We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated but functional”
Review of Promenade Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Promenade Hotel
Ranked #18 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights to do some quick diving off Kota Kinabalu. Location is a quick drive from the airport and eateries are within walking distance although the breakfast spread is pretty good for a 4-star hotel. The hotel is undergoing renovation - and rightly so - as its rooms look tired and dated. You can tell it was a good hotel in its day but refurbishment throughout is much needed. Still, it does its job especially for a short stay.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Elina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (614)
There are newer reviews for Promenade Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

291 - 297 of 614 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2014

All i want is nice stay, room with space where you can put all your belonging without obstruct your way, swimming pool and decent brekky and that's all i can get from this PROMENADE hotel.Walking distance to KK waterfront which you can enjoy the view of the ocean with no wave because KK is the land below the wind. Tons of restaurant and cafe and traditional market within walking distance, money changer just around the corner not far from the hotel. I'll stay on this hotel when come back to KK

Room Tip: get room on the higest floor and ocean view for better view
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hani J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

i stayed in this hotel in july 2013 its a great hotel staff verry helpfull room are a littel bit smalls but the price is perfect.The room was clean everything was ok on tv not to much channels but who wants tv when the weather is great

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Szilard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

i stayed in this hotel for one day for job purpose. a very nice hotel. check in and checkout is smooth. comfortable bed. had a comfortable stay. there will be a concession on few food items which gives you to get items for a very less price. hotel is having pool. 10 to 15mins for kota kinabalu airport. very affordable rate. currently hotel is under renovation. room is little dark, no wifi in the room. but having lan cable for internet. totally stay is good.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maridiraju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Rooms are small, i got the one facing the sea (family room) kind off, although i needed an xtra bed. Deco was nice and it was clean. Not a bad hotel but pool is too small, not sure i would even call it a pool. It has i think 2 restaurant, a gym, a spa although i wouldn't recommend it. It's walking distance to the town, overall i would rate it 7/10

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Terry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We booked through the web again, stayed for a night. Check in was efficient , room given has great view of the sea . Good clean room with comfortable bed , just a bit run down on the bathtub ,due for upgrading which the Hotel is currently in progress of all it rooms. Housekeeping should be more effective in checking room facilities before releasing it for sale. Some bulbs were fused and the water temperature took abit of time to get hot. Room Safe was still lock which should stay open for new check-in guest. Other than this, breakfast served in the Coffee house was splendid and
service staff was courteous and helpful . It is a good hotel with great location and good value for money !!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorldGlutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

we have stayed here before and loved it , this time the hotel was having top few floors renovated, which it does need , as the rooms are now very tired.we arrived christmas eve , having made a mistake we booked Christmas day. the very helpful staff still found us a room and swiftly booked us in.
they had a theme night which included children singing christmas songs followed by a party , prize night . the effort they made was brilliant.
breakfast is one of the best we have had , such a huge choice as many nationalities visit here, always fresh, and gone so quick, proof in itself how good the food is.
the location is great as many restaurants are very close by.
if we are here again in future the promenade is the place for us

Room Tip: book a room facing the sea level 9 or higher for lovely views
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thefitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,125 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#5 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,469 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.7 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#9 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
824 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#14 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Promenade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Promenade Hotel

Address: Promenade Hotel No. 4 Lorong Api-Api 3 | Api-Api Centre, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: $57 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Promenade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Promenade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Promenade Hotel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah
Promenade Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing