We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid Room facing inside”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Ranked #6 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Avoid Room facing inside”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

The hotel looked unappealing from outside as it didn't have a grand driveway; but once you were inside, it's OK. Porter service was efficient and good and we could leave some of our luggage under their care while we hiked Mt. KK with minimal carry-on.

As we stayed for 2 separate nights during our 4-day stay in KK, we got to live in two different types of room. The first stay was in a traditional room with window facing the adjacent building for parking, no view but the room was spacious and with good design and layout, with amenities that served the purpose.

The second stay was in a room with open bath concept plus a balcony overlooking the atrium. The room was also spacious but the design of the bathroom was so impractical that it was a bit annoying. The marble basin in the middle was obstructing entrance into the bathroom which meant you had to completely push open the two sliding doors before you could enter comfortably. Splashing water from the washing basin will wet the bedroom floor if the sliding doors were left open. The kettle stand was fixed in a drawer that it was not convenient to use and you couldn't close the sliding door when making coffee or tea.

The scaffolding supporting the canopy inside the atrium was hanging down onto some of the balconies, so if you went out in the night (when it was dark) you might bump your head onto one of the beams. In the morning, one could hear the clinking of cutlery from below the atrium where breakfast was being served. It would be perfect if the design of this particular room type could be modified and improved.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the atrium and request a traditional room instead of the open bath concept.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bkpkwok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    571
    163
    51
    20
See reviews for
304
458
112
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We chose this hotel because it was near the work place that we needed to commute every morning during the rush hour. We stayed here 4 times in month of July & August 2012 alone; each stay averaging 4-5 nights. Our very first stay after the hotel renovation & refurbishment was in April 2012. Back then we had a good experience, everything was commendable; hence we chose to stay here again when we're back in Kota Kinabalu for business purpose.

Cons:
(i) The housekeeping team - very poor - always forgetting to replenish certain items (one day it could be toothbrushes, another day could be shower cap etc.) on daily basis throughout our stay in month of July/ August (all 4 stays)
(ii) Housekeeping - always never provide/ replenish hand & face towels; only provided us 2 pieces of bath towels. We are regular travelers and we understand that for a brand name like Hyatt; these are basic amenities.
(iii) Housekeeping still - at times, rubbish not emptied in the bathroom perhaps because the design whereby the dustbin was kept inside the cabinet underneath the wash basin; hence we took the effort to keep the cabinet door opened in order to gently remind the housekeeper to empty it.
(iv) WC and bath area not cleaned nor cleared during housekeeping.
(v) Also housekeeping - Bed linens not changed even though we requested for change because the room was so warm that we had sweaty night, so we wish to have fresh sheets for the next night.
(vi) Air con - very very warm - cannot understand why despite putting the coolest temperature but room temperature at coolest is still 23.5C. Imagine, the hot and humid weather of Sabah, and hoping to come back to a cool room for relaxing after a long day at work. In all 4 stays for month of July/ August - all 4 different rooms including one stay at Club Floor - the same - WARM! During our stay in April, this was definitely not a problem.

Our work has now completed and we won't be back so soon. However, we are thinking twice whether we would return to Hyatt Regency unless they improved on problems highlighted above. Otherwise this is a good hotel for location, large rooms, easy find for food and convenience stores being in the center of KK city.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EanNee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

Had a really wonderful stay here. The newly refurbished rooms has given a touch of class to the vicinity compared to the previous rooms. Located in the heart of KK town, shopping, food, entertainment is just around the corner. I personally liked the bed and the unique bathroom deco. The staffs are also very friendly and helpful to my needs. Has a great buffet and the pub (shenanigans) has great live bands performing nightly. They used to provide free pool on Sundays too. The hotel is also a walking distance away from the jetty making it convenient to get a boat ride and access the many beautiful beaches Sabah has to offer. However I must say, it is a tad bit pricey but for the amenities and convenience, it's worth every cent. Really am looking forward to stay here again and would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 69nakamura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

I stayed on the room on the 13th floor (i think) where the executive lounge and my room is just superb. It has what i call the open concept, there is this sliding divider which allows your to open your bathroom to to the entire room. If you want some privacy, you can slide back the divider. My room faces the city, so there is not much of a view but the rooms which faces the sea had a great view. You get that view if you dine at the executive lounge.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Starsurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

As I travel to KK quite a bit, every now and then I splash out and get a bit of luxury. It's tough living in the forest and the night before a flight back to the UK, it's nice to be pampered and to relax and swim to escape the relentless heat. This is the Hyatt for me.

The pool is available to non-guest at a charge, and if you time it right, then you can happily sip your mocktail in the peace and quiet before the rains hit.

The beds are big and lovely and the rooms very spacious. The room service is quick and the bathroom is lovely. Hot water instantly and very very clean.

Overall the hotel is quite comfortable, everything you'd expect from the Hyatt chain, even if it's in Sabah. Happy to recommend, happy to return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darlingink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Hyatt Regency, Kota Kinabalu once again sets the pace of other luxury hoteliers; standing fast to the theory that if you can afford luxury accommodation, Hyatt can and will provide it. From reception desk to the friendly bartenders, chef’s and cooks to the housemaids, Hyatt here in Borneo is as good as all other Hyatt’s, trying to keep pace with Manila Hyatt/Casino Hotel, which I believe sets the standards of all Hyatt Regency Hotels right around Southeast Asia. I say all these good things about Hyatt Regency with the exception and disappointment they have lost my corporate account, which I had for a little over 5 years.
Located right in the heart of Kota Kinabalu along the docks with great sunset views (if you are lucky to get a room on the west side of the Hotel), there are the usual spas and exercise equipment located in a area on the first floor so you can maintain your fitness while watching splendid sunsets. It seems hundreds of local eateries are in the Hyatt area of Kota Kinabalu. A stroll along the jetty and promenade will take you to some of the best seafood found in Sabah Borneo. If you would like a adult beverage with your meal or relaxation time be prepared to pay dearly for the privilege of even a beer. Malaysian is a Islamic State and taxation on alcohol is almost prohibitive, quite often you will find the price of a drink more expensive than your main dinner fare.
Hyatt Regency, never a disappointment (with the exception of lost corporate accounts).

Room Tip: Look for internet bookings for a better room rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank growler202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We had a fantastic stay here. We chose connecting rooms as we travelled with children. The hotel rooms were very spacious and clean. The bathrooms were superb. The kids also enjoyed the swimming pool. The service was also excellent.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanjeewiE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
1.6 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,068 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
663 reviews
9.3 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#12 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,331 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Kinabalu

Property: Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Address: Hyatt Regency Kinabalu Jalan Datuk Salleh Sulong, Kota Kinabalu 88991, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Kinabalu 5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience five-star Sabahan hospitality at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, the premier choice for business and leisure travellers to Sabah, the Land Below the Wind. This luxury hotel in Sabah is a mere 15 minutes drive from Kota Kinabalu International Airport, offering a central location in the heart of the city close to tourist attractions and stunning views of the famed sunsets in Kota Kinabalu. Unwind in one of our 288 spacious rooms and suites all exquisitely designed with sophisticated comfort in mind plus some of the best views in Kota Kinabalu including those of the sparkling South China Sea or the Kinabalu city surroundings. Dining options at our three Kinabalu restaurants and bars are a food aficionado's delight with some of the best food the city has to offer. Be it a dip in the blue waters of the outdoor pool, a relaxing massage at the Avantang Spa and fitness centre or a party at our Shenanigan's Fun Pub, our Kota Kinabalu hotel in Sabah has it all for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kota Kinabalu
Hyatt Kota Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing