We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Nearby Hotels
$120
$110
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$385
$316
Shangri-La.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Horizon Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
$105
$61
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Klagan Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
$47
$38
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu(Kota Kinabalu)
$98
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sixty3(Kota Kinabalu)
$131
$79
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu(Kota Kinabalu)
$53
$41
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Grandis(Kota Kinabalu)
$100
$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Eden54(Kota Kinabalu)(Great Value!)
$36
$32
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (3,075)
Filter reviews
3,075 results
Traveler rating
1,321
1,141
361
137
115
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,321
1,141
361
137
115
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsal frescofive sailscafe bolehgolf viewbowling alleysilk gardenspice islandmarina clubshuttle busswimming poolsmall beachnorth borneo railwayevery hourclub roommanukan islandthe south china seabuffet breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
1,351 - 1,356 of 3,075 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed for five days at the Pacific and the hotel is pretty much the best location to stay near the city. One big provlem is the pricing on their drinks on Breeze beach club that serves the pool area. $8 for a mug of beer and that is a happy hour price. No wonder the cocktail waitress is struggling to get business with the guests. Sutera need to study the market pricing foe the pool area if they want to fill the pool bar with conga dancing guest.

1  Thank Jonnhyu
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SHR-Management, Deputy Chief Executive Officer at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Dear Jonnhyu,

Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.

So glad you feel the same way about our location being a mere 10 minutes to Kota Kinabalu City Centre and from Kota Kinabalu International Airport plus a 15-minutes boat ride to the tropical islands of Tunku Abdul Rahman Marine Park - which we hope you had a chance to experience, otherwise that calls for a return visit soon!

In regards to the beverage pricing at Breeze Beach Club, we would like to clarify that Happy Hour rate for a mug of draught beer is priced at MYR12.00nett from 5.00pm to 6.00pm and from 9.00pm to 10.00pm. (Specials and times are subject to change. Please check with the outlet before ordering)

Having said that, we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Sutera Harbour Resort in the near future.

Best regards,

Gerard Tan
Deputy CEO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Had a bad first impression on their front desk operation. After checking in, they didnt have the extra bed ready in one of the room even though the staff had already mentioned which room key was for the room with extra bed (we had booked 2 rooms). It took us few hours waiting for the room being ready.

The hotel is big with a spacious lobby and garden (long distance walking between restaurants, garden, marina and even inside their lobby)but the rooms were surprisingly small with a ceiling fan. Housekeeping service was not up to par and they took a long time to send us the things we wanted and sometimes they even ignored our requests. And they happened to forget to clean up the garbage inside the dustbin one day.

In loves and hates with their front desk services. They were found disorganised and not informative enough sometimes. One of the staff at front desk gave us wrong information about where we could get the towels for our island tour departing from their sea quest marina. She asked us to get the towels from the staffs in charge of swimming pool. And at the end we only managed to get the towels from the sea quest marina after running and asking around like a fool.

But at one time, they were quick in replacing the lost voucher (free lunch and dinner vouchers) that we had mistakenly placed on the table during breakfast.

And there was some problem with the concierge service. We had booked a taxi service for our early morning transfer to airport. When we tried to remind them the night before we left, we were told that they dint have the booking in record. We have to make a fresh new booking again.

The buffet breakfast of the sea sail restaurant was a big letdown and some of the staffs were showing cold faces. Food and drinks with limited variety as compared to Shangrila Tanjung Aru beach hotel even Magellan sutera has a good reputation on its buffet breakfast.

Overall, love the quiet and beautiful environment of the hotel. Love the view of their marina with lots of boats and yachts. The efficient internal bus services were awesome for room guests with kids. Again, their big showerhead with strong and spa-like water flow in the bath room was the star!

Wifi was available inside the room but not stable.

I think their staffs are nice and friendly in general. It could become the top choice of the town if the staffs' attentiveness to details has been improved.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Win555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Deputy Chief Executive Officer at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Dear Win555,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor.

We sincerely apologise for the inconveniences you and your family encountered during your stay with us. It is our goal to provide the best service and amenities during each guest's stay.

We do recognise the importance of attention to detail and communication, which could have been better executed during your time with us. Rest assured, we have taken your feedback seriously and have addressed the areas you have raised with necessary steps to improve these issues, as well as our service shortfalls.

As our valued guest, we greatly appreciate your constructive comments which has helped us better understand our guests' satisfactions and disappointments. We hope that you will grant us another opportunity to serve you better on your next stay at Sutera Harbour Resort.

Best regards,

Gerard Tan
Deputy CEO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Had a lovely stay at the Magellen. The room was spacious although a little on the tired side but the view more than made up for this. Was also disappointed with the breakfasts. It must be hard to cater for all needs but I was disappointed as not the usual 5 star I was used to. The staff were all exceptional, friendly and even assisted with a Macca's delivery at 2am. A special shout out to Jess at reception for her assistance.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bec76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Deputy CEO at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear Bec76,

Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.

Glad that you had a lovely stay at The Magellan Sutera Resort. Your compliments for our associate, Jess from Front Office who went above and beyond to make your stay more comfortable has certainly put a smile on her face and she thanks you all the same. Our greatest asset is our team of associates and we always take great pride in knowing they endeavour to deliver an exemplary level of personalised service to our guests everyday.

However, we regret that our breakfast buffet spread did not meet your expectation and thus made it less memorable than was expected. Your feedback is important to us and rest assured, it has been shared with our team for further improvement where necessary.

On a happier note, we are pleased to inform that refurbishment plans for the rooms' façade at The Magellan Sutera Resort are already being carried out in stages. We hope you will get to experience the difference on your next visit to Kota Kinabalu!

Best regards,

Gerard Tan
Deputy CEO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

This is a review for the Pacific Sutera not the Magellan both are run by the same company so whichever you stay in you can use the facilities of the other and still sign it to your room which is great as it doubles your choices of places to eat.
If you look at the pictures at the top of the page the Pacific is the building on the right hand side the magellan is the low rise buildings on the left.
I would say the Pacific is more like a business hotel.
We stayed in a standard room which was a good size and comfortable. Bathroom has a walk in shower as well as a bath and was very clean.
Breakfast was good with a lot of choice that would please just about any dietary requirements.
All the staff were very helpful and a special thanks to the concierge who help us a few times and always with the result we wanted.
I would stay here again at the drop of a hat.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank johnb73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Deputy Chief Executive Officer at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear johnb73,

Thank you for sharing a lovely and detailed review of your recent stay experience at The Pacific Sutera Hotel.

Your compliments are a great motivation and encourages us to continue creating a wonderful holiday experience for our guests! Sutera Harbour Resort is an excellent choice for any type of vacation, be it leisure or business as all in-house guests are given cross-signing privileges with access to a variety of indoor and outdoor recreational activities as well as 15 F&B outlets spread out across our three properties, ie. The Magellan Sutera Resort, The Pacific Sutera Hotel and Sutera Harbour Marina, Golf & Country Club.

We hope you had the chance to visit our internationally renowned Mandara Spa or take a 15 minutes boat ride to the tropical islands of Tunku Abdul Rahman Marine Park - otherwise, that calls for a return visit soon!

Having said that, we are eagerly waiting to welcome you again to your home-away-from-home, Sutera Harbour Resort!

Best regards,

Gerard Tan
Deputy CEO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Enough things happened during my one night stay at the Magellan to leave a bad taste in my mouth, literally.

It started with my room not being ready, at 4PM! I was still in good spirits, and they quickly got me another room a few doors down, so I let the incident slide.

This being the Ramadan month, I broke my fast at an event in the hotel. The starters were served well in advance, so some of the dishes best served hot were already cold when we consumed them. The rest of the food that came was not great either. The lentils in the rice was undercooked, and the dessert was forgettable.

Earlier in the day I had already ordered my sahur (pre-fast early morning meal) to be delivered to the room the next day. The staff who took the order said that it would be delivered at around 3.30 in the morning. After an unsatisfying evening meal, I looked forward to something nice for sahur.

At 3.50AM I woke up and realised nobody had rung the doorbell or called me to inform that the meal was on its way. I had to call guest services twice to ask, to which they said that it was on its way and that it would take time because of the number of deliveries.

By the time the food did arrive, it was 4.40AM, 5 minutes to Subuh prayers. I had only 5 minutes to eat before fasting began. I am not a world champion hot dog eater, there was no way I could eat properly in time!

And to make matters worse, the food that arrived was not what was on the menu. The dishes were bland, and the teh tarik I ordered looked nothing like any teh tarik I have ever had. I stirred the milky white liquid in my cup, hoping it would turn that familiar orange-brown shade, but it stayed that strange pale hue. I didn't even bother taking a sip. What a disappointment.

And to cap it off, there was hardly any hot water in the bathroom.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
Thank Noorhaina Hiraw... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Deputy Chief Executive Officer at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear Noorhaina N,

We truly regret to note of your less than satisfactory stay with us and extend our profound and sincere apologies for the shortcomings in service which you had encountered. It is most unfortunate that we fell short on this occasion as this is not our normal standard.

Your feedback is of utmost importance to us and rest assured that remedial action has been taken to improve our service level.

We hope you will grant us another opportunity to welcome you back to Sutera Harbour Resort for a much more positive experience.

Best regards,

Gerard Tan
Deputy CEO.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews