We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel.. but carefull with the sand flies” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Ranked #8 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel.. but carefull with the sand flies”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

I spent almost one week in the Sutera Pacific Hotel in Kota Kinabalu, the hotel is really nice, big room, lot of restaurants, pools, you can spend the entire time there wihout getting annoyed.
In Kota Kinabalu there is almost NOTHING to do so this hotel is the best solution. You can reach the city by taxi in almost 10 minutes (with no traffic). The REAL BIG PROBLEM are the beaches that you can reach from there by boat (organized by the hotel itself). They take you to the small islands in front of the hotel (the hotel has a really small beach with dirty water), you go there, the sea is really nice.. BUT... they are absolutely full of sand flies. I have spent only two days on those beaches, and my entire body has been distroyed by this sand flies. At the beginning they just pinch you, there is a small red spot.... then after around 4 days you are totally covered by bites and I had to take cortisone. This is not possible, they told us they were not dangerous, an hotel should be responsible for this. I saw so many guests with their legs covered by these bytes. Don't go on those beaches unless you want your vacation to be totally ruined. Now I understand why all the chinese there go totally covered, it is not for the sun, but for the sand flies!!!!!
It is really a pity, because as mentioned before the hotel is very nice, but they should not take their guests on those islands (immagine that they have also a resort on one of those little islands). Hope this is of help.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flavia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Deputy Chief Executive Officer at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear flaviaggio,

Thank you for sharing a review on TripAdvisor.

Glad your stay with us was a relaxing one and you enjoyed the services and facilities offered. Hope you had the chance to try out our internationally renowned Mandara Spa during your time here - Yin Yang package is perfect for couples!

We have taken note about our hotel's beach cleanliness. Rest assured, we take all feedback seriously and measures have taken the matter to task. Whilst we do our utmost to maintain the beach area, it is subject to tidal movements and debris washing up.

On the flip side, we are very sorry that the sand-flies along the shoreline of the tropical islands (15-minutes boat ride from Sutera Harbour Marina Jetty) which you had visited, had put a dampened on the overall guest experience. Sand-flies can be annoying. However, they are not around constantly especially when there is a good breeze to blow them away. That said, most of our guests who have visited the islands have not been unduly affected by them. Anyhow, as the island which you have visited is managed by Sabah Parks, we must share that it is something that is beyond our control and it is likely to be difficult to totally eradicate the sandflies.

Above all, we thank you for your feedback and our team awaits for the next opportunity to welcome you back to Sutera Harbour Resort for a more positive experience in the near future.

Best regards,

Gerard Tan
Deputy CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,042
    944
    293
    112
    80
See reviews for
757
884
85
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (569)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

After being in both S-L's, we wanted to check something new and closer to the city.
Sutera, The Magellan one, fullfilled our expectations easily for a family with kids (12,14).
Resort itself is nice with good restaurants and service. when staying at any of the Sutera premises, one can use all facilities, 3 pools, many reastaurants, bowling alley etc. They were doing renovation on some of the Magellan rooms, so it will be even better, once done (rooms were not bad by no means now). Another good point is, that for any boat trips you can choose a company docking at Sutera harbour. Convenient, in deed, to walk 200 m from bkfs to the boat.
Where it cannot compete with S-L, especially the Rasa Ria, is the beach. On the other hand, RR
is far from the city and the water front restaurants. I would highly recommend this one to be checked out.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DoubleX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Deputy Chief Executive Officer at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear DoubleX,

Thank you for posting a review about your recent stay with us. Truly grateful when Senior Contributors and Top Contributors of TripAdvisor share their experience because of their trusted comments and you are certainly no exception to that.

It's always great to get a fresh perspective on things, so your candid review of your first visit to Sutera Harbour Resort was invaluable. We're pleased to have met up to your expectation!

Although our private and exclusive beach area is no match to the vast area of Rasa Ria's, we do hope you enjoyed a cocktail or two while catching the best sunset view in town - a must do when in Kota Kinabalu.

On that note, thank you for the recommendation and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back soon to our side of paradise for a 5-star family experience!

Best regards,

Gerard Tan
Deputy CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Good location, good staff, good facilities but do not expect 5star. It needs investment in redecoration, repair and competent management.
As you enter the hotel you note the ceiling that has leaked in many places and wall paper is falling off the walls. The restaurant service is very poor as management stays in the back and keeps the capacity of waiting staff too low. Food is served late and not together for all guests on the table at the same time. So your food gets cold by the time the food for others arrive. There are not enough sunbirds at the swimming pools and staff just stand around and look at you even when you struggle to in stack the beds. In the Olympic pools there are too many kids blocking the lanes and staff do not care.
The beach is dirty and very small. It needs daily morning cleaning by staff.
Breakfast is the same buffet every day with orange squash rather than fresh juice. Apart from regular coffee and tea everything is chargeable. So if you want green tea or breakfast tea then you have to pay. Fresh fruit is 3rd class with watermelon tasting like water and white colour.
Variety of restaurants is good.
Too many faults in the rooms and unless you complain to duty manager nothing gets fixed. Plumbing and electricity are the main issues. Concierge is excellent.
All activities are chargeable.
The hotel is dated in rooms and shouts loud for renovation and investment. Quality management is non existent. Sometimes they leave you one towel in a double room with two occupants and sometimes two.
Book the steam railway trip early as it gets booked quick. The policies are not followed, for example at the pool it says no t shirt in the pool but many swimmers are wearing t shirts. Pool towels are torn and shabby.
Overall, I recommend that you expect a three star service and settings so you don't get disappointed. Overall, this hotel needs to take on competent management, train restaurant staff for service delivery, introduce robust quality assurance for their maintenance and engineering staff, improve the breakfast menu and quality and invest in hotel redecoration and rejuvenation.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Objecte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Deputy Chief Executive Officer at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Objecte,

Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.

Your feedback and honesty is greatly appreciated. Although there were some positive comments, we regret to know that you were disappointed in your overall experience at our property. It is our goal to provide the best service and amenities during each guest's stay. Therefore, it is most unfortunate that we fell short on this occasion as this is not our normal standard.

We are looking into each of the areas of concerns you have pointed out and have already corrected several of them. However, others will continue to need attention especially in aspects of our hotel's façade as well as training for our associates to ensure a consistent experience for every guest.

However, we would like to clarify that our breakfast buffet spread which offers over 100 items do have a 3-day rotation menu cycle for some of its hot items that is only repeated on the 4th day at Café Boleh, The Pacific Sutera Hotel and a 6-day rotation menu cycle that is repeated on the 7th day at Five Sails, The Magellan Sutera Resort - nevertheless, we will forward your feedback to the chef to consider further improvements.

Above all, we apologise for not meeting yours and our own expectations. We do hope that this one off experience will not deter you from considering a repeat stay with us and that we can still look forward to welcoming you back to Sutera Harbour Resort for a renewed experience.

Best regards,

Gerard Tan
Deputy CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Labuan F.T
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Again we decided to choose this hotel when we came to Kota Kinabalu. Not only the location is perfect,but we really love all the facilities being offered here!
Breakfast is fine for us and the hospitality being shown was great by all the waiters and waitresses.Room was cleaned accordingly.
The only thing that bothered us was the way when the security took care of the front entrance. Not all but there was one guy who was being nice to foreign tourist,but shown the opposite to us.Having to carry my toddler and to open the door entrance is a hard thing to do. This is an aspect I believe the Sutera Harbour management should look into before I start to categorise your hotel as 'foreign tourist friendly only' and not to local tourist like me.BTW, we are paying for our stay and it's not free.
Overall, we really enjoy our stay and wouldn't let that little negativity to affect our satisfaction.we have book the next stay in December and I really hope the service will be improved that time.

Room Tip: Probably those who like balcony may request for it. Not all rooms have balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tayshaun22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Deputy Chief Executive Officer at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear tayshaun22,

Thank you for choosing us as your preferred holiday destination again during your visit to Kota Kinabalu.

We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed our strategic location, room, facilities as well as amenities and that our team took good care of you.

However, we are deeply saddened to read of your unpleasant experience as it has always been our mission to provide each of our esteemed guests with the best hospitality and service at Sutera Harbour Resort, despite where they were coming from. We are disappointed to learn that you had encountered such behaviour from one of our associates.

In our continuous endeavour to provide our guests with the highest level of comfort and hospitality, we are taking appropriate measures to address your concerns as it is comments such as yours that helps us improve, make changes and train our associates accordingly to exceed our guests' expectations. Having said that, training with all our associates are on-going and rest assured, that this is a topic that will be covered by our trainers.

On a lighter note, we thank you for your continuous support and greatly look forward to welcome you and your family back to Sutera Harbour Resort in December!

Best regards,

Gerard Tan
Deputy CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
750 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 355 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Conveniently located close to the airport and the city centre, the Pacific Sutera is an excellent place to stay in Kota Kinabalu. The rooms are modern, clean and spacious, with the full range of features expected in the quality hotels. The hotel has a number of good dining options, from fine dining to the cafe. Guests can also access the other dining and recreational facilities at the Magellan Sutera and the Country Club which provides plenty of variety over your stay. We enjoyed a very relaxing five nights at the resort. The staff throughout the hotel from reception, concierge, through to the pool attendants were very friendly, welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The hotel offers an hourly shuttle service to the city which is convenient, or a taxi is about 15 Ringgit. We would stay here again.
Thanks for your vote if you found this review helpful.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the golf course and had views of the South China Sea which was relaxing. We were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TWal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Deputy Chief Executive Officer at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear TWal1,

We must say how honoured we are to have a Top Contributor on TripAdvisor write us a glowing '5-star' review. Plus, your review has received 67 helpful votes and counting. Amazing!

You are spot on with the details and perhaps on your next visit, you may want to try the Pacific Club Room where Pacific Club guests enjoy personalised check-in services, prime sea view suites and exclusive dining experience with magnificent views from the top floors where breakfast and cocktails are served in The Pacific Club Lounge.

We hope you had the chance to try our internationally renowned Mandara Spa too - the Yin Yang spa package is perfect for couples!

With that, we look forward to welcoming you back again to your home-away-from-home, Sutera Harbour Resort.

Best regards,

Gerard Tan
Deputy CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

After an initial misunderstanding with our room, which the staff was very helpful with - my partner & I stayed in the Executive Suite part of the Magellan club.

The room was large and extremely comfortable. The view was second to none. It is worth spending the extra money for a sea view & balcony to ensure you capture the gorgeous sunsets.
Unfortunately the room did smell of stale cigarette smoke, but after opening the balcony windows for a couple of minutes it disappeared.

The food was great when ordered down at the restaurants / cafes. Unfortunately the room service was not as nice as the food arrived cold - which I had a feeling it would as the resort is so large.

The pool is great, big enough to fit everyone and it wasn't over crowded.

We had a fabulous time and felt truly rested.
Thank you.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NausicaaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Deputy Chief Executive Officer at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear NausicaaJ,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor.

So glad to read that you enjoyed your visit with us and that our passionate team member was able to rectify the misunderstanding.

It brings us great joy to know that you appreciate our Executive Suite at The Magellan Sutera Resort and its spectacular view of the South China Sea and its tropical islands. Hope you had the chance to try our internationally renowned Mandara Spa too - the Yin Yang spa package is perfect for couples!

Having said that, we are truly grateful for your constructive feedback as it has given us some great insight on how we can continue to improve our offerings and services for a better overall guest experience.

We hope to see you again soon at Sutera Harbour Resort in the near future for another pure pleasure experience!

Best regards,

Gerard Tan
Deputy CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melboune
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

Stayed here for ten days in July 2014. Could not in any way fault this resort. The room was lovely and recently refurbished, and always immacuately cleaned and tidied. The sunsets from the balcony were amazing!. The staff were simply awesome - special mentions to Lian See, Raj, Sudesh, and Wan at the pool. Lian See, Raj and Sudesh went above and beyond to help us return a day earlier due to illness. (I had recently undergone major surgery). Raj even went to the airport to facilitate the booking of a new flight!. All staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The pool is open from 6am to 9pm with life guards on duty. Best of all at the pool next to the lounges, there were poles with red flags atop them, you simply had to wave them to summon the waters for a drink or nibble. (There was also a small pool bar). We did go across to the Pacific and had a look, but would recommend the Magellan for the bigger pool, and the fresher newer experience. Don't hesitate to book here - we will be back!

Room Tip: Definitely a room with a veiew of the ocean - the sunsets are worth the extra spend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggieMae57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Deputy Chief Executive Officer at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear MaggieMae57,

WOW! What an impactful review with a great title to it : "Simply the best!"

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the resort and that our team took good care of you, particularly Lian See, Sudesh, Raj and Wan from The Magellan Sutera Resort- they appreciate the recognition very much!

It is always a joy to have like-minded guests, like yourself, who appreciate and enjoy our room, facilities, services and amenities.

As our valued guest with cross signing privileges to 15 F&B outlets and exclusive access to recreational facilities throughout the Resort ie. The Magellan Sutera Resort, The Pacific Sutera Hotel and Sutera Harbour Marina, Golf & Country Club, we thank you for recommending us to other travellers.

Can't wait to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again to Sutera Harbour Resort soon, hopefully for a longer stay!

Best regards,

Gerard Tan
Deputy CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
1.2 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,978 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
10.6 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#13 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)

Property: Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Address: 1 Sutera Harbour Blvd, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) 5*
Number of rooms: 956
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sutera Harbour Resort is Malaysia’s foremost premier integrated property. The resort encompasses the luxurious accommodation of The Pacific Sutera and The Magellan Sutera hotels, a 27-hole championship golf course, Sutera Harbour Marina & Country Club, two Mandara Spas and a host of dining and recreational facilities. Sutera Harbour Resort is also affiliated with 5 other eco-destinations in Sabah managed through Sutera Sanctuary Lodges including Kinabalu Park, Mesilau Nature Resort, Laban Rata, Poring Hot Spring & Nature Reserve and Manukan Island Resort. The resort also offers a luxury charter division, North Borneo Yachting and steam locomotive through North Borneo Railway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera And The Magellan Sutera)
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) Hotel
Sutera Harbour Hotel
Sutera Harbour Kota Kinabalu
Magellan Sutera
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing