We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty, worst service, worst managers, don't go”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Ranked #8 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dirty, worst service, worst managers, don't go”
Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

It's over 100 degrees outside and I'm paying hundreds of dollars to stay and play golf at their so-called resort. They limit golfers to 4 bottles of warm water a day, and 2 finger length bananas. I asked for some ice, to stay cool today, and they refused saying that the clubhouse restaurant will not give golfers ice, since they too buy ice from outside vendors. Im a patron of their restaurant 3 times a day, and accept that they charge 200% over the going rate of food and service compared to the rest of kota kinabalu, but they won't give me a few cups of ice?

The food.... O it tastes so bad that I want to make my own modifications, so I bring over a few limes and avocados to make it taste bearable, but the restaurant manager, yells that it is against policy. I've been a patron at this restaurant for a few days now, they never said anything when I brought my own papayas to eat, in fact, they gave me an extra plate so I can catch any juice drippings...

I ordered bibimbap, pretty hard to screw up, but the second time I ordered, it it has 50% less food on my plate. Moreover, it was lacking 2 main ingredients, like the meat and mushrooms ( pretty important for bibimbap)

I've been in the hospitality industry for over ten years now, and never in my life, seen such poor management. This resort needs not only facelift, but needs to terminate 99% of its pathetic staff to remain afloat.

Seriously, you walk into the lockers and the towel girl, is fast asleep snoring.

I ask for iced tea and the bartender grabs ice with her dirty , really soiled, hands. When I asked her to clean her hands before giving me ice, SHE WASHED HER HANDS IN THE ICE BIN and then continued to pour ice into my glass. Gross!!!!

In a nutshell, worst service, worst managers (Juneidy) it's such a joke here.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Group Director of Sales & Marketing at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Jenn L,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor and also via Twitter to which we tried to reach out to you with no avail. We are sorry to learn that your recent golf holiday experience at Sutera Harbour Resort was far from your expectations. At the same time, your frank review is much appreciated because it provides very important insights on the shortfalls that require improvements.

The concerns which you have brought up has been discussed with the respective departments. We do recognize the importance of attention to detail and communication, which could have been better executed during your time with us. Rest assured, all feedback are taken seriously and the areas you have raised were addressed with necessary steps to improve these issues, as well as our service shortfalls.

While we understand your overall experience has very much impacted your impression of us, we hope that you will grant us an opportunity to extend the high level of service and Sutera Harbour hospitality experience that we are truly capable of delivering on your next visit to Kota Kinabalu.

Yours sincerely,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,136
    1,024
    322
    124
    96
See reviews for
849
954
92
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (633)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

This is a review of the Magellan Sutera NOT the Pacific Sutera and why they are clumped together in tripadviser I don't know. True they are on the same property of 384 acres but otherwise are quite different.
The Magellan is easily the better (and more expensive) of the two hotels.
One is immediately impressed by the huge lobby on arrival (the largest lobby I think I have ever seen) and booking in was achieved in a fast and efficient manner.
Our room (a deluxe sea view room) was situated on level 1 just a stones throw from the South China Sea.
The room was large and very well appointed and comfortable. The bathroom was also large and contained a shower, separate hot tub and a combined toilet/bidet.
Our room as with the rest of the hotel was kept in an immaculately clean condition right through our 18 day stay and the staff were extremely polite and friendly.
There are at least a dozen or more restaurants/bars throughout the property catering for a large variation of food and atmosphere.
An internal bus will transfer you free of charge between the Magellan and other properties including a 27 hole golf course, undercover tennis courts, a bowling alley and of course the harbour itself where you can catch boats out to the islands or participate in a number of water sports. If you prefer to take things more quietly there are a number of swimming pools to relax in or sip a long cold drink by.
The wife and I thoroughly recommend the Magellan to anyone, including families, for a wonderful holday you will always remember.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Graham R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Group Director of Sales & Marketing at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Graham R,

Thank you for sharing your stay experience and detailed observation with us.

We are glad to learn that you liked The Magellan Resort - its ambience, guest room, amenities, facilities and the overall services. It is our constant endeavour to ensure that all our guests have a comfortable and memorable stay with us.

As you have observed, we have a variety of indoor and outdoor recreational activities as well as 15 F&B outlets spread out across our three properties which includes The Pacific Sutera Hotel and Sutera Harbour Marina Golf & Country Club whereby all in-house guests are given cross-signing privilege. This makes Sutera Harbour Resort the perfect destination for any type of vacation.

With that, thank you for strongly recommending us to other travelers and we are greatly looking forward to welcome you back again soon!

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Have just completed 6 nights at this resort and stayed at the Pacific Suteria hotel just wonderful in every respect the service bad facilities are really the best of the best

My partner and I had an incredible stay, can't wait to return, have a great Italian Restaurant food excellent service was the very best 5 star quality in every respect

Sean Boyle
Singapore

Room Tip: We stayed in an Executive suite over looking the sea with 2 balconies it was just lovely to watch th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goat2405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Group Director of Sales & Marketing at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Goat2045,

Thank you for sharing a review of your recent stay with us.

Glad you found The Pacific Hotel to be a great hotel and an ideal location too. Your compliments for our service, facilities and executive suite was well received as it is an affirmation for us and a great encouragement to our team.

As hotel guest who has cross-signing privileges, we are pleased that you had the opportunity to dine at our award-winning Ferdinand’s Italian Restaurant in The Magellan Sutera Hotel which is just a short distance walk from the Hotel. The restaurant was recently awarded Best 5 HAPA Flavours Of The West and Best 10 HAPA Restaurant of the year at the Hospitality Asia Platinum Awards 2013-2015.

We look forward to welcoming you and your partner to Sutera Harbour Resort on your next visit to Kota Kinabalu!

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We spent 4 nights at The Pacific Sutera. As other people mentioned, the pools and other facilities are shared. But we mostly stayed at the beach by the Pacific Sutera. The room is spacious and the shower is big too. We stayed in the golf-view room which is very nice. We tried 2 restaurants (Chinese and Mediterranean) which were OK. I would rather recommend to go out of the hotel and try the restaurant across the street, Harbour city. A few restaurants in that area.

The shuttle bus service is quite good andwell managed, and the staff are nice and helpful too.

However the beach is quite small and i guess it's man-made, since i saw rocks along side the shore. My father got badly hurt by the corals when swimming in the permitted area. One staff walked by and saw it and sent the safe guard to clean and take care of the wound. For the next few days, we never swam in the sea and saw quite a few people got injured.

So be super alert when swimming in that area.

one last downside is the room cleaning, it usually occurred around 2-3 pm. It would be nice if it would be done earlier.

But we will definitely choose to stay here again.

Room Tip: Be alert when swimming by the beach
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank mini_girlSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Group Director of Sales & Marketing at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear mini_girlSH,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us.

We are glad to know that you had a very good stay at The Pacific Sutera Hotel.
Glad you enjoyed the room, amenities and facilities too.

However, we would also like to take this opportunity to apologise for the shortfall in service and at the same time assure you that your feedback in regards to housekeeping service and safety around the beach area has been noted and our team is taking necessary action to ensure a seamless experience in the future.

Above all, we look forward to welcoming you home for a renewed experience the next time you visit Kota Kinabalu!

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

We've stayed at Magellan Sutera resort for 5 nights, but because we were having lots of activities during the day, we didn't have enough time to enjoy the hotel facilities. Wish we had couple more days just to relax by the pool of this amazing hotel.

We booked a standard garden view room, but in addition to the garden we also had a fantastic sea-view. Don't know if it comes standard, but we surely enjoyed it. Got the 3rd floor room 7354 in the new wing.

The room has huge king-size bed with a good matress and pillows, it was our best sleep on Borneo (stayed in 3 places). Bathroom fully equipped with everything, got a shower and a bathtub. Robes, slipper and ironing board with iron provided as well. Spacious balcony to enjoy the views.

The Five Sails restaurant serves great breakfast with wide choice for different tastes. Had a dinner here twice as well. It's a bit pricey - 100 rm plus taxes per person, but you get spoiled for choice. Everything is delicious.

The pool area is great too, they bring small refreshment drinks during the day. Didn't go to the sea, the beach is man-made and really tiny. But there is no misunderstanding there, as it is clearly seen on booking sites, so we knew what to expect.

The location is really great too. Not too close to the city, thus can permit big hotel ground, and not too far, in 3-5 minutes drive you are in the center. The hotel provides a free shuttle service.

The best part is the service though. The stuff is always attentive to all details. They would always park and bring back our rented car. Always smile and greet. The room was impeccably cleaned every day. And when I say cleaned, I mean really washed with cleaning products, not just made up. I always notice these things and when I see my cosmetics organized and ceramics and shower with no water stains and smelling fresh, it means facilities have been cleaned.

Complementary drinking water and chocolates are provided daily.

Loved every minute spent here!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Anastassia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Group Director of Sales & Marketing at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear anastassia_neto,

Thank you for the glowing review about your recent stay with us!

We share the same sentiment and wished that you could have stayed longer with us.
Our team works very hard to maintain our resort to provide a wonderful atmosphere and vacation for our guests. Your compliments is an affirmation for us and is greatly appreciated.

Although our beach area is limited, we do hope you enjoyed a cocktail or two while watching the spectacular sunset view which is a must-do when in Kota Kinabalu.

Having said that, we can’t wait to welcome you back again to your home-away-from-home, Sutera Harbour Resort!

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockburn, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We just spent 10 days in the Magellan Hotel in the Sutera Harbour Resort. The hotel is quite magnificent and the rooms are very well appointed, particularly the bathrooms. We got exactly what we asked for - ocean views, fourth floor and side-by side.
All of the staff, from concierge to restaurants are attentive and very friendly.
We had full access to the sister hotel (Pacific Sutera), Country/Yacht Club and golf course. There is also regular boat shuttles (RM50) to the nearby islands. A shuttle bus also operates every hour taking you to the town centre for three designated shopping centre drop-offs. It costs A$1 each and takes less than ten minutes to the first set down.
We ate breakfast every morning at the Al Fresco restaurant and also a lot of evening meals. The breakfast offered a great variety but was not as hot as it should be. The evening meals were reasonably priced and excellent.
The only down side for us was that, like most hotels in KK, the focus is on Korean, Chinese and Japanese tourists with very few Australian and European guests. Their attitude leaves a lot to be desired.
In summary this was a great combination of true resort style living with the hustle bustle of the shopping complexes, markets and restaurants close nearby.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nev78990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Group Director of Sales & Marketing at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Nev78990,

Thank you for leaving us a complimentary review of your recent stay with us.

We are glad to hear that you had enjoyed the experience and appreciate your compliments for our team which serves as a great encouragement to all of us at the Resort.

Your feedback regarding the food quality is much appreciated and rest assured, it has been shared with the respective Head of Department for further action as we continue to work toward ensuring a seamless overall experience for all our guests.

Looking forward to welcome you again the next time you visit Kota Kinabalu.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Loved our top floor room (7515) with a sea view & king bed, cleaned every morning & turned down with chocolates every night. Breakfast at Five Sails, lots of choice & plenty of room & great views. We ate most of our lunch & dinners at the resort, but found the Al Fresco the best value. most meals around rm35 to rm40 (u do the calc's) Mug of beer (285ml) resort price rm21 with lots of happy hours, Town price rm11. Bus service ran every hour into KK stopping at 3 different shopping center's cost rm3 each to get there but you can jump on the bus for free on the return trip incase you took a taxi in, Taxi cost rm15 to KK and rm30 to airport. We did the snorkel 2 islands thing, (rm160 each) not a bad day, due to the end of CNY there was a lot of rubbish around which was a shame (some people just don't care about spoiling the environment) not much coral left to see, small amounts of fish can be seen, lunch was average, got to see a few large lizards that came down close for a feed, it was a nice relaxing day & a can of tiger rm10, our guide was great, full of info, great conversationest. I will say that the staff and really all the Malaysian people we meet were so friendly and helpful, not one of them were in your face like other places we have been. We did have one stuff-up where we tried to book a massage beside the beach near the wave pool and ended up in a small suburb outside the resort but the end result was still great. Had a foot massage by a old blind man at the Gaya street Markets for rm20 for 30min that I would highly recommend. Checked out and ate at the night fish markets, (great fun & seafood) All in all we would definitely recommend the Sutera Harbour Resort as a place to relax and unwind and KK just to meet the friendly people and experience another culture and try different foods, ( the part I loved the most)

Room Tip: If you don't like long waits for anything go after CNY! late feb locals say june to july is qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonesy N Deb J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Group Director of Sales & Marketing at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear SteveandDebJones,

Thank you for posting a review about your recent stay with us.

Glad that you had a great 5 night stay at The Magellan Sutera Resort and we are so pleased to have been rated 5-stars on TripAdvisor.

Your detailed review will certainly be most useful to other travelers and we greatly appreciate you recommending us too.

Our associates work hard to ensure that the service they provide to each of our valued guests is warm and personalised, so your compliments is certainly an affirmation for them – they will be thrilled!

We are eagerly waiting to welcome you again on your next return to Kota Kinabalu!

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,415 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,067 reviews
10.7 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#12 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
184 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
663 reviews
14.2 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)

Property: Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Address: 1 Sutera Harbour Blvd, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) 5*
Number of rooms: 956
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sutera Harbour Resort is Malaysia’s foremost premier integrated property. The resort encompasses the luxurious accommodation of The Pacific Sutera and The Magellan Sutera hotels, a 27-hole championship golf course, Sutera Harbour Marina & Country Club, two Mandara Spas and a host of dining and recreational facilities. Sutera Harbour Resort is also affiliated with 5 other eco-destinations in Sabah managed through Sutera Sanctuary Lodges including Kinabalu Park, Mesilau Nature Resort, Laban Rata, Poring Hot Spring & Nature Reserve and Manukan Island Resort. The resort also offers a luxury charter division, North Borneo Yachting and steam locomotive through North Borneo Railway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera And The Magellan Sutera)
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) Hotel
Sutera Harbour Hotel
Sutera Harbour Kota Kinabalu
Magellan Sutera
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing