We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, but tired room” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Promenade Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Promenade Hotel
Ranked #15 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good hotel, but tired room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Stayed at Standard Room for one night, room with city view instead of seaview, clean and spacious enough for 2 persons, but room and bathroom are tired. Limited selection of TV channel, bad TV receiver, room in old design, no separate bathtub and shower, and finally no WIFI in room except lobby. Anyway, renovation and upgrading work are in progress.

The Pro points for hotel: big and comfortable king size bed, classy hotel lobby, convenient location, friendly and helpful staff, reasonable breakfast spread. Overall is a pleasant stay at Promenade Hotel.

Room Tip: Get a deluxe room if you like seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LQuen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    243
    156
    42
    28
See reviews for
84
118
37
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saltburn-by-the-Sea
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

An excellent city hotel. Although the rooms were not big there was sufficient space for 2 people to move around. It was very clean and comfortable with plenty of storage. Breakfast was very good with ample of choice for both Eastern and Western visitors. Staff were very helpful and we stored our luggage there for two nights free of charge. It is well placed for restaurants both on the waterfront and in the street behind the hotel. Definitely a good 4 star establishment.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
315 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

We spent the remaining days of our stay in KK at this hotel because of its location and view. You'll have a good scenery of the ocean just outside the hotel.That being said, that same view will no longer be available soon as construction of another building across the street is undergoing. The hotel is also close to everything being in the downtown area itself. Several malls surrounds the property, and lots of choices when you want something to eat. There are many restaurants and food choices to eat in KK that we opted not to eat at the hotel. Service was surprisingly good for this place. Front desk and all employees are always smiling and attentive to our needs. Rooms are clean, good comfortable king size bed, the room has a living room area so you can have guests come over. Towels and toiletries are replenished everyday upon request, and you can even bring towels outside the hotel if you want to go to the beach. The place has a standard size pool and kiddie pool which is a good substitute if you want to just swim under the sun without the hassle of travelling to the island beaches.

Room Tip: Our room had a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Franz_pilates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Quick overnight stay. Late arrival at 11pm. Room is decent enough...comfortable bed and pillows. Had a great sleep. Breakfast spread was good but located too spread out all over the place.

NO wifi internet in the room except via cable (need to pay?) and TV channel selection is poor for hotel of the stature (No CNN ??).

The good thing is that it is centrally located and within walking distance to other the promenade's seafood restaurants, has a lounge with live music.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sza1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

I have always stayed in Promenade when in business in KK. One had good scenery of the ocean once you stepped outside and good club. The hotel is being renovated and the club is gone and the scenery is no longer there being blocked by a new building. The quality of the room is still there and breakfast is good. i like it when they still retain puffing area outside. The registration has changed with a chair to sit on but i cannot see the person doing the registration and it is as if i was talking to a computer monitor. Internet in the room is free and fast but not wifi. Please change it to wifi.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drfauzims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Service pretty slow, rooms a bit old, breakfast spread reasonable but for the price I've paid, I think it should be better It seems the place is being utilized by a lot of Government linked Corporations for meetings, etc. They were renovating the upper floors but they started banging and drilling as early as 8.00 am - Most annoying. Won't return

Room Tip: Taxis are a rip off as they do not want to use meters - RM 15 for a journey less than 1 km so if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Been here for a business trip for 4 days. Breakfast was not bad. A lot of choices but the waitress at the cafe was not friendly. She give me a table with dirty utensils.

For the room, i choose superior room, and got minimize ng size bed. The room was big and comfy. Just nice for me and my small family.

As others said, the reception was good. Check in and out was very smooth. The bad part even you are the guest in the hotel, you still need to pay for parking. Cost at rm2 per entry. Meaning of you rent car, make sure to minimize drive in and out from the basement parking.

Another bad thing about the room was the shower head was too short. I need to bow a little to take bath.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kazama82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,978 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#11 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Promenade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Promenade Hotel

Property: Promenade Hotel
Address: Promenade Hotel No. 4 Lorong Api-Api 3 | Api-Api Centre, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Promenade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Promenade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Promenade Hotel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah
Promenade Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing