We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Ranked #8 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Retreat!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed in an ocean view room on the top floor, the view is nice, room is a bit aged but still comfortable. I love the pool so much as it is very large. Watching the sunset at Alfresco was the highlight of the trip.

Room Tip: Ocean View room is more quiet and open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tangokwok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Social Media Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Tangokwok,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to hear that you had a 'Perfect Retreat' at Sutera Harbour Resort. It is certainly right to say that a must-do here is to watch Kota Kinabalu's amazing sunset view. Glad you made it the highlight of your trip.

We look forward in welcoming you back again to Sutera Harbour Resort.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,144
    1,036
    322
    125
    96
See reviews for
855
963
94
248
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (636)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Conveniently located for the airport, only a 5 min drive. Warm welcome and friendly staff, they were all very helpful. Reasonably priced considering its star rating. Excellent facilities including a nice pool with a swim up poolside bar (brilliant happy hour from 1 to 5 a cocktails less than £3!) and a good choice of cafes and restaurant (including High Tea in the lobby). Our room was fab and even though we hadn't paid extra for a sea view, the view of the golf course was still lovely. The room was very clean and modern and plenty of toiletries were provided! Overall, it's fantastic value for money and we would give it 5 out 5!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Social Media Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Katie R,

Thank you for choosing us as your residence in Kota Kinabalu and for taking the time to write this review.

Your review is succinct and we are heartened to know that your recent stay has left us an 'Excellent' in your eyes. It is such a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed the guestroom, view, restaurants and facilities around the The Pacific Sutera Hotel.

Our team of service staff will be happy to hear of your compliments and will definitely be looking forward in welcoming you back again to Sutera Harbour Resort.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

stayed at the Magellan for a week in April 2013 with my wife and 8 year old daughter and had a great time.

We had an ocean view room, very spacious, with a balcony ovelooking the fantastic pool area and restaurant.

To my way of thinking there were very few (and mostly minor) problems with the hotel the main one being the vastness of the place, our room was approximately 200 metres from the front door and luckily we were on the same level as reception. I would suggest when booking this hotel to request a room as close as possible to reception, I can imagine people with mobility problems would have some difficulties.

Even though it is situated slightly out of the way the bus service into KK was reliable and efficient and cheap. The most I paid for a taxi to or from the hotel was RM15 or approximately A$5.

The pool area is fantastic with a large, warm, freeform pool overlooked by the main restaurant, a kids pool off to one side and a lap pool and water slides/infinity pool overlooking the marina shared with a neighbouring hotel. We spent a lot of time in the pool, my daughter loved it.

The kids club was a treat too with lots of activities and friendly staff, great fun for kids and a good widea for parents to have a few hours off.

The breakfasts were fantastic with lots of choices both Asian and western and the restaurant staff welcomed me each morning by name, a nice touch.

If I had to say something negative about my stay it is that the bar is relatively expensive but it is a 4 star hotel and you have to expect that. For example a glass of beer cost RM18, about A$6 but if you drink during happy hour (4pm - 7pm) you get 2 for 1. Cocktails were reasonably priced at RM24 or A$8, again 2 for 1 during happy hour... if you want peanuts though you have to pay for them!

Overall a very pleasant stay, I would definitely recommend this hotel and would like to visit again.

Room Tip: this is a very large and spraeling hotel, try to get a room near reception and on the same level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stretch1767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Social Media Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Stretch1767,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at The Magellan Sutera Resort with us.

It's wonderful to know that you think of us as a 'great hotel'. Your compliments regarding our guestrooms, swimming pool area, easy access of transportation to city centre, and restaurant delight us very much. Our team of staff will be most pleased to know that you appreciated their gesture in recognizing guests by their names as they endeavors in making each of our guests’ stay as comfortable and memorable as possible.

We are glad that you found our Little Magellan located at Muffinz Deli Cafe, a real treat as one of our priorities is making sure that our young guests truly enjoys themselves during their stay with us.

Being a 5-star resort with 456 suites, our grand entrance is a majestic longhouse style lobby; an arcitectural tribute to the Rungus natives of Sabah. Although some of the rooms are located further away from the reception, guests can request in advance for rooms closer to the reception. As for the bar's beverage pricing at Sutera Harbour Resort, they are fairly priced with respect to the resort classification.

Once again thank you for recommending Sutera Harbour Resort to other travelers. We look forward to welcoming you again, when you are next in Kota Kinabalu.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forrestfield
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Have just spent an extremely relaxing week at the Magellan. The staff were brilliant, restaurants great, never had to leave the place if you just went for R&R. Only downside although rooms are very clean they are definitely due for a refurbishment. Apart from that, a great time was had by my husband and myself.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gorjac52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Social Media Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Gorjac52,

Thank you for sharing a review of your recent stay at The Magellan Sutera Resort.
Our team takes great pride in the service and experience provided to our guests. As such it is very heartwarming and great pleasure to hear that your stay was made more memorable by their personalized touches.

We are most pleased that you and your husband had a great time and that our restaurants are great in your eyes. As a staying guest of Sutera Harbour Resort, you are privileged with cross-signing facilities whereby you will be able to enjoy dining experiences in all restaurants in The Magellan Sutera Resort, The Pacific Sutera Hotel as well as Sutera Harbour Marina & Country Club. Guest privilege also includes usage of all recreational facilities within Sutera Harbour Resort.

We are happy to inform you that refurbishments plans for the rooms are already in progress which is being carried out in stages and hope that on your next trip to Sutera Harbour Resort, you will be enjoying the comfort of our newly refurbished rooms.

On that note, we look forward to your next visit to Sutera Harbour Resort.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldton, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

on arrival we were greeted by very friendly staff and made feel very welcome, staff at reception were extremely helpful and helped us organise tours that we wanted to do, some were not on their list but they still sorted it for us. Our room (deluxe sea view room) was overlooking the water, there was a tree slightly blocking our view but we still could see. Our room was very spacious, the beds were very hard, having a bad back didn't help, the carpets were extremely stained and dirty looking, i would be embarrassed to have put anyone in there, but apart from that the room was good.
If you had a laptop there was internet access in your room at no charge, as we had ipads we could get wifi down stairs. The pool was great, the restaurants were very nice and a great choice of food. Staff at all the restaurants were extremely friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast was very plentiful, even for a fussy eater you could get something there to eat, if someone says that there is nothing to eat then they seriously have something wrong with them. We would very easily stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellady007_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Social Media Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear travellady007_11,

Thank you for sharing your review on your recent stay with us.

Our team of staff will be most pleased upon hearing of your compliments as being our ambassadors; they exemplify the service and culture of Sutera Harbour Resort. We are thrilled to know that you had experienced this customized service during your stay with us.

It is such a pleasure to hear that you had dined at our restaurants, your comments are a testament to the products and service that both our culinary and service teams work hard to achieve. It makes us glad to know that you had also enjoyed the facilities our hotel.

We sincerely regret any shortcomings that you had experienced in regards to our guest rooms. However, we are happy to inform you that refurbishments plans for the rooms are already in progress which is being carried out in stages. We hope that on your next trip to Sutera Harbour Resort, you will be enjoying the comfort of our newly refurbished rooms.

We look forward to our next opportunity of welcoming you back to Sutera Harbour Resort.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

From a cost to value perspective this is exceptional value.
I stayed her on two different occasions for a total of 5 days.
It is a great looking hotel with an amazing lobby, with a lovely water feature inside the cocktail bar,
and reasonably priced shop to stock your own mini bar.

We stayed here for its easy access to the airport and Gaya Island from the marina. We were pleasantly surprised with the fantastic pools on offer, the very friendly and polite staff, and excellent happy hours not only at the pools but neighbouring sites.

The first night we checked in at 1.30am and it was smooth and easy. Checkouts were no problem, and plenty of staff to assist.
The second check in experience was still good, however I did discover a lolly wrapper near the arm chair (that wasn't mine), and what looked to be a stain on the mattress protector glowing through the clean sheets. Neither points are a reason to not stay here again.

On check in you may receive some vouchers for Jugs sports bar. We didn't receive this the first time we checked in. Although a nice gesture the beer is served in the beer equivalent of a shot glass, hardly worth your effort. If your staying at the Pacific Sutera, Jugs is likely not your style of venue, and for the caliber of hotel I wouldn't don't think it adds value... my experience it was too noisy, too smokey, and something you would find in the KK city. Fortunately you don't hear the noise from your room or inside the hotel.

Our room was purchased several months in advance and came with a nice discount of approximately 20% reducing the price to AUD $95. The golf room was cheaper and i would be very happy to get a deluxe golf view room again. I found it really interesting watching the golfers and aeroplanes from this view. The sea view is nice too if your happy to pay a bit more.

The hotel also offers very reasonable transfers into KK on the bus for 3 ringet return which will take approximately 20 minutes. Taxi one way will coast 15 ringet.

Would i go back again, without a doubt!

Room Tip: Ask about the Pacific club. We found out about this on our last day, and it provides breakfast, afte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taqueeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Social Media Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear taqueeney,
Thank you for taking the time to share a review about your recent stay with us at The Pacific Sutera Hotel.

You are spot on about our hotel being an exceptional value as guests staying at Sutera Harbour Resort are privileged with cross-signing facilities whereby you will be able to enjoy dining experiences in all the restaurants in The Pacific Sutera Hotel, The Magellan Sutera Resort and The Sutera Harbour Marina, Golf & Country Club. The guest privilege also includes usage of all recreational facilities within Sutera Harbour Resort. We are indeed delighted that you enjoyed the facilities of our hotel and the convenience of the hotel’s location being just a few minutes to the airport, city centre and also to the islands around Tunku Abdul Rahman Marine Park.

Thank you for sharing the room tip about The Pacific Club Room. We are sure fellow travelers of TripAdvisor Community will appreciate your Room Tip as The Pacific Club Room allows guests to enjoy the magnificent views from the top floors where breakfast and cocktails are served in the exclusive Pacific Club Lounge.

Additionally, it is heartwarming to know that our staff excelled in providing good service for you during your time with us. Our team of service staff will be most delighted to hear of your compliments as they endeavor to ensure that our guests’ stay are made as comfortable and memorable as possible.

We sincerely regret any shortcomings that you had experienced and we have taken note of the issues which have been looked into by the concerned departments. As our valued guest, your feedback is highly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Kota Kinabalu.

Best Regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

stayed in April 2013 for 2 nights.

Room is generally clean. The amenities are reasonable. The size of the room is not particular big but definitely comfortable. The balcony is a plus as guests are able to sit down there and enjoy the fresh air of Sabah.

Staff at front desk is friendly. In the lobby, at certain hours, there would be local people playing music. However, it could be a little be noisy when the live band starts their performance. You could find the Sutera Harbour Train office in the lobby, too.

Swimming pool is decent but not fantastic compared to Shangri-La. The man-made beach is small and there are a lot of rocks and rubbish.

Overal, I would say it is a decent hotel but Shangri-La does a better job in many aspects especially for little children.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travel_man_hk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Social Media Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear travel_man_hk,

Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay with us at The Magellan Sutera Resort. Our front desk staff will be most happy to learn of your compliments in regards to their commitment to service excellence.

All mentioned details of your thoughts about the property in relation to certain facilities available at the resort have been noted. Rest assured, we take your feedback seriously as we work towards improving the overall guest experience at the hotel.

We hope that you will accord us another opportunity to be of service to you at Sutera Harbour Resort should you decide to visit Kota Kinabalu again.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#5 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,443 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,093 reviews
10.7 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#12 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
216 reviews
14.2 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)

Property: Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Address: 1 Sutera Harbour Blvd, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) 5*
Number of rooms: 956
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sutera Harbour Resort is Malaysia’s foremost premier integrated property. The resort encompasses the luxurious accommodation of The Pacific Sutera and The Magellan Sutera hotels, a 27-hole championship golf course, Sutera Harbour Marina & Country Club, two Mandara Spas and a host of dining and recreational facilities. Sutera Harbour Resort is also affiliated with 5 other eco-destinations in Sabah managed through Sutera Sanctuary Lodges including Kinabalu Park, Mesilau Nature Resort, Laban Rata, Poring Hot Spring & Nature Reserve and Manukan Island Resort. The resort also offers a luxury charter division, North Borneo Yachting and steam locomotive through North Borneo Railway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera And The Magellan Sutera)
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) Hotel
Sutera Harbour Hotel
Sutera Harbour Kota Kinabalu
Magellan Sutera
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing