We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Hotel in Peaceful Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Ranked #8 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Hong Kong
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Relaxing Hotel in Peaceful Paradise”
Reviewed November 6, 2008

I stayed at the Pacific Sutera for 4 nights during a conference. The room, grounds, pool and beach areas are all very nice. The staff are friendly and helpful. I was on the club floor so having the club lounge was great, although I thought the hours open were too short. We arrived at 8 pm and the club lounge was already closed. Overall a good experience and well worth it if you want a quiet get-away. If you are wanting the shopping, touring and nightclub scene, this isn't it. There are some opportunities for all three of these, plus golf, but this is truly great place for rest and relaxation. Take the Island snorkeling trip and rent a jet ski!

  • Liked — Great Views, nice pools and beach
  • Disliked — club lounge hours
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank HKTraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,148
    1,036
    323
    125
    96
See reviews for
857
966
94
248
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (639)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2008

We stayed in the majellan hotel during October 08, having stayed there previously (4 1/2 years prior), with very fond memories. This time we stayed for a week and on the whole, were not disappointed. We stayed in a deluxe seaview room, and on arrival our room was quite warm, however we assumed that the air con hadn't been all that long so we thought we'd give it a night to cool. Unfortunately, the room was hot all night and we slept above the sheets. The next day we contacted front desk who said they would sort it out..... it took three calls to front desk over the course of the day, before finally at about 9pm someone came to have a look at it. It was going to be a long job to fix so we ended up being moved to another room and from there, the room was great. The other unfortunate thing, was that a paper was supposed to be delivered every morning. We received a paper 2 out of 7 days. The breakfast buffet is always pretty good but finishes at 10.30am which hurts if you have a big night prior, although napping by the pool isn't all bad either?!
Between the majellan and pacific hotels, there is also a marina which houses many facilities in its own right and combined, there are at least half a dozen or so restaurants to choose, all with very decent meals. Additionally, the marina is also where you can jump on any number of boats that head out to 4 or 5 different islands where you can snorkel and dive etc (about 10 min trip, which leave hourly).
The golf club is impressive and the night golfing is something to experience if you're an avid golfer (the entire course is lit with stadium lighting).
If you want to head into town for some more authentic cheaper eats, and much cheaper drinks. There is a free shuttle that leaves hourly and if you cant wait, then a taxi is 10 RMB one way to anywhere in the city centre. I would highly recommend doing this as there is some fantastic seafood to be had - ask around for the best spot (we've always enjoyed Oceans, but the night markets and open air areas are brilliant too, and cheaper)
A highlight of the resort for more than one reason, is the Waves pool bar at the pacific resort. Headed up by Jual and his merry team, these guys and girls will surely make your stay all the more memorable. They are some of the friendliest and enthusiastic staff that we have met anywhere in Asia full stop. They love to chew the fat, will keep you eating and drinking and generally aim to personalise your experience, making it a more enjoyable and memorable time. Furthermore, happy hour (2 for 1 drinks) kicks off at 2pm and ends at 5pm. Of course this is not to suggest that all the other drinking and eating spots aren't great also, and generally the staff are exemplary in all areas, however, these guys just seem to go above and beyond for you.
Cheers to all the staff at Waves. We'll see you in another 4 years...hopefully earlier.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank whoneedsareason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2008

We had a Magellan Club Room in the Magellan Sutera Hotel. The room was huge, clean and had a great view of the marina. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. Club room guests have a seperate breakfast area and you can get free drinks and canopies in the evening in the club lounge. The breakfast was superb. Lots to choose from.
The pool area is great but remember you can use the facilities in the country club and pacific sutera. The pacific sutera has a good pool area too.
We had a fab holiday and loved this hotel.
A tip: if you want to try horseriding along a beautiful beach. Go to Kindawan Riding Centre. [--]. You can organise this direct with them or through one of the travel agents in the lobby of the hotel. We loved it.

  • Liked — good location, good pool area
  • Disliked — nothing. everything was fine.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mojobh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level 6 Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2008

I stayed at the Pacific Sutera wing for 3 nights. The location is good. Not too far from the airport and the city. The city is around 10 minutes drive from the hotel.

My room though not new was well maintained and clean. It had its own ironing board. The toilet was spacious and had both a tub and a shower. The only that spoiled it was the TV. Reception was bad and I was limited to a few channels only. To be fair, I did not bother asking a for a new TV. Maybe I would get a replacement TV if I had asked.

The sea view is splendid. And the sea is relatively clean and clear as I could see plenty of marine life under the jetty. It had 2 very small beach strips in front of both the Pacific Sutera and the Magellan. Don't expect to do much beach activities here. I saw nets protecting the beach most probably to protect swimmers from jelly fish as I was told. There are booths selling tickets for boat rides and other sea recreational activities. I went to their gym which was small but had decent equipments.

The complimentary breakfast buffet served is average, both in terms of choices and flavor.

The hotel provided an excellent free shuttle service to commute to the city. I found this very convenient and useful and many of the hotel guests used this to get to the city.

The hotel staff I met were helpful and friendly. Some even went out of their way to help us. However beware of your valuables. One of the guest left her handphone at her table in the lounge and it was gone when she came back for it. When she called her own handphone, the person answering it had the guts to say she has called the wrong number!

Finally, I've never encountered a hotel so strict in enforcing the 12 noon checkout time. At 10 min to noon, access to my room was barred and I could not get in using my card key. They should have given some leeway after 12 noon. And I was not alone in finding oneself locked out of their room at 12 noon. There was 3 other guests with me at the reception asking for our rooms to be unlocked.

  • Liked — Shuttle service and room
  • Disliked — Strict check-out time
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Aslan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2008

Our group of 8 people (4 couples) went and stayed at Magellan for 5 nights. First we arrived to 4 rooms with single beds, the floor of one room appears to be unvaccumed, there was a huge spider web clinging to the ceiling of another room, and a seaview room was facing the garden (i.e. 3 out of 4 rooms were no good). We requested for the housekeeping staff to clean the rooms again since we were promised rooms with a king-size bed starting the next day. The housekeeping staff arrived with the longest face and we end up tipping them (~10-15 ringgits for the 2 rooms being clean) for doing their job!

Day two, we packed our bags and went out for a fun day at the islands. Before leaving the hotel, one of us went and spoke to the concierge to confirm the room arrangements. My friend was being treated very rudely by the staff (one told him to keep his voice down while he wasn't loud at all, and another commented that he shouldn't have used the word "You" when referring to the hotel staff ?!?)....we came back around 3:30pm, got the key, went to our rooms, only to discover that 2 of the rooms weren't even made up yet! Again, the housekeeping staff was asked to do their jobs (this time I refused to tip them). I was so furious I asked to speak to the manager, whom never called me back.

All in all, Magellan was a rundown (likely due to the poor maintenance of its housekeeping) hotel ran by unpolite staff, which begs the question, is this the kind of hospitality one would expect from a 5-star vacation destination?

  • Liked — The pool
  • Disliked — The staff and the hotel accommodation
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank VacationjunkieHk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2008

I stayed at the Magellan Sutera for a work event and had to work directly with the hotel staff in arranging my company's retreat.

The hotel staff were most accommodating and looked into our requests and complaints fast enough. There was a slight glitch in terms of booking two different guests into the same room but other than that (it's understandable as we actually have over 300 pax arriving for this event), the stay was extremely pleasant.

I had a very beautiful room, overlooking the south china sea and above the pool - a little noisy at night but it's bearable.

The breakfast was average but good spread of both local and international food.

There's a bar near the pool area that's great for hanging out too.

  • Liked — It's large!
  • Disliked — Nothing bad.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Reneyap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2008

Apart from a slight hitch with our room booking [not the fault of the hotel but of our travel agent] I can honestly say that our stay at The Pacific Sutera was well worth the money we paid. The staff were always pleasant and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The room was very comfortable and bright with a beautiful sea and pool view although I do think that the TV could do with an upgrade as could the televised content [no Australian content considering the amount of Aussie tourists that go there]. I must give special credit to two staff members who really went out of their way to be helpful. These were Jack [one of the Concierge's] and Jual [the pool manager]. These two guys really know their jobs and have a terrific rapport with the guests.
The restaurants and cafe's at both properties [Pacific and Magellan] are terrific and cater for all tastes. We tried them all. However, they could do with a lesson on how to make a good Pizza. This was the only bad meal we had at the Magellan. The base was way undercooked and the cheese was not Mozzarella [too much and too salty]. But hey, going to Malaysia for Pizza is like going to Italy for roti and curry!
The breakfast spread at the Pacific Sutera is one of the best I have seen! - And I have stayed at many hotels in the last 18 months having just completed a round-the-world trip which included the USA [east and west coast], Canada, Italy and Thailand. The only thing missing was real bacon.
For the golfers - you would be hard pressed finding a nicer course for the money - all 27 holes of it. Some of the holes are spectacular - running along the sea front. It even offers the option of night golf! The clubrooms and club restaurant are in keeping with the rest of the resort - excellent.
The free shuttle service is another added feature of the resort. It leaves every hour from 8am with the last one returning from the city at 9.20pm. Not too many resorts offer this service - especially in an air-conditioned 36 seater tourist coach.
All the bookings we made for various tourist activities went without a hitch - just further evidence of the efficiency of the staff at the Pacific Sutera.
After such a pleasant experience I can say for sure that we will definitely return one day.

  • Liked — Having a balcony and the fabulous views from it.
  • Disliked — The TV and the lack of any Australian TV content or news.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank swagman_perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#5 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,445 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,098 reviews
10.7 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#12 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
217 reviews
14.2 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)

Property: Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Address: 1 Sutera Harbour Blvd, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) 5*
Number of rooms: 956
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sutera Harbour Resort is Malaysia’s foremost premier integrated property. The resort encompasses the luxurious accommodation of The Pacific Sutera and The Magellan Sutera hotels, a 27-hole championship golf course, Sutera Harbour Marina & Country Club, two Mandara Spas and a host of dining and recreational facilities. Sutera Harbour Resort is also affiliated with 5 other eco-destinations in Sabah managed through Sutera Sanctuary Lodges including Kinabalu Park, Mesilau Nature Resort, Laban Rata, Poring Hot Spring & Nature Reserve and Manukan Island Resort. The resort also offers a luxury charter division, North Borneo Yachting and steam locomotive through North Borneo Railway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera And The Magellan Sutera)
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) Hotel
Sutera Harbour Hotel
Sutera Harbour Kota Kinabalu
Magellan Sutera
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing