We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Ranked #6 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

The staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. The buffet breakfast on the club floor was really nice as well. Good value for money stay with an amazing view of the sea and islands. The pool was nice but often has a stench, due to the fish market nearby. Overall, a pleasant stay and would return again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elaine_sim93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRKinabalu, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear elaine_sim93,

Thank you for taking the time and making the effort to share your experience with us! We are delighted to hear that you had a good time and enjoyed Sabahan hospitality we aim to provide.
We are also very enthusiastic about the view of the South China Sea and the Tunku Abdul Rahman Marine Park just in front of the hotel, which explains the fish market's proximity.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to KK.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,513)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

846 - 852 of 1,513 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

In general, this is great hotel located in the city centre. We reserved a room with Seaview. The view is breadth taking.

The service, however, is questionable at best. We have to wait until late afternoon before our room is available. I am usually fairly lenient but this is not the first time it happens to me or my family in the same hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mykilkenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I spend more then 1 month in Hyatt in KK and I have to say it was just great. Location is very convenient because it is not far to the sea, bars and restaurants. People working for the hotel were always nice and helpful. Breakfast is the best you can get on Borneo with different cheeses (very uncommon on Borneo) and smoked salmon. Generally it is buffet. For me tea was the best I had on Borneo (I spent there 2 years). Rooms are also to the highest standard- well designed with beautiful bathroom and if you lucky you can have a view on the sea.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wojciech S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRKinabalu, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear Wojciech S,

Thank you for sharing your experience during your month long stay at the Hyatt Regency Kinabalu. We truly appreciate you taking the time to write your feedback. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our breakfast spread, rooms and selection of teas, and of course, the authentic Sabahan hospitality we strive to provide. We hope we can continue to offer quality products and services to meet your needs during your next stay with us. We are always available to assist you and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Julia Chan
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights after climbing Mt Kinabalu and were glad that we had such a nice hotel to stay in. The rooms were spacious and clean, although the first room we were checked in to was missing a mini bar (I mean the whole fridge) which was a shame as all we wanted was a cold beer and a shower after out big climb. There were a couple of bars straight across the road that got our business instead.
We enjoyed our stay, breakfast was great except for the coffee.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my wife in July 2013. The check-in staff were pleasant and efficient. The doormen and the guy who took our bags to our room were engaging and attentive. The room was clean and modern and felt luxurious to us. So far so good! What really let the stay down in a big way was the service in the buffet restaurant. It was one of those all-you-can eat affairs and cost about £25 each. The food itself was good and the chefs who cooked food to order were pleasant. What really let the place down was the table service. My wife asked for a cup of tea and it took 20 minutes for it to be delivered. Yes 20 minutes. We asked for some like for the tea and it never came. I ordered a beer and it took 15 minutes. It was a buffet and maybe they were understaffed? Actually no, they had plenty of staff but they were just standing around chatting. One or two of the table staff were friendly but most were quite cold and seemed to hold the customers in mild disdain. I usually tip restaurant staff because I know how important it can be to staff but in this case the bill included a 10% service charge. The quality of table service was very low and I really resented the fact that the tip was built into the cost. My wife and I were so disappointed that we went out for breakfast.

To conclude- Room good, door and check in staff good (as you would expect with the Hyatt Regency brand), serving staff at the cooking stations good, table servers pretty appalling.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

On a last minute decision to go to Kota Kinabalu for our honeymoon was to try a 5 star hotel. I was amazed that for a 5 star hotel, this was quite affordable, even cheaper than the rates in Manila. It was everything you'd expect of a 5 star hotel except that their bathroom did not have a bath tub. Other than that though, the hotel was really worth it.

What I loved most about this hotel was the service. Everybody there was very kind and accommodating and that really mattered a lot to our trip.

Room Tip: Book a room over looking the bay. This is really beautiful for sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ubechan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We were two couples that stayed at the Hyatt Regency over our weekend climbing Mt Kinabalu. And the negative experience began as soon as we landed at Kota Kinabalu airport.

Our pre-arranged airport transfers (arranged by the hotel) did not turn up. And after three separate calls made to the hotel to chase the driver to no avail, we opted for a taxi instead; which was in fact half the price of the hotel transfers anyway. Upon arrival at the hotel, the porters helped with our baggage, but left everything unattended at the hotel entrance. We also found that one of our non-smoking rooms on a non-smoking floor smelt terribly of cigarette smoke, prompting a request to change rooms.

Given our 6:30am departure the following morning to climb the mountain, we were informed at reception we could preorder room service breakfast for 5:45am, which we did. By 6am, the breakfast still hadn't arrived. After a call to reception, the breakfast was sent, but was missing half of our orders with only cold toast arriving in a 'continental breakfast' set.

The second night of our stay, we explained to reception how dissatisfied we were, and received an upgrade to two 'sea view' rooms. We discovered long black hairs all over the bath tub in one of the rooms, which needed to be rinsed before the bath could be used after our 26 hour mountain climb. We also called the in-house spa to organize massages for the four of us, only to find they had only one staff member on hand, who had no capacity to manage four massages. Upon asking for an alternative spa nearby, we were told the Hyatt Regency cannot provide recommendations for other spa services.

Overall, we were highly disappointed with the service. Make-goods were only given when we expressed how unsatisfactory the service was. The Hyatt Regency is in now way prepared to manage travelers in town to summit Mt Kinabalu. If your plans are to climb the mountain, I suggest staying somewhere else.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank awb85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRKinabalu, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear awb85,

Thank you for taking the time to highlight your stay with us. We regret that your experience was outside of our normal service and would like to reassure you we take your feedback seriously.
We have addressed the issues you have raised with the respective departments and will make every effort to ensure it does not happen again.

We are also concerned with meeting our guest’s expectations and your feedback was very valuable to us in ensuring we improve our guest’s experience in the future. We hope we can be of better service to you in your next visit.

Sincerely,
Arifin Darmawan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
2,203 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
9.3 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#10 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
296 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
721 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Kinabalu

Address: Hyatt Regency Kinabalu Jalan Datuk Salleh Sulong, Kota Kinabalu 88991, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: $99 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Kinabalu 5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience five-star Sabahan hospitality at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, the premier choice for business and leisure travellers to Sabah, the Land Below the Wind. This luxury hotel in Sabah is a mere 15 minutes drive from Kota Kinabalu International Airport, offering a central location in the heart of the city close to tourist attractions and stunning views of the famed sunsets in Kota Kinabalu. Unwind in one of our 288 spacious rooms and suites all exquisitely designed with sophisticated comfort in mind plus some of the best views in Kota Kinabalu including those of the sparkling South China Sea or the Kinabalu city surroundings. Dining options at our three Kinabalu restaurants and bars are a food aficionado's delight with some of the best food the city has to offer. Be it a dip in the blue waters of the outdoor pool, a relaxing massage at the Avantang Spa and fitness centre or a party at our Shenanigan's Fun Pub, our Kota Kinabalu hotel in Sabah has it all for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kota Kinabalu
Hyatt Kota Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing