We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Ranked #3 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A little disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

Given the wonderful reviews posted by other travellers I wonder if we were just unlucky with our stay, or perhaps my expectations were too high given the cost of the Hyatt compared to other hotels in KK.

Our room was comfortable and large, and had been recently refurbished -the decor was pleasant but not outstanding. The shower was also very new and roomy, although the water pressure was poor. When we called room service twice to request extra towels and an ice bucket, the ice bucket came around 2 hours later and the towels not at all. We booked a deluxe sea view room, but had only a partial view of the sea.

The location of the hotel is good, right next to the water, and near the ferry terminal to the islands and the Wisma Merdeka shopping mall. The best part of our stay at the hotel was definitely the pool- absolutely the best hotel pool we have seen for a long time. Our boys also enjoyed the breakfast, with made to order waffles and pancakes.

Room Tip: Probably not worth paying extra for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scarlett345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    581
    547
    152
    47
    17
See reviews for
290
431
107
245
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

This is one of the oldest 5-Star hotels in KK. The newly renovated rooms are outstanding. You can always depend on their world-class service and quality.

Room Tip: It's not necessary to upgrade your room to sea view. Avoid getting rooms facing the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidtann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

After climbing Mount Kinabalu we were in need of a hot shower and comfy bed so treated ourselves to one night's stay at the Hyatt Regency. The rooms have just been recently refurbished and are absolutely beautiful, and I don't think a shower has ever felt so good than the one we had there after climbing Mount Kinabalu!

The hotel is perfectly located for everything you want to see and do in Kota Kinabalu with plenty of eating/drinking options close by.

We had an early morning flight the following day so can't comment on breakfast or any of the hotel's other facilities but our room itself was perfect for some post Mount Kinabalu relaxation and luxury.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbie1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

This hotel was a great deal. The rooms look like they have been recently redone and are beautiful. Plus, the hotel is right along the water with a great outdoor pool.

What most impressed me was the service. We had a problem with our room that we notified them about. The hotel management instantly fixed the problem and then went above and beyond to give us complimentary services to make sure our stay was enjoyable. The problem was small, but they responded so well. I left with such a good feeling about my stay there. I would recommend it for any people traveling to KK for business or for pleasure.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

We found the Hyatt a very nice place to stay for a family of 4. They were very accommodating with adding an extra bed and provided very prompt service. The front desk was helpful in suggesting places to eat and even catching a movie. We used Kota Kinabalu and the Hyatt as our home base as we travelled through Borneo to experience as much as we could. Each time we returned, the staff was incredibly helpful and friendly. The hotel is within walking distance of shopping, money exchange, lots of dinner options and the water. It's a very good choice!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

stayed at hyatt kota kinabalu for 1 night only and was very impressed with the room..booking for deluxe room but was upgraded to deluxe club room because my friends is a government servant and we ask for high level room but all was full so we get a club room that located in high floor.the hotel is newly refurbished and looking impressive,oppulent and brand new..i really fall in love with the room layout.very unique with the separate wash basin from toilet(first i've seen this kind of open basin).the bathroom complete with large bath tub and high pressure separate rain shower..the room that i stay have a large king bed and a small sofa corner bed facing kota kinabalu city view on a large full floor-ceiling glass..it has 40inch lcd tv and the decor was very nice..you must stay here,it was different from seeing in image!the room look impressive with large wood panel as a head board.the room it self is so vast..the pool is large but i didnt try the breakfast because dont have enough time..the staff also very friendly and love to smile!will definitely stay here if i go to kota kinabalu!the best in town!near to a new surian sabah(shopping complex)and just stone away from waterfront.you can just walk to get nice seafood restaurant!

Room Tip: ask for high level room and facing sea!the view is stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aismanggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Belait
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

Stayed in the Hyatt in KK for 3 nights and was impressed with the level of accommodation and the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. Have to agree with a number of other reviews that in the downstairs foyer area etc. it does look a bit tired in places, but the rooms have recently been renovated and I found them to be excellent. Very large with big comfortable beds and full wall windows. I had a harbour view room - definitely worth it for the view. Someone mentioned that when the rooms were renovated, they removed the balconies and extended the rooms out, definitely noticeable in the large size of the rooms.

Only downside was probably the breakfast which wasn't really up to the standard I'd expect for a Hyatt, but other than that would recommend the hotel for convenience and very high quality rooms. Good location within the centre of KK and very easy to get taxis etc. and walk around town.

Also ate in the Japanese restaurant and thought the food was excellent

Room Tip: Recommend the harbour view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy_Heidi_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,000 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#14 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#6 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Kinabalu

Property: Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Address: Hyatt Regency Kinabalu Jalan Datuk Salleh Sulong, Kota Kinabalu 88991, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Kinabalu 5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience five-star Sabahan hospitality at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, the premier choice for business and leisure travellers to Sabah, the Land Below the Wind. This luxury hotel in Sabah is a mere 15 minutes drive from Kota Kinabalu International Airport, offering a central location in the heart of the city close to tourist attractions and stunning views of the famed sunsets in Kota Kinabalu. Unwind in one of our 288 spacious rooms and suites all exquisitely designed with sophisticated comfort in mind plus some of the best views in Kota Kinabalu including those of the sparkling South China Sea or the Kinabalu city surroundings. Dining options at our three Kinabalu restaurants and bars are a food aficionado's delight with some of the best food the city has to offer. Be it a dip in the blue waters of the outdoor pool, a relaxing massage at the Avantang Spa and fitness centre or a party at our Shenanigan's Fun Pub, our Kota Kinabalu hotel in Sabah has it all for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kota Kinabalu
Hyatt Kota Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing