We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never get disappointed at Sutera!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Ranked #8 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Finland
Level 6 Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Never get disappointed at Sutera!”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Having to stay in this resort 3 times and each time was an incredible and memorable experience! The overall Sutera Harbor is superb, there are 2 hotels, awesome golf course and a club with all kinds of activities like movies, bowling gym, restaurants, spa.... The rooms are spacious and clean, big pools with beautiful sunset, and breakfast is plentiful. Private beach could have been a little bit cleaner.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berendii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,143
    1,036
    322
    125
    96
See reviews for
855
963
93
248
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (636)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Southern Cross, WA
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We chose the Magellan Sutura for its 5 star rating and we were not disappointed. Four of us traveled, husband & I and two 17year olds. Had two sea view deluxe rooms on the 5th floor (top floor) and the view was magnificent. Compliments to the staff and chefs at the Five Sails restaurant it was fantastic to have such a choice and you catered for all nationalities. 5 stars go to the ALL staff. The people here our the most friendliest and respectful people we have ever met on our travels, in fact, all the locals are great too. Smiles everywhere you go! We visited in October, yes it rained, but did not stop us enjoying our holiday. Our teenagers had a great time in the gym, Jacuzzi and spa and we played badminton. The Sutura marina is lovely. We found the cost of meals at the restaurants around the resort the same price as home (Perth, Western Australia), however, venturing into Kota Kinabalu eating at the local spots is really inexpensive and excellent food! KK has many shopping malls for those who enjoy shopping. A must do trip is the North Borneo rail trip, a little expensive but so worth it. Highly recommend the Magellan,can't wait to return.

Room Tip: We found the sea view rooms best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steph O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed in Magellan for 4 nights. The experience was excellent. We booked a sea view room and was upgraded to Club room, which is spacious. Not to mention the nice swimming pool and beautiful sunset. It's nice to have a private jetty, just 10 mins from sapi island, manukan island etc. (15 mins from our room...lol) Tried 3 restaurants and 1 bar in resort. Though it's a bit more expensive than those in town(still it's reasonable), the food and view are just unbeatable.
Beside, we appreciate that there is no wifi in room. Just able to disconnect with busy live.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zoe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Having stayed twice previously we had booked into the Magellan with a sea view room however when we arrived we were told that there were none available. Needless to say we were disappointed however the staff immediately offered us an upgrade to a suite at the Pacific. We were a little hesitant however decided to give it a try. The suite, while not lavishly decorated, was huge and had the stunning ocean view we were after. While guests at the Pacific are allowed to use all of the facilities at the Magellan we found that we simply did not feel the need to. The staff at the Pacific were wonderful. We spent a lot of time at Waves as the staff there were terrific. The food was great and the breakfast selection at Boleh was good. We enjoyed our stay at the Pacific, we were pleasantly surprised at the level and quality of the service, the food and the grounds.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a 7 night holiday in Kota Kinabalu. We stayed at the Magella Sutera resort and the whole resort and harbour is absolutely beautiful. The hotel is amazingly large and has everything you need except for some kind of supermarket to buy everyday items that one may need over 7 days. The nearest supermarket type of place was in town but there is a shuttle bus from the hotel every hour or so, which made things easier.
The hotel has 3 lovely restaurants and a cafe. There is Al Frescos which does a variety of food including wood fired pizza, salads and very nice desserts. The cocktails are good too.
The buffet style restaurant ( I forget the name ) is nice as its caters for all tastes. This is also the same restaurant in which breakfast is served and this includes a very large choice of food and beverage for breakfast.
The other restaurant is Ferdinands Italian cuisine. We were treated like royalty here as it was our wedding anniversary. The restaurant is beautifully set, the table looked very pretty with napery that is high quality and very clean. The view outside is over the pool area which, at night, is very lovely.
The pool area is stunning and there is a small beach for those who like to go in the ocean.
The rooms are spacious and the housekeeping standards are excellent.
There are other hotels at Sutera Harbour but we were told that the Magellan was the best and after staying there I have no doubt this is true.
I would highly recommend this hotel. ALL the staff we encountered were very friendly, helpful and gracious.
We went in mid September and the weather was mostly warm and sunny with the odd shower.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Others in the KK area bill themselves as 'resorts' but this really is it. Several individually styled hotels sharing he same extensive grounds. This review is for the Magellan Sutera.
Stayed 2nights middle of October and, apart from the weather over which they have no control, can't really find anything to fault. Some rooms have better views than others ranging from prime sea view to partial pool view and there is some occasional aircraft noise but I'm really struggling to be critical. This hotel is an exemplar to others in which we have stayed. Although large (456 rooms and suites) and built on a grand scale the friendly, helpful and very professional staff make the experience all the more special and personal.
Internet connections via cable in the rooms, wi-fi in lobby and restaurant areas. Opulent bathrooms although the neighbours toilet ( vacuum) could be a problem.
Free shuttle bus running between Magellan, Pacific and Marina hotels. Handy for visiting the other restaurants and facilities when it is raining, and it's free!
Chargeable (3rm) bus into town runs every 20 mins.
'Destination' restaurants in resort are reviewed individually.
Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Be specific with a request for 'ground floor ', 'sea view', 'garden view'. M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KathIan999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Spent a night in Pacific, the room was fine, nothing much to brag about. Front office is friendly, fast check in, i went to the hotel at 11am and they offer me early check in, 2 thumbs up! Cafe Boleh Staff is nice too. Very friendly people. What really impress me was the swimming pool. I could say one of the best i have been in Sabah. Very child friendly, facing sunset, very relaxing. Buffet was pretty good too, wide spread of fusion food.

Room Tip: Get Sea View with High Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabah_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#5 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,441 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,090 reviews
10.7 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#12 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
215 reviews
14.2 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)

Property: Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Address: 1 Sutera Harbour Blvd, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) 5*
Number of rooms: 956
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sutera Harbour Resort is Malaysia’s foremost premier integrated property. The resort encompasses the luxurious accommodation of The Pacific Sutera and The Magellan Sutera hotels, a 27-hole championship golf course, Sutera Harbour Marina & Country Club, two Mandara Spas and a host of dining and recreational facilities. Sutera Harbour Resort is also affiliated with 5 other eco-destinations in Sabah managed through Sutera Sanctuary Lodges including Kinabalu Park, Mesilau Nature Resort, Laban Rata, Poring Hot Spring & Nature Reserve and Manukan Island Resort. The resort also offers a luxury charter division, North Borneo Yachting and steam locomotive through North Borneo Railway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera And The Magellan Sutera)
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) Hotel
Sutera Harbour Hotel
Sutera Harbour Kota Kinabalu
Magellan Sutera
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing