We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite good”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Promenade Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Promenade Hotel
Ranked #16 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Quite good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

been stayed at this hotels with Queens Park Rangers Football team, the service was excellent, we picked up at the airport by the hotel car and their still awaited us although we're an hour late because immigration is a very full at time. the view from the room was satisfactory but this hotel lobby is narrow and have low ceiling. the accessibility of the hotel is good enough so, you'll easily find a restaurant and a supermarket nearby.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chairani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    245
    157
    43
    28
See reviews for
84
119
39
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aachen, Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

Old hotel with old furniture. At least in good location. Free in room internet, wifi is only in the lobby next to business centre. Warning tag you will find overall in the room, the hotel warn everyone, if anything is missing from the room, hotel will charge you. Not very nice information. Not recommended!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zu-dritt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights. I requested for a non-smoking room but got a smoking room. Went back to the reception and the hotel was fully booked. So they could give me a non-smoking room after one night. I had to stay one night in an ashtray... :-) Really smelly room, as soon as you walk out of the lift you will smell the smoke everywhere. Ask for a non smoking room than it's fine!

Good points:
- good bed, clean room
- good breakfast
- on walking distance of the citycentre

Bad points:
- massive hotel, lots of tourgroups
- dated rooms and smelly smoking rooms
- noisy corridors, you hear everything in your room

Overall fine to stay, they are renovating the rooms floor by floor. After this renovation it will be good to stay there, I think.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pippel1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
321 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 362 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Hotel has all the needed facilities in house, from free wifi connection to shops . Coffee house serves excellent spread of Breakfast Buffet & Lunch Buffet Spread. The only shortcoming is when we check-in ,front desk guy refused to let us has an extra copy key to our room . We tried to ask the next day , was given by another staff. Room is clean , comfortable with room amentities. A good hotel to stay !!

Room Tip: Do select the room facing the sea view , its awesome or book the club rooms , they are great value f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldGlutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Service was terrible! We booked for a standard room and after payment was made, we were informed that all standard rooms are on smoking floors. We were eventually given rooms in non-smoking floors (after painful rounds of negotiations). When we arrived, we signed in for rooms with king sized beds and when we finally get to enter the room after 3 hours of wait, we found out that we were given twin beds instead! Efforts to change back to the original rooms we signed for (which had king sized beds) were futile and the staff were not helpful at all.

Apparently the rates are a lot cheaper if bookings are made through the website (not notified in the website) and service thereafter is second to bookings made through travel agents. I was made to book twice as they do not have the facilities to accept payment by AMEX yet although AMEX was clearly advertised in the website. Credit card was charged although a different hotel representative said payment will only be charged upon check-in.

Room Tip: Non-smoking rooms are only available upon request
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Purplicious_sky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level Contributor
276 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

I stayed with my wife and my business friends at this hotel for 1 night .My room is 607.Many restaurants near hotel.Staff from reception were less smile and like police officers .Hotel is quite old,but renovated.Free wifi got only at lobby.Breakfast provided was tasty.CCTV installed at every level felt like safe.Location was a little bit far from KK city.Generally average grade and not a 4 star status.only 3 stars.Value is a pretty more for this status.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TUN1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed at The Promenade Hotel for 5 nights. We found the hotel to be very efficient and the staff corteous and professional. The Buffet Breakfast was excellent, and there was a large variety of food. We had to check out early on our last day and the staff were kind enough to give us a take away breakfast. I thought this was a nice touch.

The hotel is on the waterfront and is close to shops and resturants. We could walk everywhere we wanted to. There was one negative. When we checked into our Junior suite on the 9th floor, we were advised by reception that there were renovations being undertaken on the floor above us, and there would be a little noise. Admittedly work was undertaken between 9am and 5pm but the noise was unbearable as the renovations were directly above us. The noise was that bad that we made sure we were away from the hotel during these times. It certainly did ruin a good stay. If you are planning on staying in this hotel make sure you are 2 storeys under the floor that is being renovated.

I must say our Junior suite was excellent. There was plenty of room and it was spacious. The cable internet worked fine, and as I have stated the staff were professional and courteous. Overall, an excellent hotel, and will be even better when the renovations are completed.

Room Tip: When reovations are in progress make sure you are 2 floors under the floor being renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maccs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,000 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
0.7 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#7 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Promenade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Promenade Hotel

Property: Promenade Hotel
Address: Promenade Hotel No. 4 Lorong Api-Api 3 | Api-Api Centre, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Promenade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Promenade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Promenade Hotel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah
Promenade Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing