We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$62
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/09/22
Booking.com
$48
View deal
FindHotel
$41
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/10/22
Hotels.com$62
Priceline
ZenHotels.com$63
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (782)
Filter reviews
782 results
Traveler rating
134
318
219
66
45
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
134
318
219
66
45
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
566 - 571 of 782 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2010

It's hard to believe that this is the same hotel as the many somewhat-negative reports describe. We stayed on two separate two-day occasions, in July 2010, both excellent, really excellent. Perhaps the key is that we paid the slight premium for the "Promenade Level rooms", on floors 10-12. Still a bargain: 225 RM versus 170 RM (US$70 vs 53). Large, spotless seaview room; full buffet breakfast and 5-7PM "buffet snack" (example: small pizza, plates of shrimp, cold meats, fruit, two glasses of wine or drink) that we found big enough to serve as dinner, both in lovely 11th floor dining room.
We also stayed at Le Meridien twice (booked online before arrival).The rooms were similar; nothing sticks in my mind to differentiate them (except the much higher Meridien price). We would certainly choose Promenade again.

Date of stay: July 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller99ab
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

I stayed in this hotel in 2003 and the room has not changed despite the renovation. I guess for the price I pay I cannot expect more.
The thing that displeases me most is that they have this funny policy that they will only issue one key card to one room even if it is a twin room so on the nights that I stay out late without my room mate, she had to wake up and open the door for me.
Compared to the other hotels in Kota Kinabalu that I stayed recently, it is slightly cheaper. The rooms are bigger and newer in Le Meridian, Hyatt and Beach Hotel.
The carpark is dark and the corners difficult to negotiate. On top of that, the other hotels offer free parking to residents whilst Promenade charges $2 per entry.
I stayed on the 4th floor and in the middle of the night there appear to be all sorts of noise probably from the plumbing. At one point of time, there was a brief moment of loud music from I don't know where.
Unlike the other hotels which has seperate shower and bath, here, you have to climb into the bath for a shower.
If you are prepared to spend slightly more, I think you will find better choice of hotel.

Date of stay: August 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KCPZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2010

the hotel is a littel bit old, people kind and nice, rooms and the bathroom not so special. not really a place to stay for more than 1 night. good location but no atmosphere, hall big and luxurious but the room not the same quality....just to go and sleep! pool small and on the main road side. The price not conform to the quality. Need to be restored

Date of stay: August 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank napraze
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

The Promenade Hotel has a beautiful lobby / reception / restaurant area. It looks newly refurbished. However, as soon as one gets into the rooms, the good, first impression fades. The room we got looked quite old and battered and it was smelly.
The hotel also seems to have little trust in its customers: They "educate" customers in a very straightforward way not to waste food (an idea I like, but it could be done in a more friendly and less patronizing way) and one of the first things one gets after check-in is a list of all the items in ones room and what they charge if something's missing.
The hotel is definitely an acceptable place to stay - however, not a place I would further recommend.

Date of stay: July 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ts80
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

Stayed here prior to going to Mt Kinabalu National Park. Hotel is well located on the waterfront in KK, and only a short walk to the markets and centre of town so good as base to explore KK. You are under the flight path of the airport, but noise really only noticeable during the day and early evening. Stayed in a deluxe room with sea view - has all the amenities you need, although room and bathroom both could do with updating - aircon can be a little noisy. Although the hotel is 4star, don't expect luxury 4 star standards in the room though. The cafe restaurant near the lobby serves an expansive (in many ways) buffet for all meals and is good value. This is a good value hotel to stay in if you're spending just a few days in KK and aren't looking for lots of facilities and the convenience to the city centre, the restaurant and a great seafood restaurant next door are it's plus points!

Date of stay: July 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickworld08
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews