We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Ranked #7 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stayed at Pacific Sutera.
Hotel is reasonably well maintained.
Room is not old, and clean.
Service is great, very prompt room service but only when you get on the line.
Location is average but shuttle service is provided for a very small fee.
Food is good, and enough facilities to keep one occupied for two days.
Concierge service is friendly and nice.
Overall good experience.

Room Tip: was told by reception that a better family hotel would be the megallen sutera
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mightyleftfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Social Media Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear mightyleftfoot,

Thank you for sharing your review about your recent stay at The Pacific Sutera Hotel.

It is wonderful to know that you found your staying experience to be a good experience. Our service team would be most delighted to hear of your compliments.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next return!

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,044
    944
    293
    113
    80
See reviews for
758
886
85
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (571)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
224 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

We recently stayed for 6 nights at the Pacific Sutera. Our experience was mostly very good. The rooms are large and clean. Whilst service can be inconsistent, the staff are generally friendly and helpful. The pool area is nice and across the Sutera Harbour Resort there are plenty of restaurants and amenities. We did spot the General Manager wandering around the grounds inspecting the property and I do believe the intention here is to provide good quality of service and a welcoming stay.

However, here are the disappointments:

1. A bunch of Spice Girl wannabees moved in to the room next door part way through our stay and on their first evening were partying in their room until the early hours. We called the front desk and then had a security guard banging on OUR door asking what the problem was. Seriously, you could hear the noise from their room right at the other end of the corridor. He then knocked on their door but then it was obvious were the complaint came from. The "ladies" then immediately decided to bang on our wall and shout even louder.......the security guard must have heard this but did nothing. We then heard another guest knock on their door and ask them to quiet down, so it wasn't just us they were bothering. Regardless, they continued to be noisy. We then asked to move rooms. So at 2am were moved to another room where we had a sleepless night as we were so angry. How come we were being penalized for the behaviour of rude and noisy guests. The new room was not to our liking (on the noisy atrium) so we were moved to a suite on the top floor for our final night. It was nice but hardly any compensation for moving rooms twice and having a sleepless night.
2. Similar to the above, staff seem unwilling to deal with rude behaviour around the pool area. Kids ( and adults) bombing into the pool, splashing, screaming, taking giant inflatables into the pool despite the signs saying this wasn't allowed. I know I sound like a killjoy but at times it was ridiculous, our stuff by our sun lounger regularly got soaked and trying to relax was difficult.
3. No wi-fi in rooms is not acceptable in a 5 star hotel.
4. The unfriendly lady in the business centre charging me 60centsRM for printing my boarding pass. How mean is that!!!!
5. Finally, there is a nice coffee shop on resort. I would have liked to have got my breakfast there but it didn't open until 11am forcing us to visit one of the expensive restaurants for breakfast.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the atrium.......you'll hear every door slamming on 12 floors. The tile floors a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blindlemonpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Social Media Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear blindlemonpie,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at The Pacific Sutera Hotel.

We are delighted that your experience at the Hotel were mostly very good and found our staff friendly and helpful. Our people are our most important asset and your favourable comments have served to confirm that belief.

Your comment in regards to noisy guest and disturbance at the swimming pool makes perfect sense and we can assure you of improvement in this area. As for WiFi connection in the rooms, we are currently in progress of installing it and this should be finalized by end of June.

Once again, we would like to apologize for the areas that fell short of your expectations. Rest assured, all feedback are taken seriously as opportunities to review and improve ourselves. With that, we look forward to welcome you again for a renewed experience at The Pacific Sutera Hotel.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed in the Magellan for 10 Nights in May in the Club rooms.
Excellent spacious room with front sea view and sunset directly in front of our window - stunning.
The Club lounge staff were superb and very professional, always cheerful and a credit to the Hotel.
Great location for exploring Borneo and the concierge were very friendly and helpful.
Very clean Hotel and smart staff.
Would definitely return to this hotel if we ever return to Kota Kinabalu.

Room Tip: Chose a club room and make use of the lounge facility's- worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Shangri La Hotels

Helpful?
Thank MickHatswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear MickHatswell,

Thank you for sharing your review about your recent stay at The Magellan Sutera Resort with us.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the spacious room and its stunning view. That beautiful panaromic view is yours to behold.

It was certainly a good choice to be a Magellan Club guest as guests enjoy personalized check-in services, prime sea-view suites and exclusive dining for breakfast and cocktails at the Magellan Club Lounge - which we are sure you enjoyed during your time with us.

Your positive comments are a great source of motivation for all of us and our team of staff would be most happy to hear of it as they endeavour to provide a comfortable and memorable stay for each of our valued guests.

On that note, we look forward to welcoming you back to Sutera Harbour Resort.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johore Bahru, Johor, Malaysia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

stayed at Pacific Sutera for 4 days and I just love this hotel as the service was good and the food was really nice and well varied. and the location is good as it situated near by the KK international airport and by the harbor. just love XD

Room Tip: higher floors have magnificent sea-view or golf course-view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SyafinazSalvatore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Social Media Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear SyafinazSalvatore,

Thank you for sharing your review about your recent stay at The Pacific Sutera Hotel with us.

Your compliments are a great source of motivation for all of us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sutera Harbour Resort.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

First impression - WOW! And it doesn't fail to impress on every level! The service, the rooms, the food and the view! All unbelievably good! We were lucky enough (thanks to our good friend AJ at Intercontinental in KL) to be upgraded to a club room but think the main difference (other than club benefits) was that our room was slightly larger ... Albeit without an outdoor balcony. On arrival into the lobby, which was the biggest and certainly the mist beautiful lobby I've ever seen to the harbor and sea views this place was virtually faultless. Breakfast at Five Sails, brunch at Al Fresco's and afternoon tea at Muffinz certainly rated highly but Ferdinands is a MUST do for anyone staying here. Another place we will certainly be returning to!

Room Tip: Must dine at Ferdinands!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bron4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Social Media Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear bron4,

Thank you for a glowing review about your recent staying experience at The Magellan Sutera Resort.

As a Magellan Club guest, guests enjoys personalised check-in services, prime sea-view suites and exclusive dining for breakfast and cocktails at the Magellan Club Lounge - which we are sure you enjoyed during your stay with us.

It is such a pleasure to know that you have dined at almost all of our restaurants in The Magellan Sutera Resort. Your compliments will definitely be shared with our culinary team. They would be delighted to hear of it!

Perhaps, on your next visit, you may want to try the F&B outlets at The Pacific Sutera Hotel and the Sutera Harbour Golf Marina & Country Club which are all located within Sutera Harbour Resort. All hotel guests are entitled to cross-signing privileges resort-wide.

We look forward to welcoming you home to your residence in Kota Kinabalu the next time you visit Sabah - land below the wind.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We recently were fortunate to experience a wonderful relaxing holiday at the Magellan Sutera Resort. Our upgrade to the Magellan Club added to our experience as it resulted in a huge well designed luxurious room and access to the Club's 'cocktail' facilities each evening. The whole Magellan resort and the accompanying Pacific Sutera and Country Club was beautifully designed, landscaped and managed by friendly, efficient staff. We were impressed with the swimming pool facilities at the Magellan, and enjoyed overlooking the pool during our relaxed daily breakfast buffet. The resort staff were happy to assist with our tours of the Kinabulu National Park and snorkeling off the coast, We loved the close proximity of the shopping at Kota Kinabulu, only a A$5.00 taxi ride away. It was a holiday to remember, and we plan to return at the next opportunity.

Room Tip: Plan to upgrade to the Magellan Club, and you will be happily surprised with the extra privileges yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aussie4854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Social Media Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear aussie4854,

Thank you for sharing your review about your recent stay at The Magellan Sutera Resort with us.

Your positive comments about the hotel, rooms, staff, and facilities brings joy to us. Our staff will be most happy to hear of your compliments. We are pleased that you found the resort an exceptional holiday venue during your stay with us.

As you have highlighted, an upgrade to be a Magellan Club guest is definitely worth it as guests enjoys personalised check-in services, prime sea-view suites and exclusive dining for breakfast and cocktails at the Magellan Club Lounge - which we are sure you enjoyed during your time with us.

On that note, we look forward to welcoming you back to Sutera Harbour Resort!

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Was there with a friend and wish to review on the breakfast served: We had a western breakfast facing the marina, the views were great and the outdoor setting plus temperature was good. The price is ok for hotel standards, we had full western, ham eggs sausages etc.

Recommended for the view

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the sea/marina not golf course
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AshtonLuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Social Media Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear AshtonLuke,

Thank you for sharing your review about your dining experience with us.

It sounds like you had dined in Cafe Boleh restaurant at The Pacific Sutera Hotel. We always like to hear from our guests and appreciate you sharing your comments regarding the breakfast served at the restaurant - glad you found it a delight too! It will definitely be shared with our Chef.

As you have highlighted, the views of our Marina are great even more so at sunset. These beautiful panoramic views are yours to behold.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to enjoy exceptional culinary delights in elegant surroundings that Sutera Harbour Resort has to offer in its 15 F&B outlets.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
1.2 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
10.6 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#12 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)

Property: Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Address: 1 Sutera Harbour Blvd, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) 5*
Number of rooms: 956
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sutera Harbour Resort is Malaysia’s foremost premier integrated property. The resort encompasses the luxurious accommodation of The Pacific Sutera and The Magellan Sutera hotels, a 27-hole championship golf course, Sutera Harbour Marina & Country Club, two Mandara Spas and a host of dining and recreational facilities. Sutera Harbour Resort is also affiliated with 5 other eco-destinations in Sabah managed through Sutera Sanctuary Lodges including Kinabalu Park, Mesilau Nature Resort, Laban Rata, Poring Hot Spring & Nature Reserve and Manukan Island Resort. The resort also offers a luxury charter division, North Borneo Yachting and steam locomotive through North Borneo Railway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera And The Magellan Sutera)
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) Hotel
Sutera Harbour Hotel
Sutera Harbour Kota Kinabalu
Magellan Sutera
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing