We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Ranked #8 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We arrived at the Magellan, the final hotel during our stay in Borneo, and despite arriving early, they were able to check us in to our room immediately! The welcome drink was appreciated and the receptionist genuinely seemed happy to have us there, explaining the facilities and plan of the place.

Without realising our porter waited to one side for us to finish our welcome drinks and then walked with us to the room, explaining how to work the lights and aircon! Much appreciated help.

The room was in the Marina wing and they made it clear that all guests were in this wing because the other one was being renovated. On arriving in our room, I would say it was clean with good facilities and a fair choice of TV channels in English, Chinese and Malay. However, I appreciated that they are in serious need of an update as it was very 90s in style. Our room had a garden view with balcony, an important feature for us and not many hotels in KK have them. They do also provide a nightly turndown service with chocolates left on the bed; a nice touch!

The hotel pools were well maintained, although they really need to add a few more sun loungers and parasols as the hotel was incredibly busy. The main clientele are undoubtedly Chinese and some Australian. We found breakfast in Five sails to be a good assortment, but it was just far too busy! They really need to find a way of reducing the number of people in one place as it felt like a fight to get food in the mornings...not in the least a relaxed affair. Perhaps they need one area for families and one for couples or adult / business groups as it was clear from the ambience that those without children felt a bit rushed and shoved around.

We did not eat inner at he hotel as we had found a great restaurant in town and preferred to eat out. However in the afternoon we did have lunch / snacks at Muffinz and we would definitely recommend the food there! The lobby bar was grea for pre dinner drunks in the evening and they do a happy hour on wine, beer and cocktails between 5 & 7pm. A good deal at 24rm for two glasses of wine.

All in all this is a resort hotel that caters mostly for families... The management perhaps needs to consider couples a little more. They do have a swimming pool allocated to adult swimmers with lanes, but this is not quite sufficient yet to make it 5* for adults only clientele.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r0amingtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,914)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,452 - 1,458 of 2,914 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is a well-appointed hotel with good amenities and good service and helpful staff. Since we were travelling out during our stay we used the hotel’s amenities sparingly. The hotel has a decent-sized swimming pool. The internet connection in our room did not function; however we were given free access to the business centre to check in online for our departing flight and to print our boarding passes

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 423manofkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

By cab, RM15 to city centre, great property for a short getaway, a resort in city concept. Pretty much a self contained hotel with bar, F&B outlets, swim pool, gym, kids club, harbourfront and crystal clear water, as well as easy access to nearby islands.

we stayed at the club room, there is daily evening canapé and drinks served, good Oz red wine. A live band in the evening at the hotel lobby lounge provide an excellent choice to chill.

Spa price is kinda pricy, but it has good ambience, didn't try it.

I would return to this property if I come back to KK again in the future! must try!!

Room Tip: Book the club room with harbour view, and nice garden and 1min walk to the harbour, swimming pool an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank des123ho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We were fortunate to have booked the Magellan Club rooms (travelling with friends). Full use of entire hotel complex (Pacific and Magellan). Pool was delightful, good temperature and spacious. All food consumed on property good standard. Service of staff excellent. Check all items on hotel room account. Rooms spacious and comfortable. With Club facilities, breakfast was excellent. The complimentary drinks and food served from 5:30 to 7pm each night were excellent - very obliging staff. Tour booking and travel was all handled by hotel staff so no worries there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhonda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We had stayed for 2 nights in Magellan club room. The resort environment is nice with good view. In addition, we were quite enjoy to use the facilities e.g. swimming pools.

As the location of resort is not at the centre, resort provides shuttle bus service. It is suggested to keep the time schedule of shuttle bus. Shuttle bus fee is RM3.00 per person. The time schedule was printed on the location map of resort.

Room Tip: seaview, upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kandyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We checked in early July at Pacific Sutera, Club Floor.

Room come with daily basket of fruits and chocolates! The lounge provides breakthtaking view early in the morning as well as in the evening. I could spend the entire morning and evening just to enjoy the view.

Pool was adequately shaded that I could sleep by the pool 9am in the morning and still feeling comfortable.

I did not go for the breakfast downstairs but used the lounge breakfast instead to enjoy the view. Though the spread is not as much as the one downstairs, I don't have much to complain. I get what I want.

All in all, it is a Hotel that we miss and are looking forward to come back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarineTan333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

When we started to choose a hotel we both said "no" about Sutera Harbour Resort — because it's in the city, tiny beach, near the airport etc. But the more we read about another hotels the more we liked Sutera and finally chose it and never regretted. We stayed at The Magellan for a week. Its pool area is small but you never feel it because of good landscape design. Half a time we spent at the Tunku Abdul Rahman Park and it was amazing. 10 minutes from Sutera Harbor and you are there. Snorkelling was perfect. I've never see so many clownfish before.
We've been in KK city couple of times - bus shuttle is very fast and convenient; tried durian fruit for the first time, ate fresh seafood at the fish market etc. Very interesting experience.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
3  Thank Shoorin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
1.3 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,231 reviews
10.7 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#9 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,440 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
336 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
748 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)

Address: 1 Sutera Harbour Blvd, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: $134 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) 5*
Number of rooms: 956
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sutera Harbour Resort is Malaysia’s foremost premier integrated property. The resort encompasses the luxurious accommodation of The Pacific Sutera and The Magellan Sutera hotels, a 27-hole championship golf course, Sutera Harbour Marina & Country Club, two Mandara Spas and a host of dining and recreational facilities. Sutera Harbour Resort is also affiliated with 5 other eco-destinations in Sabah managed through Sutera Sanctuary Lodges including Kinabalu Park, Mesilau Nature Resort, Laban Rata, Poring Hot Spring & Nature Reserve and Manukan Island Resort. The resort also offers a luxury charter division, North Borneo Yachting and steam locomotive through North Borneo Railway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera And The Magellan Sutera)
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) Hotel
Sutera Harbour Hotel
Sutera Harbour Kota Kinabalu
Magellan Sutera
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing