We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff made the stay 5 star!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Ranked #8 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Staff made the stay 5 star!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We checked into the hotel (Pacific Sutera Harbour, which is the more corporate of the two; Magellan is more resort-like) right after our descent from Mount Kinabalu, tired, aching and dirty. The check in process was so quick, barely took a minute. They set up an extra bed in the room as soon as we settled in which was great. All our requests were attended to quickly. We wanted to surprise a friend for his birthday at dinner and was helped by the wait-staff who were discreet and enthusiastic.

Rooms were spacious and clean, and shower was good too, although the following morning the water took a while to heat up (but, overall, this was a very minor issue). Beds were comfortable and pillows fluffy.

The breakfast spread in the morning was very much worth it too, with French pastries, local delicacies and wonderfully randomly, Japanese miso soup and freshly brewed coffee (from the beans, not instant!). Wait staff was great, again, so helpful, service with a smile!

On our second day there, we decided to go snorkelling, which was easily arranged by the hotel and this process was fast and easy too. The departure dock was just a short walk from the pool, and was handled efficiently and was reasonably priced. We paid RM80/pp (approx. USD26) for a one island snorkelling trip which includes boat transfer and snorkelling gear.

Another thing to note is that the hotel operates a free shuttle service from the hotel to the city free of charge (even though we did not utilise this, as the timings kept clashing with all the good movies on the telly).

Checking out was a breeze and all in all, would definitely recommend the Pacific/Magellan Sutera Harbour for anyone who wishes to stay comfortably and be pampered during their stay at Sabah!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elliealmeida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Social Media Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Elliealmeida,

Thank you for sharing this glowing review of your recent stay at The Pacific Sutera Hotel with us.

Every day, our staff welcomes our valued guests to their residence in Kota Kinabalu, hoping to create lasting memories that have been personalised especially for them. It is certainly a delight for the team to hear of your compliments that they made your stay a '5 star' experience.

It is also a pleasure to know that you enjoyed the spaciousness and comfort of our rooms. Our team at Housekeeping works hard to ensure that they remain in pristine condition and your positive comments would put a smile on their face.

We are glad you had the opportunity to do an island snorkeling trip during your time with us. If you missed the opportunity to visit Kota Kinabalu City Centre, that calls for a return visit soon!

On that note, we would like to clarify that our City Shuttle service from Sutera Harbour Resort to Kota Kinabalu City Centre is chargeable at RM3.00 (Adult), RM1.50 (Children 6-12 years) and complimentary for children below 6 years of age. This service requires advance booking and tickets are available at The Concierge. The return trip back to the Resort is based on seat availability.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sutera Harbour Resort where we cover the best of Sabah. Thank you for recommending us to other travelers!

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,071
    972
    297
    115
    84
See reviews for
778
905
85
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (591)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I loved d property where this resort is placed, as all d tours to beaches start from here only...so if u staying smwhr else u have to come dis far....one more good thing is its very near to airport n as city is pretty small ever whr u can reach soon by a taxi.

My room was suite n I js loved it to d core.
Only problem no options in breakfast as expected.

Room Tip: Suite and superior rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KanchanLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Social Media Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear KanchanLad,

Thank you for your review and for labeling Sutera Harbour Resort as a 'perfect place for perfect vacation'!

As you have observed, the location of our property is a mere 5 minutes to the city centre of Kota Kinabalu and 10 minutes from Kota Kinabalu International Airport making it a convenient place to stay.

Your feedback regarding breakfast is appreciated and will be shared with our culinary team so that we can work towards improving our services.

On that note, we look forward to welcoming you back to Sutera Harbour Resort where we cover the best of Sabah.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ebina, Japan
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

I've been to several 5-star hotels and The Pacific Sutera has by far has the most comfortable bed and pillows (cuddly soft) I've ever slept in. The room temperature is perfect, not too cold and not too warm, I was able to sleep comfortably whole night and I wished I had stayed here longer and live and dine more like a queen.

The staff are all very nice and warm, they will be glad to assist you in every need. Breakfast and lunch served were delectable and there's so many to choose from (see my photos).

They have a lovely bar and restaurant (The Jugs Sports Bar) at the basement where you can get your complimentary welcome drinks. This bar is perfect for sports fan to catch up on live telecast of football or basketball. I love their bar soo much. Wifi is great as well in every rooms!

I would give a 5-star if they will fix their old lobby ceiling. But everything is perfect, cozy, with perfect location in the heart of Kota Kinabalu.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ada W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Social Media Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear adaphobic,

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a kind review about your recent stay at The Pacific Sutera Hotel. We share the same sentiment and wished you could have stayed longer with us.

It is good to know that you had received warm hospitable service from our staff, labeled JUGs Sports Bar as a 'fantastic bar', and also enjoyed our comfortable bed and pillows. Your compliments are a great source of motivation for all of us.

We look forward to your next visit and would like to thank you for sharing your photos to other travelers.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We had requested for non-smoking and connecting room as we were travelling with 4 children.
We were first assigned adjoining rooms on a smoking level and after complaining we were given adjoining rooms on a non-smoking level. It was on the 3rd and last night that we were given a non-smoking, connecting room. Even so, one of the rooms had a very smell of cigarette smoke. All in, we moved 3 times over 4 days. But I must commend the housekeeping staff who were very helpful in converting 2 single beds into a king-sized bed and arranging a spare bed so our 4 children can sleep comfortably.

The City Shuttle is chargeable at RM3 per adult and RM1.50 for children between 6 and 12. Children below 6 do not need to pay but they are not guaranteed a seat. This must be booked beforehand and no standing is allowed. This becomes difficult on the return trip from the city when there are more guests than available seats. Guests were turned away once the bus is full and if it is the last service at 9.20pm they would have to make their own way back to the hotel. Perhaps the driver could ask parents to sit the young children on their laps (since they did not pay for their ticket) to allow more seats for the adults.

Room Tip: higher floors have a better view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenwei654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Social Media Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear kenwei654,

Thank you for sharing a review with us here on TripAdvisor.

Our team of housekeeping staff would be most happy to hear of your poisitive comments in regards to their service as they endeavour to provide a comfortable and memorable stay for all guests.

We apologize for the shortcomings that you had encountered during your stay with us. Rest assured, we have taken your comments seriously and are looked into by the concerned departments.

As our valued guest, we greatly appreciate your feedback which has helped us better understand our guests’ satisfactions and disappointments. We hope that you will give us an opportunity to serve you better on your next trip to Kota Kinabalu.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, Shanghai, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

The best view and service,we stayed in a pacific golf view room. I loved when i woke up in the morning to see the fascinating sunrise view. we loved to have a drink in the room's balcony,felt so relaxed. And the nice swimming pool in the hotel with a wonderful water bar.
All of that are perfect , nice person nice place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Social Media Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Olivia Z,

Thank you for sharing your staying experience at The Pacific Sutera Hotel with us.

Your compliments regarding our guestrooms, staff and facilities delights us very much. Glad you enjoyed the fascinating sunrise view from the room. Another one of the must-do in Sabah is to watch the sunset by the beach with a cocktail in hand. We hope you had the chance to enjoy the panaromic view while you were with us - if not, that calls for a return visit soon!

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarawak
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stay there for 4D3N and cant have enough of it. The place, the view, the people...the service...everything is just IMPECCABLE! Although KK may not be a shopping heaven, but it is undeniable that KK or to be precise Sutera Harbour Resort is the place whereby u will be "heavenly" pamper in everything. U have it all here. The beach by itself may be small, but guess what the resort has around 4 or 5 swimming pools with a different designs and one even came with a slide for the children.

Ooooh..first thing first...this resort comprise of 4 different hotels which each one of it comes with a different theme

1) Pacific Sutera - more to the biz and elegant type for the pro... and biz man
2) Marina Sutera - for golf lovers and those who are more into the water activities
3) Sutera Sanctuary (situated at this Manukan Island) - more to the outdoor @ hiking, jungle trekking...etc
4) Magellan Sutera - more to the resort @ relaxing.

U have everything here! We just leave the hotel to the town for a while and get back in less than 3 hours (shuttle service is provided)..as we just loveeeeee this place! U can try all sort of activities here...from ship cruise, snorkeling, scuba, train cruise......they have it! Oh did I mentioned they even have their own billiard room, kids activities rooms, their own marina sutera's theater.

Well..take time to explore it and we will certainly be back again for more. To Ms Kueh Lian See..thanks for recommending us to the Family Suite and u are indeed a gem to the resort.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TerminatorSarawak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Social Media Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear TerminatorSarawak,

Thank you for choosing Sutera Harbour Resort and for taking the time to share your experience with your fellow travellers.

Your glowing review is succinct and accurately reflects us - a "home-away-from-home". It is such a motivation for all of us to continue working hard at what we do to ensure that all our guests have a memorable and 'impeccable' staying experience with us.

Your wonderful praise with Ms. Kueh Lian See has certainly brought her joy and she would also like to extend her gratitude to you.

On that note, we look forward to welcoming you back to Sutera Harbour Resort where we cover the best of Sabah. Have an exceptional day ahead.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We recently stayed in a Pacific club seaview room, upon arriving at the front counter we were taken up to the club lounge to check in, felt very special with that extra attention. We were greeted with a lovely refreshing drink. Escorted to our room, was absolutely impressed, the room was just perfect, so comfortable. The grounds are wonderful and a great swimming pool (you can also visit the facities at the Megellan). The Pacific Sutera has a swim up bar at the pool, the happy hour is just that, such an enjoyable atmosphere, staff were fantastic as well as the cocktails.
There was only a couple of negatives, all with the club facities:
We stayed at 4 different hotels all club rooms while in Malaysia. We found the Pacific Sutera club lounge quite a sterile place, no atmosphere. Also facilites not that of a 5star hotel.
Our first visit they had run out of Gin, so we had vodka and lemonade (sprite) only to find after a couple of drinks they had no lemonade.
On a morning visit I ordered Egg in Toast of the menu and my husband ordered a meal. He received his meal and after waiting for about 10 minutes I asked where my meal was, it appeared there was a problem because there was no tomato's (my breakfast was an egg in toast, tomato's, beef bacon, and sausages), I was only served the egg in toast and a sausage, not quite the breakfast I had ordered.
Another time at evening canapes there were no crackers left for the cheese, so I requested crackers, 3 single crackers were brought out.
Also another time there was no coke left to drink, so this time I said that there must be some on the hotel premises somewhere, maybe a phone call downstairs to see if some could be brought up to the club lounge, I mentioned that as my minibar had not been topped up during our stay, I could not supply my own Coke, even though this should definately be necessary when you are in the club lounge.

Room Tip: The Club Seaview Room is absolutely perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CazWaz63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Social Media Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear CazWaz63,

Thank you for sharing a review about your recent stay at The Pacific Sutera Hotel.

We are heartened to hear that you enjoyed the Pacific Club seaview room, the check in process, hotel offerings and also the service received from our team of staff who are dedicated to provide a memorable staying experience at the Hotel.

We would like to personally apologise for your experience with the Pacific Club facilities. Rest assured that the issue will be shared with the concerned departments to ensure that we continue to offer an unparalleled level of service to our guests.

Your feedback is much appreciated and we will improve on the operation. On that note, we look forward to welcoming you back to Sutera Harbour Resort in the near future for a renewed experience.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
1.2 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,001 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
10.7 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#14 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)

Property: Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Address: 1 Sutera Harbour Blvd, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) 5*
Number of rooms: 956
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sutera Harbour Resort is Malaysia’s foremost premier integrated property. The resort encompasses the luxurious accommodation of The Pacific Sutera and The Magellan Sutera hotels, a 27-hole championship golf course, Sutera Harbour Marina & Country Club, two Mandara Spas and a host of dining and recreational facilities. Sutera Harbour Resort is also affiliated with 5 other eco-destinations in Sabah managed through Sutera Sanctuary Lodges including Kinabalu Park, Mesilau Nature Resort, Laban Rata, Poring Hot Spring & Nature Reserve and Manukan Island Resort. The resort also offers a luxury charter division, North Borneo Yachting and steam locomotive through North Borneo Railway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera And The Magellan Sutera)
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) Hotel
Sutera Harbour Hotel
Sutera Harbour Kota Kinabalu
Magellan Sutera
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing