We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Ranked #8 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We stayed here on level 12 ocean view room with a balcony at the Pacific. After travelling Sarawak for 10 days doing a lot of hard treking this was the perfect spot for us to just relax for the next 5 nights. Pools were great, walking around the harbour and the Magellan was lovely. The view from our room was breathtaking. The concierge was just brilliant in organising and providing information. So easy to organise tours. The shuttle into town was rm3.50 return which was so easy, and to be honest the city isnt much so it was nice to visit but great coming back to the resort. The aircon was very cold so we turned it off at night which made the room comfortable. We ate 3 nights at the fish market on the waterfront in the city... oh my god it was good and cheap!!

Room Tip: Sea view higher level with balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimmyboy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,838)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,727 - 1,733 of 2,838 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2012

I stayed 2 nights at the Pacific Sutera with 6 friends, I had been to Kota Kinabalu but never stayed at this hotel. Had a absolutely lovely time the check in was quick and efficient and were pleasantly surprised as we had all been upgraded to an Executive suite. The rooms were hugh with separate sitting room and guest toilet,the bedrooms spacious with two twin bed beautiful view overlooking the sea

The breakfast in the morning was lovely had a good choice of cooked,continental,asian,fruit etc,also had afternoon tea in the lobby which consisted of sandwiches,pastries and pot of tea worth doing. Dinner one night at Cafe Boleh and the next at Al Fresco (magellan),the service in all the restaurants and cafe was great,had a minor hiccup with the order at Al fresco but they were quick to rectify.

The resort is very big consists of the Pacific Sutera, Magallen Sutera and the Golf Club, there was plenty of room at the pool even though we were a big party easy to find loungers altogether. They do have a very small beach and if i had one area for improvement it would be here as there was rubbish on the beach which would not have taken long to clean as tiny.

I was worried when i booked due to the mixed reviews but had a lovely time and would definitely recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VarshaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSBobby, Public Relations Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2012

Dear Varsha,

Greetings from the 'Land Below The Wind' and thank you for choosing to stay at The Pacific Sutera Hotel.

We are delighted that you had a wonderful and lovely stay with us and we highly appreciate your compliments on our services and facilities. As our valued guest, it was a pleasure to upgrade you to a executive suite room.

We are grateful for your support in recommending The Pacific Sutera Hotel and we look foward to your next stay with us.

May many happy memories on your exciting experiences in Kota Kinabalu always remain with you and thank you for taking time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

Kind regards

M.S. Bobby
Director of Communications
Sutera Harbour Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

I booked a room at The Pacific Sutera Habour as an anniversary getaway for me and my hubby. I have to say that the service totally blew me away! I mentioned in my booking that we were celebrating our anniversary and forgot about it after that. When we checked in, we were greeted with rose petals on the bed and in the bath tub, complimentary chocolates and a fruit plate. We thought that was a really superb touch!

Anyway, on to the room. We were booked in a deluxe golf view room (there was no view to speak of but we weren't going to lounge in the room all day anyway).
- The room was very spacious with a comfy king-sized bed and soft pillows.
- The air-conditioning can get a little cold but it is adjustable.
- The mini-fridge was empty (which let's you stock your own drinks - plus for us), a kettle is provided along with some instant coffee and some Sabah tea (Sabah tea has a herbal taste which takes some getting used to), bottled water is provided and is replenished everyday (another plus).
- There's a flat-screen TV provided with a few channels, I think there was one English movie channel, one Japanese, one Mandarin and one Korean, some local channels and another channel which plays Sabah tourism videos.
- Inside the wardrobe you will find the safe and an ironing board and iron.
- The bathroom is spacious as well with separate shower and bathtub. A hairdryer is provided (plus again). Tip: If you find that you can't get hot water even with the dial turned all the way to the hot water side, try turning it to the cold water side instead and wait a few moments. I had to do this for the shower in our room.

On the hotel grounds, Sutera Habour is actually made up of 2 hotels - the Pacific and the Magellan (one on each end of the habour) and the club house for the golf course in the middle. As a guest, you can access facilities at all three of these locations. There is also a marina that stretches across the habour. Some fun things about the place:
- there was not much beach front to speak of but I think the beach at the Pacific was the better of the 2; it was slightly bigger and had a more gentle slope outwards. The beach at the Magellan was more like a tiny cove but you could hand feed fish in the water there (there's some bread rolls provided near the towel counter at the Magellan pool). The sunset view from the Pacific is also much better.
- as you walk along the marina, you will see a lot of fish swimming close by. Grab an extra bread roll from the breakfast table and you'll be able to feed them and get some great pictures too!
- if you're into water sports, you could rent jet skis and kayaks from the counter located on the marina. You could also arrange for snorkeling trips at different smaller islands that are nearby. I though the rates were a little pricey but may be worth it for the convenience as you leave and arrive back literally at the hotel doorstep.

Hubby and I opted to just relax by the pool at the Pacific, it was totally relaxing to veg out under the shade with a good book and having the breeze from the sea blowing on you. Just remember to have your sunblock on at all times. A point to note is that the pool can get crowded (there was a constant flow of tourist when we were there) so get there right after breakfast if you want to stake a good spot.

Rooms come with a daily buffet breakfast. The food was average but plentiful with a mix of western and local fare. There was also miso soup and kimchee which I think is catered to the many Japanese and Korean tourist staying there. The restaurant was always packed when we arrived at 9am so if you want a more relaxed setting for breakfast, you may want to have an earlier start.

Another thing that I liked about the hotel was the shuttle service to town. It cost RM3 per person for a return trip. You buy the ticket at the concierge and you just need to wait at one of the designated drop-off spots to hitch a ride back to the hotel. The shuttle runs roughly once every hour. It is a much cheaper option than taking a taxi to town (which would cost you around RM30).

The hotel staff were also super friendly, helpful and accommodating - lots of smiles all around!

All-in-all, this was a really great holiday for us as we were well rested and got to spend quality time with each other. Would definitely come back again!

Room Tip: When booking, you might want to inform the hotel that you want a quiet room in advance. I noticed th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Just got back, lovely hotel complex made up of three separate hotels. We stayed at Magellan Club which was lovely, big rooms. Starting to show very slight signs of wear but overall excellent. Good things:
The free drinks and nibbles between 5.30 and 7.30 for magellan Club guests is great.
The range of facilities available four pools (including an olympic size) one with water slides, kids club, bowling alley were great for keeping the kids amused.
Food was great - recommend Al Fresco and Five Sails in particular.
Near town - although shopping isn't that good in town.
Staff friendly and nice

Not so good:
The rubbish that washes up on the man made beach (including broken glass)
Unless you have your own device that uses wifi with you there are only two computers to access the internet from in the whole place. One in Muffinz which often wasn't working and in the business centre (which was often shut but they do open it for you if you ask.)

Tip:
If you are going to the islands Sapi, Manukan etc just get a boat from the marina - don't book it through the office in main reception costs about twice as much for the same thing!
The islands are plagued by rubbish both in and out of the water, which is a shame considering the potential they have to be picture postcard perfect. Items I picked up, cigarette lighters, broken glass, board with nails protruding, plastic bags (lots and lots of them) - the locals don't seem to care or notice.

Room Tip: Stay in Magellan Club. Didn't go into the other rooms at the Pacific Sutera but they all looked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Felix W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSBobby, Public Relations Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2012

Dear Felix,

Greetings from Kota Kinabalu and thank you for choosing to stay at The Magellan Sutera Resort.

We appreciate your compliments on our service and facilities at The Magellan Club and we are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We sincerely regret for any shortcomings that you had experienced and we have taken note of the issues and looked into by the concerned departments.

We look forward to your next trip to Kota Kinabalu and welcome you back to The Magellan Sutera Resort.

With warm regards
M.S. Bobby
Director of Communications
Sutera Harbour Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed here for our honeymoon in March 2010.

Welcome drink on arrival whilst checking in at Tariks Lobby Lounge was a lovely start to our holiday. The lobby area is awesome.

The resort facilities were abundant. There was a free shuttle bus to take you between The Magellan and The Pacific Hotel.

We dined at Al Fresco and Five Sails as well as having nibbles in Tariks Lounge. We hopped on the shuttle bus over to The Pacific and tried out Silk Garden and Café Boleh too. The live entertainment at Five Sails was great.

Our suite had been dressed with a huge ribbon and red rose on the bed, as well as a bathtub filled with rose petals and a complementary cake for us. The suite was nice, although the mattress on the bed was too firm for our liking.

The Mandara Spa was exceptional. It was so great we went there 3 times during our stay. If you get the chance, you definitely have to try it out.

The swimming pool is brilliant. It was easy to get a lounge by the pool. You can order foods and drinks from there too. If you are after a relaxing holiday all you need to do to go and laze by the pool for the day, there is no need to leave.

My husband made use of the golf club playing a round of two.

The staff were all very friendly and obliging.

I would recommend travelling to the Orang-utan Sanctuary at the Shangri-La Rasa Ria (approx. 1 hour away). This was a great experience for people to get up close with them.

We went on a day trip to Mamutik and Sapi Islands where the snorkelling was great.

Don’t waste your time going into the City centre, there is nothing to see.

This was a perfect holiday and an unforgettable experience. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fedetiro01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

My mother and I booked into the hotel only to be given the grabbiest, basic twin room. The hotel was full of conference guests checking in, we must have got the short straw.
I didn't like to complain but we had paid a lot of money for the stay and I wanted it to be really nice for my mum.
The next day after a few people had checked out we were given a fantastic room. I can't tell you why but it felt completely different. The rest of our stay was a pleasure.
We enjoyed lazing around the pool, spa treatments and a very cheap ride into town to visit the shops (not worth it just junk).
The highlight was an arranged trip to see the orangutans, amazing.....
We also enjoyed a boat trip across the south china sea to Manuka Island, just watch out for sunburn.
The staff of the hotel were absolutely lovely, helpful and friendly, the food was certainly plentiful and tasty. All in all we had a wonderful stay and I am happy to recommend the resort.

Room Tip: Ask for a clean room if you are given one that is below par, don't feel embarrassed to ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harbour818, Public Relations Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2012

Dear Julie,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sutera Harbour Resort. Your constructive feedback is very important to us and we have taken note of it.

We sincerely regret for any short comings that you and your mother had encountered upon your arrival.

We are glad that you still enjoyed your stay and we greatly appreciate your support in recommending Sutera Harbour Resort as the preferred choice of hotel in Kota Kinabalu.

Sabah is a melting pot of natural wonders from pristine sandy beaches to beautiful islands where you can explore the flora and fauna at its best. We are delighed that your holiday in Sutera Harbour Resort was a memorable and adventurous one and we look forward to your next visit to the 'Land Below The Wind'.

Thank you for posting your review and complimenting Sutera Harbour Resort in Trip Advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

I've stayed there for 2 nights and it was a great experience. The walking path beside the ocean is a great idea and is a soul of the hotel. The hotel facilities are great too cause few choices for the swimming pool. I love the 50 meter swimming pool located in the club. Such a beautiful pool with few swimmer. Love that! Will be back again!

Stayed: April 2012
Thank lynnypl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harbour818, Public Relations Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2012

Dear lynnypl,

Thank you for the lovely praises on The Magellan Sutera Resort and we are extremely delighted that you enjoyed every minute of your stay with us.

Indeed the path walk overlooking the South China Sea is amazing and mesmerizing and we are so glad that you took time to enjoy these beautiful memorable moments of walking beside the sea.

We certainly look forward to welcome you back to experience the warm and friendly hospitality of the Magellan Sutera Resort.

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
1.2 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,183 reviews
10.7 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#10 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,404 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
282 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
712 reviews
14.2 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)

Address: 1 Sutera Harbour Blvd, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: $120 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) 5*
Number of rooms: 956
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sutera Harbour Resort is Malaysia’s foremost premier integrated property. The resort encompasses the luxurious accommodation of The Pacific Sutera and The Magellan Sutera hotels, a 27-hole championship golf course, Sutera Harbour Marina & Country Club, two Mandara Spas and a host of dining and recreational facilities. Sutera Harbour Resort is also affiliated with 5 other eco-destinations in Sabah managed through Sutera Sanctuary Lodges including Kinabalu Park, Mesilau Nature Resort, Laban Rata, Poring Hot Spring & Nature Reserve and Manukan Island Resort. The resort also offers a luxury charter division, North Borneo Yachting and steam locomotive through North Borneo Railway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Splitty, Expedia, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera And The Magellan Sutera)
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) Hotel
Sutera Harbour Hotel
Sutera Harbour Kota Kinabalu
Magellan Sutera
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing