We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Resort in the City!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Ranked #7 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Msia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Excellent Resort in the City!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Decided on a very last minute to try out this beautiful resort for 1 night just before ending my last business trip to KK in 2013. Great resort. The room is very well maintained, spacious and comfortable. My room was facing the golf course which was a bonus for us.
We decided to go for buffet dinner in the resort that night instead of going back out into the city. Great choices of food for a very reasonable price. Value for money indeed.
Highly recommended resort.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MHRYU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Group Director of Sales & Marketing at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear MHRYU,

Thank you for a succinct review that touches all bases!

Greatly looking forward to welcome you back to Sutera Harbour Resort on your next trip to Kota Kinabalu.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,037
    942
    291
    112
    79
See reviews for
756
880
84
214
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (567)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
124 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

Pacific Sutera was a little paradise. The stay for three days at Pacific Sutera was definitely too short for us (a week there would have been boring, however). We were upgraded to a room with a lovely ocean view, although it was difficult to see the sunset in the room. The sound of waves was quite relaxing. My children loved the swimming pools. One problem was that there were many people who we thought were quite rude and did not abide by the pool regulations, for example, those who dive or wear shoes inside the pools. The guards almost never whistled. Since they do not check id or anything other than at lockers, I heard that there are people who do not stay but use the resort pools.

We liked the free wifi, which we believe they offered recently because it was often unstable. There was a long blackout in the middle of our stay and the resort was also affected. The room itself was dated and had somewhat interesting, maybe romantic (?), feature that the bath/toilette can be almost completely open from beds through wooden bifold windows, quite embarrassing often times. The room has a thin wall, we could hear when our neighbors get in the room and almost understand their conversation.

Also, maybe it is our package, but the breakfast buffet covered only two, so we paid for an extra older child at half the price (~ 31 RM), which we found somewhat expensive considering the quality of the food that was provided. The shuttle to the city is 3 RM (adult) and 1.5 RM (child). They do not check the ticket on returns. A little problem was that the shuttle was always late by more than 10 minutes and never kept the schedule.

While we were in the downtown, we visited Sapi island so we had a chance to compare the prices for the visit: from Jesselton ferry, it cost us 103 RM vs. it would have been 160 RM (2 adults and 2 children) with what SeaQuest at Sutera. If we were staying at Sutera exclusively, SeaQuest would have been certainly more convenient.

I give it four stars, only because its location makes it difficult to access the KK city. All in all, the exclusiveness may be what a resort is meant to be. I would definitely wish to go back as soon as I am back home.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fscholar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Group Director of Sales & Marketing at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear jeppa3579,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us.

It is always a pleasure to hear back from our valued guests. We are delighted that you have rated us as an “Excellent Resort”.

However, we would like to apologise for the shortcoming in service which you have encountered during your stay. Your notes regarding swimmers who did not abide by our swimming pool’s regulation and the unstable WiFi has been shared with the management team. We certainly appreciate your constructive comments as it is through feedback such as yours that we are able to monitor and improve the consistency of our services. Rest assured, we take all comments seriously and necessary steps have been taken to rectify the issues you have raised, and enhance guest service experience.

We are sorry that you felt our location was inconvenient during your time with us as our location is typically one of our strongest attributes. Please be informed that in addition to the City Shuttle Service, Taxi services is also made available at the Hotel.

That being said, we look forward to welcoming you back to Sutera Harbour Resort for a renewed experience.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
63 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

I spent 4 nights at the Pacific Sutera hotel. I had a non smoking room on the 10/F facing the golf course. The decoration is dated but still in good condition. Room is clean and adequate. Only draw back is it only provide 2 sets of bath towels. Usually, there are 4. But I guess this is environmental protection act.

The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. I come to KK for diving (even though not the season) but it's my first time in kk and I thought it would be just like Philippines or Indonesia where you just walk in and join the group. It turned out, I have to make booking or they don't have the dive guy and thing ready. With the help from concierge, I manage to go diving on Sapi island. Of course, I immediately book for the following day for another 3 dives. By the way, you can get beach towel at the jetty to go diving and return it afterwards. It's only 5 mins walk from pavific to the jetty. Super convenient.

The hotel have 3 pools and you can use any of the facilities, I prefer the pool at the Pacific, because it is next to the sea and in a more secluded area, also nice size.

Breakfast is good with different choices and I got free buffet dinners from the hotel, which was very nice also.

The hotel shuttle bus to city is always full and you have to buy ticket in advance to avoid disappointment and it runs every hour. I took taxi instead, only cost RM 15 one way.

If you are looking to exchange money, get it from the Wisma Merdaka mall. It has very good rate, also close to Gaya street where all the famous local restaurants are. It close at 7pm.

Went to Matanani island which takes 2hour by car + 1 hour speed boat. If you have not been to nice beaches or snorkling spot in Philippines or any where in SE Asia, it's worth trying. Otherwise, I think it's better not to torture yourself and save some money.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Uffizi930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Group Director of Sales & Marketing at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Uffizi930,

Thank you for posting a review on your recent stay with us at The Pacific Sutera Hotel.

Your positive comments regarding the hotel’s facilities, amenities, breakfast buffet spread and services are much appreciated.

To add on to your observation about our 3 free-form swimming pools, we also have an Olympic-sized swimming pool that invites in-house guests to indulge in a refreshing swim. It is located at Sutera Harbour Marina & Country Club which is a short distance walk located between The Pacific Sutera Hotel and The Magellan Sutera Resort.

In regards to Scuba Diving in Kota Kinabalu, you are right to say that advance reservation is required as our dive operator- Borneo Dreams is focused on delivering high quality, safe and fun diving experiences for our guests.

On that note, we are certainly looking forward to welcome you back to Sutera Harbour Resort soon.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed at the Pacific Sutera for 5 days over Christmas and had a brilliant time. We upgraded to club level which meant breakfast in the club Lounge(great as the hotel was very busy) and complimentary drinks and food from 5-7 every evening. The staff in the hotel (espec the Club lounge) were3 very attentive without being overbearing.The gym facilities were great and the Seaquest water sports club offers reasonable activities although we were disappointed with the snorkelling trip to the nearby islands as most of the coral was dead but it was still an enjoyable day out . The hotel was on a complex with 2 other hotels and you could use all the facilities. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Enquire about upgrading to club level or ask for a high room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SueB919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Group Director of Sales & Marketing at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear SueB919,

Thank you for sharing a succinct review about your recent stay with us.

Glad to hear that you had enjoyed the experience. Your compliments are a great motivation for our team as we continuously strive to deliver excellent hospitality.

We are delighted to have you recommend us to other travelers and definitely looking forward to welcome you back to Sutera Harbour Resort soon.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Stayed there for 4 nights during business trip. A great place hotel with a great golf course.Hotel were packed with Korean Golfer during my stay. They have a seaside pool and a beach. 200 meters from the hotel is the Seaquest Sports Club is where you can get all kind of watersports and also a place to catch a boat to the nearest island. A roundtrip to an island cost you RM 50 about euro 12.

Room Tip: Get the sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abdul Aziz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Group Director of Sales & Marketing at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Abdul Aziz K,

Thank you for the glowing review.

Greatly looking forward to welcome you back to Sutera Harbour Resort on your next trip to Kota Kinabalu, whether for business or leisure.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed at the Pacific Sutera Resort for 6 days. At first we got a room overlooking the gardens and golf course. The first room we were given had a strong cigarette smell, despite being a non-smoking room. Hotel staff were friendly and moved us to another room immediately. The next room still had a strange musky smell. It was also noisy from people talking in the corridor outside the rooms. These rooms were outdated, and definitely not 5 star. From the look of the rest of the resort, I was a little surprised at the rooms- I expected much better. Hence my lower rating.

Eventually, we paid for an upgrade to a sea view room which was in a quieter location, and better.

The hotel lobby, restaurants and bars are very nice, and the breakfast is fantastic! There is a very (*very*) small beach, and a large, clean pool. Food and drinks at the resort are expensive.

Im not sure if I would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay here, I recommend the sea view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dora085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Group Director of Sales & Marketing at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Dora085,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review about your recent stay at The Pacific Sutera Hotel.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the hotel lobby, restaurants, bars and especially our breakfast spread. As for the Hotel’s beach area, we would like to emphasize that it is a private and exclusive area surrounded by swaying trees and an amazing view of the ocean and its tropical islands in the distance. We hope you were able to enjoy the spectacular panaromic sunset view with a cocktail/mocktail in hand, which is a must do when in Kota Kinabalu. Otherwise, that calls for a return visit soon!

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the experience you encountered with our guest rooms that did not meet your expectations. It is feedback such as yours that gives us opportunities for improvement and rest assured, the matters have received the due attention.

Thank you for recommending our sea-view rooms and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you better on your next visit to Kota Kinabalu.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We spent 4 nights at the Pacific Sutera hotel. I suggest people to stay at a different hotel. The room, facility were good and they had friendly staff, but the food and drinks were a disappointment.
At all the restaurants, pool side bars, we ordered food and drinks but it took around 30 minutes for the drinks to arrive, and another hour for the food to arrive. The food and drinks are SO expensive, but low in quality. Even if you decide to stay at this hotel, it's worth the taxi ride to go to Shangri-La in Tanjun Aru. The food, drinks and service is so much better there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ksbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Group Director of Sales & Marketing at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear ksbu,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us.
We apologise for not exceeding your expectations with reference to the food and beverage service.

Your comments have been noted and extra measures are being taken to ensure improvement in service for our guests.

We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you for a more positive experience in the future.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
1.2 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,976 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
10.6 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#12 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)

Property: Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Address: 1 Sutera Harbour Blvd, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) 5*
Number of rooms: 956
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sutera Harbour Resort is Malaysia’s foremost premier integrated property. The resort encompasses the luxurious accommodation of The Pacific Sutera and The Magellan Sutera hotels, a 27-hole championship golf course, Sutera Harbour Marina & Country Club, two Mandara Spas and a host of dining and recreational facilities. Sutera Harbour Resort is also affiliated with 5 other eco-destinations in Sabah managed through Sutera Sanctuary Lodges including Kinabalu Park, Mesilau Nature Resort, Laban Rata, Poring Hot Spring & Nature Reserve and Manukan Island Resort. The resort also offers a luxury charter division, North Borneo Yachting and steam locomotive through North Borneo Railway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera And The Magellan Sutera)
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) Hotel
Sutera Harbour Hotel
Sutera Harbour Kota Kinabalu
Magellan Sutera
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing