasant. Also had some confusion with extra bed due to lack of staff conversation. Each staff on the phone said different thing and i did even mention to one staff how come the staff communication is so bad.
Anyway, later on the room had cockroaches and after waiting for an hour the changed room again had 2 cockroaches in bathroom. The room smelt like mould too.
Waited for another hour finally changed the room to the other side of the building. We did not receive any proper apology from the reception staff or housekeeping. Only the bellboy told us maybe due to the construction site the hotel cant handle cockroaches. It was a big disappointment and i’ll never ever visit this hotel again.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank 877jhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2020 via mobile

We called here a few times during our stay in Kota Kinabalu. This is a lovely hotel and we would probably stay here next time we visit Borneo. The atmosphere is very relaxed and the views out to the islands are fantastic.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuteraHarbourResort, General Manager at The Pacific Sutera Hotel - Sutera Harbor Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Peter L,

Thank you for taking the time to post a 5-star review on our TripAdvisor page.

We are so happy to know that you found our hotel very much to your liking. We do hope to see you the next time you visit Kota Kinabalu.

And when you are here, we do hope you will be able to maximise your staycation with us by exploring the nearby islands, watch the sunset on a cruise or take a journey back into time with our North Borneo Railway.

We also have many activities available across our Resort such as spa treatment, bowling, movie theatre, racquet sports activities and of course our several landscaped swimming pools.

We would like to personally invite you to follow us on Facebook @suteraharbour, Instagram @suteraofficial, Twitter and our blog thisissutera.com for all the latest updates and highlights.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next visit to Kota Kinabalu.

Best regards,
Gerry D'Cruz
General Manager
The Pacific Sutera Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2020

We check in on December 24th, and check out at 6 a.m. on December 25th. The next day, we realized that we have left the Foreo Luna (a cosmetic machine for face cleaning) in the room. The face cleaning machine costs 1400RMB above. So we called the hotel, and the hotel said that they did not find it.
Then we return to the hotel the next day to find it. We arrived the hotel at 18 p.m. on December 26th, the receptionist at the front desk of the hotel told us their hotel cleaner didn't see it when cleaning the room. But we were sure we have left it in the bath room. So we asked to see the GSM and wanted a second check. We have waited for half an hour and no one came to see us. Finally, the GSM appeared. His solution was calling the hotel security and making a meaningless record. He promised that he would call us later, but we haven't got any reply from then on.
We are very disappointed with the result and also with the staff here. We think this is an irresponsible hotel and god will not forgive them for this even on Christmas day.

Date of stay: December 2019
Thank shmilyssxue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuteraHarbourResort, General Manager at The Pacific Sutera Hotel - Sutera Harbor Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear shmilyssxue,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on our TripAdvisor page.

First and foremost, we truly apologise for the incident which befell you during your stay with us. We have done a thorough investigation on this matter, however we did not find the said missing item in the possession of any of our staff.

For your information, we do stringent checking on all our associates arriving in and leaving the workplace. This to ensure that they do not bring in or out any items which may cause an issue to the workplace or which do not belong to them once they leave the building.

Again we apologise for any inconvenience caused.

Best regards,
Gerry D'Cruz
General Manager
The Pacific Sutera Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews