We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be ranked higher on Trip Advisor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Ranked #8 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
272 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Should be ranked higher on Trip Advisor”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

From a cost to value perspective this is exceptional value.
I stayed her on two different occasions for a total of 5 days.
It is a great looking hotel with an amazing lobby, with a lovely water feature inside the cocktail bar,
and reasonably priced shop to stock your own mini bar.

We stayed here for its easy access to the airport and Gaya Island from the marina. We were pleasantly surprised with the fantastic pools on offer, the very friendly and polite staff, and excellent happy hours not only at the pools but neighbouring sites.

The first night we checked in at 1.30am and it was smooth and easy. Checkouts were no problem, and plenty of staff to assist.
The second check in experience was still good, however I did discover a lolly wrapper near the arm chair (that wasn't mine), and what looked to be a stain on the mattress protector glowing through the clean sheets. Neither points are a reason to not stay here again.

On check in you may receive some vouchers for Jugs sports bar. We didn't receive this the first time we checked in. Although a nice gesture the beer is served in the beer equivalent of a shot glass, hardly worth your effort. If your staying at the Pacific Sutera, Jugs is likely not your style of venue, and for the caliber of hotel I wouldn't don't think it adds value... my experience it was too noisy, too smokey, and something you would find in the KK city. Fortunately you don't hear the noise from your room or inside the hotel.

Our room was purchased several months in advance and came with a nice discount of approximately 20% reducing the price to AUD $95. The golf room was cheaper and i would be very happy to get a deluxe golf view room again. I found it really interesting watching the golfers and aeroplanes from this view. The sea view is nice too if your happy to pay a bit more.

The hotel also offers very reasonable transfers into KK on the bus for 3 ringet return which will take approximately 20 minutes. Taxi one way will coast 15 ringet.

Would i go back again, without a doubt!

Room Tip: Ask about the Pacific club. We found out about this on our last day, and it provides breakfast, afte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taqueeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Social Media Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear taqueeney,
Thank you for taking the time to share a review about your recent stay with us at The Pacific Sutera Hotel.

You are spot on about our hotel being an exceptional value as guests staying at Sutera Harbour Resort are privileged with cross-signing facilities whereby you will be able to enjoy dining experiences in all the restaurants in The Pacific Sutera Hotel, The Magellan Sutera Resort and The Sutera Harbour Marina, Golf & Country Club. The guest privilege also includes usage of all recreational facilities within Sutera Harbour Resort. We are indeed delighted that you enjoyed the facilities of our hotel and the convenience of the hotel’s location being just a few minutes to the airport, city centre and also to the islands around Tunku Abdul Rahman Marine Park.

Thank you for sharing the room tip about The Pacific Club Room. We are sure fellow travelers of TripAdvisor Community will appreciate your Room Tip as The Pacific Club Room allows guests to enjoy the magnificent views from the top floors where breakfast and cocktails are served in the exclusive Pacific Club Lounge.

Additionally, it is heartwarming to know that our staff excelled in providing good service for you during your time with us. Our team of service staff will be most delighted to hear of your compliments as they endeavor to ensure that our guests’ stay are made as comfortable and memorable as possible.

We sincerely regret any shortcomings that you had experienced and we have taken note of the issues which have been looked into by the concerned departments. As our valued guest, your feedback is highly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Kota Kinabalu.

Best Regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,121
    1,007
    315
    121
    94
See reviews for
821
942
91
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (615)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
hong kong
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

stayed in April 2013 for 2 nights.

Room is generally clean. The amenities are reasonable. The size of the room is not particular big but definitely comfortable. The balcony is a plus as guests are able to sit down there and enjoy the fresh air of Sabah.

Staff at front desk is friendly. In the lobby, at certain hours, there would be local people playing music. However, it could be a little be noisy when the live band starts their performance. You could find the Sutera Harbour Train office in the lobby, too.

Swimming pool is decent but not fantastic compared to Shangri-La. The man-made beach is small and there are a lot of rocks and rubbish.

Overal, I would say it is a decent hotel but Shangri-La does a better job in many aspects especially for little children.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travel_man_hk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Social Media Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear travel_man_hk,

Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay with us at The Magellan Sutera Resort. Our front desk staff will be most happy to learn of your compliments in regards to their commitment to service excellence.

All mentioned details of your thoughts about the property in relation to certain facilities available at the resort have been noted. Rest assured, we take your feedback seriously as we work towards improving the overall guest experience at the hotel.

We hope that you will accord us another opportunity to be of service to you at Sutera Harbour Resort should you decide to visit Kota Kinabalu again.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Johor, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

My irritating hell in Magellan.

It started of fine. Nice room, ok view (my seaview is blocked by coconut tree). Then it just had to happen.

The room opposite of mine was on renovation or what i had no idea? I am not feeling well (yes i am in room 6314 while writing this) coming here to rest, what do i get? The sound of doors banging incessantly and staff talking nonstop LOUDLY.

This hotel needs to learn that facilities alone doesn't make it 5 stars.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Feibobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Social Media Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Feibobo,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your experience at The Magellan Sutera Resort. We have taken your feedback seriously and we would like to apologize for the less than satisfactory experience.

It was unfortunate that at the time of the noise, there was an isolated renovation work for that particular room. However, the work was immediately stopped on the day the complaint was lodged.

As the management has already been in contact with you and relocated you to a new room, we hope that you will have a renewed Sutera Harbour Resort experience throughout your stay with us.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

An excellent choice of hotel, this is the second time we have stayed here, having previously stayed here 3 years ago.

This excellent resort has dining choices in two hotels, very different in styles, but always well prepared and presented with a good mix of dining styles.

Bedrooms and bathrooms were a good size, and very clean, and everything was in excellent condition.

The staff were very attentive, and could not do enough to help, it is rare to come across this level of service, this sort of service can only be found in Asia, but at this hotel the staff were amongst the best I have come across.

The resort is huge and there are so many activities available on site, there is literally no need to leave the resort.

Initially we were only going to stay our first 4 nights at the Sutera, as the purpose of the visit was to visit family, but decided to stay our final 4nights there as well.

Service is very laid back and slow, but this will be found all over Malaysia, it is their way.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Social Media Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Chris B,

Thank you for sharing your review with us here on TripAdvisor. It is certainly great to know that you had enjoyed your staying experience with us.

As you have observed, the resort has dining choices in both The Magellan Sutera Resort and The Pacific Sutera Hotel. Additionally, guests staying at Sutera Harbour Resort are privileged with cross-signing facilities whereby you will be able to enjoy dining experiences in all the restaurants in The Pacific Sutera Hotel, The Magellan Sutera Resort and The Sutera Harbour Marina, Golf & Country Club. The guest privilege also includes usage of all recreational facilities within Sutera Harbour Resort.

Our service team will be delighted to hear of your compliments regarding their service as they endeavor in making each of our guests’ stay as comfortable and memorable as possible.

We look forward to many more such opportunities to be of service to you and your family on your next visit to Kota Kinabalu.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed four nights at Pacific Sutera, on arrival we were upgraded to a Pacific Club room, the room was spacious and clean. Unfortunately the bed was quite uncomfortable and dipped in the middle and the pillows were very hard. The staff were excellent and service was very good. The pool areas were beautiful and very clean. The buffet breakfast which was included in the tarrif was ordinary. Other meals within the resort were usually very nice and great value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RussellSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Social Media Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear RussellSydney,

Thank you for posting your review here on TripAdvisor. We are very delighted with your compliments regarding our Pacific Club room and swimming pool area delights.

Glad to know that our staff excelled in providing very good service for you during your recent stay with us. our team of staff strives to ensure that our guests' stay are made as comfortable and memorable as possible. Hence, providing our guests with a home-away-from-home experience.

It is such a pleasure that you had the opportunity to dine at the restaurants withink the resorts and found it nice and great value for money.

We sincerely regret for any shortcomings that you had experienced and we have taken note of the issues and looked into by the concerned departments.

Your feedback is highly appreciated as it has helped us further understand our guests' satisfactions and disappointments. We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Sutera Harbour Resort.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timika
Level Contributor
102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Pros:
Nice Pool
Ambient Entrance
Fun Bar
Relaxing Spa

Cons:
Inattentive Staff
Poorly Maintained Rooms
Broken Air Conditioning
Inconsistent Dining (Had to look for a server to ask for silverware, napkins, menus, etc... just about every meal.)
Five Star Prices for a Three Star Experience

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Social Media Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear David G,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on TripAdvisor following your stay with us in August 2012. Your positive compliments about our swimming pool, entrance lobby, bar and spa are highly appreciated.

We apologize for the shortcomings that you had encountered during your stay with us. Rest assured, we have taken your comments seriously and looked into by the concerned departments. We hope that you will give us an opportunity to serve you better on your next trip to Kota Kinabalu.

As our valued guest, we greatly appreciate your feedback which has helped us better understand our guests' satisfactions and disappointments.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed at the Pacific Sutera Hotel for the final 4 nights of a month long backpacking holiday, for a bit of luxury before we came home. We ended up getting more luxury than we expected as when we arrived the room we had booked was not available so we were upgraded to an executive suite!
We had views on 2 sides- on one side the marina, and also sea view- the perfect spot for watching the stunning sunsets over the islands of the Tunku Abdul Rahman National Park.

The service in the hotel was absolutely faultless. All the staff we came across were friendly, polite and attentive.
There is a good choice of restaurants, both at the Pacific and the Magellan. We ate at the Cafe Boleh, where the breakfast buffet (included with the room) is extensive- huge choice of western and delicious local foods. There was so much choice it was hard to pick what to have.
We also ate at Al Fresco (at the Magellan). The food was nice, but I had to send my starter back twice- I ordered mussels, and would expect that for a dish of only 12 mussels the chef would check for any unopened ones, however the first time there were 6 unopened and the second time there were 4, which was unacceptable. The staff were quick to rectify the problem though and I wasn't charged for the starter.

The food at any of the restaurants here is expensive by Malaysian standards, but reasonable by UK standards.

Our room was huge and spotlessly clean, it was just a bit tired in places and quite clear it is some time since any renovations were done. It didn't detract in the slightest from our enjoyment of our stay there though.

The pool was lovely and not too crowded. We had no problem at all getting a sunbed, and the service from the Waves bar by the pool was good- they do good juices and I particularly enjoyed a nice frozen margerita at happy hour time!
We also visited the attractive pool over at the country club and my son loved the slides.

Overall it was a good hotel and we really enjoyed our time there. We felt well looked after and enjoyed the comforts of a nice hotel after staying in backpacker hostels and jungle camps for the rest of our trip.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view....the sunsets are breathtaking
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillydaydream1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Social Media Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear gillydaydream1,


Thank you for sharing your review with us here on TripAdvisor. It is heartwarming to know that the service you received during your recent stay has made it an excellent one.

It is highly agreeable that the executive suite rooms with its dramatic views of the sea and nearby tropical islands makes it the perfect spot for watching the stunning sunsets.

Our Culinary team, Housekeeping team and service staff will be most delighted to hear of your compliments, as personalizing each of our guests' experience makes it an unforgettable one. It is most pleasing to know that you had dined at our restaurants, Cafe Boleh at The Pacific Sutera Hotel and Al Fresco at The Magellan Sutera Resort. We do apologize for the inconvenience you had faced at Al Fresco regarding the unopened mussels, however we are heartened to know that your evening there still turned out well. As for food pricing at Sutera Harbour Resort, they are fairly priced with respect to the resort classification.

We are happy to inform you that refurbishments plans for the rooms are already in progress which are being carried out in stages. It is hope you will be able to experience the difference on your next visit. Glad to hear that you enjoyed our swimming pool and the facilities. We defiinitely agree with you that the best time to enjoy cocktails by the pool is during Happy Hour time at Waves Pool Bar.

Thank you for choosing The Pacific Sutera Hotel and recommending it to other travelers. we look forward to serving you again on your next visit to Kota Kinabalu.

Best regards,
SHR-Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,395 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,041 reviews
10.7 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#13 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
168 reviews
14.2 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)

Property: Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Address: 1 Sutera Harbour Blvd, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) 5*
Number of rooms: 956
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sutera Harbour Resort is Malaysia’s foremost premier integrated property. The resort encompasses the luxurious accommodation of The Pacific Sutera and The Magellan Sutera hotels, a 27-hole championship golf course, Sutera Harbour Marina & Country Club, two Mandara Spas and a host of dining and recreational facilities. Sutera Harbour Resort is also affiliated with 5 other eco-destinations in Sabah managed through Sutera Sanctuary Lodges including Kinabalu Park, Mesilau Nature Resort, Laban Rata, Poring Hot Spring & Nature Reserve and Manukan Island Resort. The resort also offers a luxury charter division, North Borneo Yachting and steam locomotive through North Borneo Railway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera And The Magellan Sutera)
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) Hotel
Sutera Harbour Hotel
Sutera Harbour Kota Kinabalu
Magellan Sutera
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing