We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hari raya at pacific sutera”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Ranked #8 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed August 28, 2014

Stayed 3 nights at the Sutera Pacific and have a good time. The rooms are large and comfortable. Breakfast offers large asian and continental choice of food.
Just the swimming pool i found the water was quite dirty.
I liked the fact the i could use the facilities at the nearby sister hotel Magellan. Both resorts offer the shuttle bus which takes to KK city centre. Also the SeaQuest pier is just next to the Hotels which offer excursion to nearby Islands of Sapi and Manukan that are worth visiting for a day trip.

The Magellan is a bit nicer and modern than the Pacific so I would have preferred to stay there. I have booked thru booking.com but i chose the Pacific because it says the wifi was free of charge wheres at the Magellan it mentions it cost 50myr. I found its not true as when i used the facilities i cud use free wifi. I advise the management to update this as it may lead to guests to choose another hotel if wifi is not free.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank frikketz86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Deputy Chief Executive Officer at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2014

Dear serena86ve,

Thank you for choosing The Pacific Sutera Hotel as your preferred accommodation during the recent Hari Raya holidays.

Your review is very much appreciated and we are glad you had an enjoyable experience during your stay with us. However, we would like to apologise for our shortfall in service, particularly on the cleanliness of our swimming pool facility. You will be glad to know that we have addressed these issue with the respective Department and that there will be improvements in the area you had mentioned.

Thank you so much for bringing to our attention about the ridiculous WIFI charges stated on Booking.com for our property, The Magellan Sutera Resort. We do not charge our guests for WIFI as it is part of our services and therefore, rest assured, this mistake has been rectified.

We apologise once again for any inconvenience caused and encourage you to experience our newly refurbished rooms at The Magellan Sutera Resort on your next visit to Kota Kinabalu.

Best regards,

Gerard Tan
Deputy CEO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,916)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,207 - 1,213 of 2,916 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2014

Beautiful resort located right on the sea shore with harbour on one side and pool on other side.
Great scenic beauty for the clickers in the morning and evening,morning sunrise from behind the buildings and sunset in the sea in evening.Would love to go again whenever i get a chance.

Room Tip: All rooms are equal,no need to worry when you are there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SanjeevG0yal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Deputy Chief Executive Officer at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Dear SanjeevG0yal,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so glad to read that you had a great time at Sutera Harbour Resort.

We'd like to add on to your observation about our rooms. Offering a total of 956 guest rooms and suites of luxurious comfort, we have several types of room ranging from the Deluxe Rooms, Magellan Club Rooms, Magellan Club Suites to Executive Suites at The Magellan Sutera Resort while at The Pacific Sutera Hotel, there are Deluxe Rooms, Pacific Club Rooms, Family Rooms, Junior Suites, and Executive Suites.

On that note, we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to our side of paradise on your next visit to Kota Kinabalu.

Best regards,

Gerard Tan
Deputy CEO.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2014

My family and I travel up to Malaysia quite a fair bit and this is by far the best resort we ever stayed. Its family friendly and the service was excellent. The entire time we were in Sabah we didn't leave the hotel because the hotel itself has everything we wanted to do - restaurants,spa, snorkelling services and island trips.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank M_Shazana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Deputy Chief Executive Officer at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Dear M_Shazana,

Thank you for taking the time to share your stay experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We are very proud to note that we are recognised as 'The Best Resort in Malaysia' in your eyes! Your succinct review is very much appreciated and it brings us great joy to have like-minded guests, like yourself, who appreciate and enjoy the many things that Sutera Harbour Resort has to offer.

We can't wait to welcome you and your family back to your home-away-from-home, Sutera Harbour Resort!

Best regards,

Gerard Tan
Deputy CEO



Until next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

Our family stayed at the Pacific as well as Magellan ; this review is for Magellan. The location is less than 10 minutes from airport and 10 minutes from downtown making for an excellent location. Any island hopping / water sports can be accessed from hotel centrally located jetty, very convenient. I have stayed at this resort 10 years ago and can tell it is a little tired. One big difference is room prices have gone up at least 50% but cannot complain as it was 10 years ago. Food at hotel is considered pricey even us coming from Canada, better eat in town if possible to save $$. Buffet breakfast is awesome. Overall a good stay 4 stars.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pwong8548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Deputy Chief Executive Officer at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Dear pwong8548,

Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.

Glad you had a good stay and enjoyed the Sutera Harbour hospitality on your recent trip to Kota Kinabalu.

We would like to take this opportunity to assure you that we regularly review our room rates and special offers to ensure that they are in line with the Kota Kinabalu market as a whole. However, you may also find last minute discounts through our Sutera Harbour website's booking engine too.

Your feedback regarding the food pricing is much appreciated and rest assured, it has been shared with the respective Head of Department for further action as we continue to work toward ensuring a seamless overall experience for all our guests.

Having said that, we hope to welcome you and your family to Sutera Harbour Resort the next time your travels take you back to Kota Kinabalu.

Best regards,

Gerard Tan
Deputy CEO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2014

Lovely grounds - huge - plenty of pools and that and the room was ok the bath was bit on the old side. Great views and a great place to stay to escape Kinabalu Town which is grim to say the least. Breakfast was mostly a Korean affair mostly with fermented cabbage etc to cater for the tour groups. Noisy at night with banging doors and check out was a farce - woken up to tell me we had paid too much- then an hour later woken up again to say we had paid to little then it was agreed that total was also wrong so had to trek the 500m to reception to straighten things out not helpful if you have little kids and a 5 am wakeup call. Apart from this the staff were great- however no so great if you were Korean as there wasn't anyone on reception that could speak the language which made for some interesting charades. The trips are well organized but the island were packed or full of sand flies. Great sea life while it lasts- the volume of traffic doesn't bode well for its longevity. Its probably the best place to stay if you are based in KK for more than 3 days and don't want a rental. The beaches are tiny.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank lostinsaigon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Deputy Chief Executive Officer at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Dear lostinsaigon,

Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.

Our location, facilities and spectacular view are indeed one of our Resort's many strong attributes. Having two 5-star hotel and resort accommodation, golf, marina and recreational facilities as well as being a mere 10 minutes from Kota Kinabalu International Airport and to Kota Kinabalu City plus a 15 minutes boat ride to the tropical islands of Tunku Abdul Rahman Marine Park certainly makes us a perfect destination for any type of vacation - be it business or leisure.

However, we are disappointed to hear about your breakfast buffet experience, especially when our dining outlet offers over 100 items with an array of freshly prepared dishes that caters for both western and Asian tastes. Concerning your issue at check-out, we sincerely apologise for the inconvenience that we have caused you. We take those incidents very seriously and rest assured, we have addressed your concerns to the responsible department heads for further review and appropriate action.

In our continuous endeavour to provide our guests with the highest level of comfort and hospitality, we are taking appropriate measures to address your concerns as it is comments such as your that helps us improve, make changes and train our associates accordingly to exceed our guests’ expectations.

On that note, we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back to Sutera Harbour Resort on your next visit to Kota Kinabalu.

Best regards,

Gerard Tan
Deputy CEO.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2014

The Magellan is a lovely resort with amazing views and a massive lagoon pool. he reception area is HUGE and in true Malaysian style very open.
The rooms are well appointed and furnished well. The beds and pillows are comfortable and the linens are first class.
The staff are warm, welcoming and professional although a little slow responding. There are several choices of restaurants for meals and in general the food was great.
Only complaints were that they advertise a mini bar - which would obviously include a fridge. This is not the case. There is no mini bar or fridge. There is an ambient cabinet masquerading as a fridge. However this is NOT cold. We rang reception as we had medication that needed to be kept refrigerated but we were advised that their fridges are not for keeping things cold! Seems a pretty stupid idea to have something that doesn't do the job expected. So we had to continuously ask for ice to keep everything cold which was frustrating.
Our room also had a constant smell of mould or damp which I think came from the air con.
We were only at the Magellan 3 days and the pool was out of action for the first 2 days which was annoying. We were advised we could use the pools in the other hotels however the Pacific's pool was grimy and choc-a-block full of people so not very enjoyable.
When we could finally use the pool on the last evening of our stay it was awesome!
The Magellan is starting to show its age although the grounds and pool are just beautiful it could do with a spruce up of the actual buildings.
Happy hour is fabulous and the buffet meals offer a lot of choice however get in early or everything goes cold fast......and they really need to learn how to make a decent coffee!
All in all we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank maggie_girl26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Deputy Chief Executive Officer at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2014

Dear maggie_girl26,

Thank you for taking the time to share your stay experience on TripAdvisor.

Glad we made an impression with our grand entrance at The Magellan Sutera Resort, a majestic longhouse style lobby; an architectural tribute to the Rungus natives of Sabah. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

However, please accept our sincerest apologies for the experience you encountered with our guest rooms and recreational facilties that did not meet your expectations. It is feedback such as yours that gives us opportunities for improvement and rest assured, the matters have received the due attention.

On that note, we value your patronage and hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to Sutera Harbour Resort for a renewed experience.

Best regards,

Gerard Tan
Deputy CEO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2014

We went to Kota Kinabalu for TMBT event. Since the registration and bib collection at Pacific Sutera Habour hotel, we think might as well spending 4 nights there with the family. Like previous years the next day after the strenuous hike up and down around mount Kinabalu, all we wanted was a comfortable and quiet place to recuperate! We managed to do just that at Pacific Sutera Hotel.
The hotel offers pleasant experience, nice location, spacious room and friendly staff. The pool and restaurants area were excellent and served our purposes well. We enjoyed the buffet breakfast. We were so amazed with the lobby ambiance and the view of the ocean from the hotel really relaxing. We will definitely coming back again next year for the same event and lovely stay in hotel.

Room Tip: Waterfront view is nice to get natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Faisalhamdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Deputy Chief Executive Officer at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Dear Faisalhamdi,

Thank you for a glowing review with a ‘5 star’ rating on our TripAdvisor Page!

Happy to read that you had the opportunity to climb Mount Kinabalu. We hope you had a successful climb to the peak.

Your positive comments are a great motivation and encouragement to all of us as we are committed to delivering a memorable experience to each of our esteemed guests.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again to your home-away-from-home, Sutera Harbour Resort!

Best regards,

Gerard Tan
Deputy CEO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
1.3 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,233 reviews
10.7 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#9 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,440 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
339 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
749 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)

Address: 1 Sutera Harbour Blvd, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: $135 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) 5*
Number of rooms: 956
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sutera Harbour Resort is Malaysia’s foremost premier integrated property. The resort encompasses the luxurious accommodation of The Pacific Sutera and The Magellan Sutera hotels, a 27-hole championship golf course, Sutera Harbour Marina & Country Club, two Mandara Spas and a host of dining and recreational facilities. Sutera Harbour Resort is also affiliated with 5 other eco-destinations in Sabah managed through Sutera Sanctuary Lodges including Kinabalu Park, Mesilau Nature Resort, Laban Rata, Poring Hot Spring & Nature Reserve and Manukan Island Resort. The resort also offers a luxury charter division, North Borneo Yachting and steam locomotive through North Borneo Railway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera And The Magellan Sutera)
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) Hotel
Sutera Harbour Hotel
Sutera Harbour Kota Kinabalu
Magellan Sutera
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing