We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Management and Bad Security”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Ranked #8 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We checked into the Sutera Harbour Resort on 6/10/12 and was given room 6342. At 11 pm when we were about to retire, there was a black out and a strong burning smell of plastic in the room. We made many frantic calls to the reception but it took 20 minutes before a technician came to check on the room. We were told to wait 1 hour for him to change the burnt motor of the air-con.
The management did not appear to be concerned about the safety of the guests. If the fire alarm did not ring, does it mean that they can ignore the room guests even they keep calling for help?
As we could't wait for 1 hour so we asked to change to another room. Again we had to make many calls to enquire and the reception kept telling us to wait. It took them another 40 minutes to find a room for us, after we asked for MERCY to put us somewhere.
The management was not interested to help when it was already 12 am in the morning.
We were then taken to room 6456 but the room was locked fr inside. The bell-boy used the master key to open the door and OMG, the room was occupied! But there was no record of this guest in the hotel computer system.
We were again taken to another room, No. 6161 and there was a note 'DO NOT DISTURB' on the door. Again, there was no record of the occupant in the hotel computer system. Finally were taken to another room in the Harbour Wing, No. 7519. It was already 1 am in the morning and we have been taken on a merry-go-round in the hotel for 1 hour.
Worst of all. We wrote to the management to lodge a complain but they chose to ignore.
I would say the management is inefficient, rude and arrogant.
I fear for my security if I should stay there again. Anyone can just stay in the guest rooms without the management's knowledge, or your door can be opened by the bell-boy in the middle of the night
Hardware is good but software is horrible. Lousy people managing the Hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
11  Thank SsMm M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, SHR Management at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

The Management of the Sutera Harbour Resort would like to thank our guest for his stay at The Magellan Sutera Hotel. We have replied to our guest directly in a personal note. We appreciate the comments and feedback given, which we will use to improve the quality of our services rendered to our guests. The security of our guests is our utmost priority and we want to stress that we already took appropriate measurements to prevent such an experience from happening again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,769)
There are newer reviews for Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,545 - 1,551 of 2,769 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

This is truly Beautiful resort! it has a wonderful gardens and fantastic pools. Loved Marina with fancy yachts (Double Haven was there) Choice of restaurants was good, we went to Alfresco few times, skip the marina club buffet, really, really bad.. Cafe Boleh at Pacific Sutera had good breakfast, but it is very repetative. We stayed at PS, room was ok, it has seen better days though, but we only slept there and beds were really comfortable. Loved the atmosphere, piano tunes in the lobby in the evening and the ocean views.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view!!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leki_Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Unquestionably, the Magellan Suture Harbour Resort Hotel is outstanding. The entrance foyer is truly magnificent - it is simply huge and open to the elements, from the main entrance on one side through to the bar overlooking the pool and beyond that to the South China Sea on the other.

At night the overall impression is one of subdued lighting which is perhaps another way of saying that at first the foyer seems rather dark but it very successfully achieves the ambience they are obviously seeking.

It's not just the foyer that is huge - all public spaces are wide and airy and the rooms are of an excellent size and all have balconies.

All the staff one comes across are extremely polite and welcoming and whether it be the groundsmen, porters, chambermaids or any other staff member, guests are invariably met with a 'Good morning, sir/madam' greeting.

My wife and I had three nights at the Magellan in October 2012 as we started and ended our visit to Borneo at this hotel. I have no hesitation in highly recommending this hotel for a stay of any length - and indeed we met guests who were spending their entire two week holidays in this hotel. That said, potential guests need to be aware of several shortcomings and, considering that the Magellan is a five star hotel, this was surprising.

All rooms were advertised with having an in-room safe for guests' use. This was not the case. The room we were allocated for out first night did have one (although others in our party did not). When we returned to the Magellan for our last two nights it was our turn not to have one. When I raised this with the hotel reception desk the response I received was that all rooms had a safe and obviously I hadn't yet found it!

Probing further it was then discovered that the previous occupant had reported a problem with the room safe and it seems that it had been removed. With a 5 star hotel I would have expected any such problems to have been resolved the day that an issue was reported and that the maintenance personnel should have had spare safes for immediate reallocation for any that proved to indeed be inoperable.

The receiver for the retractable clothes line in the bathroom had been fitted upside down and if I'd had a screwdriver with me I'd have changed it myself! When I mentioned this over dinner to others in our party, one other couple reported the same thing. Clearly whoever had fitted the receivers did not know what they were for and how they should work.

The bathroom had two toilet roll holders (his and hers?) but the roller was missing from one of them. Again, the hotel was let down by its maintenance personnel. It may be fine constructing a 5 star hotel but guests expect it to remain at that level and the hotel management company ought to have procedures in place to check and remedy such problems.

Finally, the wooden Venetian blinds over the windows failed to block out daylight (my wife and I tend to wake up if there is any light entering our bedroom and at home we have blackout blinds fitted to all our bedroom windows). The wooden slats would have been effective if they had fully covered the windows - they tended to be a centimetre or two short at each side allowing plenty of light to penetrate the room. The adjustment cords for the blinds would also benefit from an overhaul as each was at a different level.

I mention these things which, apart from the blinds, did not detract from our overall enjoyment of the hotel but one does expect perfection from a 5 star hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms 62nn are on the foyer level so no lifts or stairs to bother with, yet they are one level above...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Welsh_Travel_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Although a short business trip I must come back for a holiday here. Great position, superb views, loads of space wherever one went from outdoor spaces to lobby and restaurants. Very welcoming staff - fab ambiance. Must come back to really benefit from its wide-range of facilities.

Room Tip: Ask to overlook the golf course, you will be very pleased
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RussSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We have just come back from an 8 day stay at the Magellan Sutera in Kota Kinabalu, this is our 4th stay and they have done a lot to upgrade the public areas BUT the accommodation needs to be revamped. Our room definitely needed new carpets because it was badly stained. On the upside the pool is one of the best pools in all our Asian travels. It is clean and the staff are attentive. We got small fruit drink tastings and fruit skewers throughout the day plus a cool spray and cold towels. The staff are wonderful and can not do enough for you. The complex is a golfers dream with a 27 hole golf course they also have a bowling centre, gym and picture theatre. It also only 10 mins from the airport and town and has a great shuttle service to and from town plus an internal shuttle between the Pacific, the Marina and the Golf Club. The breakfast has a huge range to choose from and they now have a coffee shop.

Room Tip: Pool View or Ocean View rooms are, we think the best.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dolores W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

we came here before as couples 2 years back it was fantastic and this time w a 1 year old. still great. we bought d seaview room so it was really beautiful waking up to the sea, pool and jetty view.
we went island hopping to mamutik and sapi. sapi being d better one - cleaner, and less coral near d beach (so it wont hurt you feet). both had very clear waters you can see fishes swimming around you while standing in d shallow waters. we went to manukan before on our first trip, manukan is a bigger island n more commercialized i think so the facilities ie washroom/shower, tracks, cafe was cleaner nicer but the waters were dirty. so ranking wise we go with sapi being the best followed by mamutik n manukan. u cn cover all three islands if u leave on d first boat at 8.30am.
they also hv a theater room, kids playground and kids club at the hotel so my girl get to enjoy herself there. they also hv babysitting services at rm15/hour min 3 hours. just checked it out in case i cant bring my girl to the island but since i can so didnt use this service.
a drawback was we were supposed to have a poolside candlelight dinner arrangement but that didnt work out due to miscommunication. we were staying in pacific so we thought our dinner is at pacific's poolside, plus i confirmed d arrangement w reception who noted my reservation on a poolside dinner.so we went on with our dinner - which was not as fancy (was too dark, i dont know what im eating, ambience was rather cheap). only to find out the next day when the hotel rep who made our arrangement called to check why we didnt turn up at the dinner she booked. well apparently she booked d dinner at magellan and claims that the place had better ambience - i believe so too. so next time gotta call your rep directly and pacific gotta beef up on their communication follow up w guests lor.
lovely place, people are very warm and friendly. wont mind dropping by again.

Room Tip: if u want a good seaview, ask for rooms level 8 onwards upon check in.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank khykhir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The location of this hotel is vood, near city centre and convenient in visiting Islands. Facilities are good enough for a relax holiday. We saw many fish when walking along the ferry pier and enjoyed the sunset at pool side.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Chan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
1.2 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,125 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,469 reviews
10.7 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#11 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
237 reviews
14.2 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)

Address: 1 Sutera Harbour Blvd, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: $124 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) 5*
Number of rooms: 956
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sutera Harbour Resort is Malaysia’s foremost premier integrated property. The resort encompasses the luxurious accommodation of The Pacific Sutera and The Magellan Sutera hotels, a 27-hole championship golf course, Sutera Harbour Marina & Country Club, two Mandara Spas and a host of dining and recreational facilities. Sutera Harbour Resort is also affiliated with 5 other eco-destinations in Sabah managed through Sutera Sanctuary Lodges including Kinabalu Park, Mesilau Nature Resort, Laban Rata, Poring Hot Spring & Nature Reserve and Manukan Island Resort. The resort also offers a luxury charter division, North Borneo Yachting and steam locomotive through North Borneo Railway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera And The Magellan Sutera)
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) Hotel
Sutera Harbour Hotel
Sutera Harbour Kota Kinabalu
Magellan Sutera
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing