We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service is excellent and probably the best in KK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Ranked #3 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
136 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Service is excellent and probably the best in KK”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

Five of us stayed six nights from 23rd Dec until 29th, in two adjacent rooms in Hyatt Regency Kinabalu located in city center. The review is very simple, the service is excellent and probably the best in KK. From the time of check-in to the departure the guest service was outstanding. The ocean view from the rooms were awesome. The location of the hotel is ideal. Everything including bars, restaurants, shops, laundry, pharmacy, grocery store, market, cinema all within 3 minutes walk from the hotel. This will be our hotel of choice for next visit to KK.~

Room Tip: Upperstar restaurant with good food is right next to the hotel~
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Rohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    581
    547
    152
    47
    17
See reviews for
290
431
107
245
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

Our check in was a bit of a muddle. Despite arriving at close to 2pm our rooms were not ready. However, the check in staff handled it perfectly by giving our party a free drink of our choice as well as a free buffet lunch. This definitely made the hour or so we had to wait easily bearable. The other issue is that we had arranged a small cake for our parent's anniversary which we had been promised would be ready for when we checked in and the check-in staff seemed to have no idea about it. On the plus side, the cake did arrive, was complimentary and tasted divine!

The rooms are very spacious and have high quality fittings. The rain shower in our room was superb. The beds was very comfortable as were the linen/pillows. We had a city facing room so our view was not the best, but I am sure the sea facing ones will have a much nicer view.

The buffet breakfast was excellent. One gripe is that we thought we had breakfast included in our room rates, but when we checked out it turned out that we had not. Admittedly we should have been 100% sure ourselves, but between the check in staff and the staff taking your room number at breakfast time, it would have been nice for them to let us know what breakfast was not included and that we were paying, especially at check in time. No complaints over the actual breakfast though which was top notch!!

One strange thing is that the hotel still charges for Internet access and was the only hotel of the 6 that we stayed in on our 4 week trip through Malaysia/Thailand that did. And at MYR 0.90 per minute the cost builds up quick, considering most tourists have to check emails for flight rescheduling etc.

We would definitely stay here again should we ever return to KK.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClintSpeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

Excellent hotel, with beautiful spacious quality rooms & nice pool. We told them it was our honeymoon at the time of booking and the check in staff congrats us at the time of check in and gave us a room on a higher floor. After coming back from dinner, we were surprised with a plate of fruits and cookies with a note to congrats us on our marriage from the hotel. It's these small personal touches which made us felt welcomed.

Staffs were helpful, professional and experienced. We had dinner at the Chinese Restaurant, the food was very yummy and very good valued.

This hotel overall is excellent and very reasonable price. Will definitely come back again when we are in KK.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kchu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2011

We were given a complimentary upgrade to the executive Club Room suite which was very very nice since the previous room was located right next to a noisy hidden "staff" elevator. However, while the room itself is well kept in appearance, many issues surfaced that completely reversed my initial impression. The beds are way too hard and uncomfortable to sleep on (and I usually like it firm). The others issues are as follows:

- Lots of Ants on the coffee counter (it wouldn't go away despite using insect repellent)
- Intermittent "Scalding" Hot water in the shower (was addressed several times but never resolved)
- Housekeeping did not replace used coffee cups (for three days!)
- Fruit Flies (yes, "flies") swarming the lobby "buffet" salad counter
- Took over 45 minutes to check out (billing problems)
- Toilet paper was never replenished (had to ask each day for it)
- All the above was never addressed despite repeated calls to mgmt.

Overall the renovation looks good (especially in the Club Lounge area), but the housekeeping service needs to drastically improve.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the elevators (including the Staff elevator which is hidden on the front cor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prince_of_roam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2011

Following our trek up Mount Kinabalu this was the perfect treat, though actually really excellent value. We really indulged in room service and the pool as we'd already explored KK before our trek. The hotel is a great location for seeing the city though and exploring the markets. The room was beautiful and modern with a pool and sea view and service was perfect. Semi open plan bathroom was very cool and loved the enormous bed. Pool was very clean and massive sun loungers were luxurious! KK's not the prettiest city, but would head back just to go to the Hyatt again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fifielo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2011

This hotel offers nice clean rooms and good service at reasonable rates.
Location is good near to the 24 hour markket. The Lobby and 24 hour restaurant area could maybe do with a face lift but it's still a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MD
Level Contributor
135 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

The Hyatt Regency is an excelent hotel in the center of Kota Kinabalu. My wife and I stayed there for three nights and were especailly impressed by helpful and friendly staff. I would urge those planning to stay here to book a room that offers complimentary access to the Hyatt Regency Lounge. The lounge offers a decent breakfast spread (free) and a happy hour from 5 to 7 that includes hot and cold hors d'oeuvres and drinks (also free). The view from the lounge windows of Kota Kinabalu's sunsets is priceless. But best of all are the staff in the lounge--friendly, chatty, and knowledgeable about local restaurants and attractions.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterportez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,001 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#14 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#6 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Kinabalu

Property: Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Address: Hyatt Regency Kinabalu Jalan Datuk Salleh Sulong, Kota Kinabalu 88991, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Kinabalu 5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience five-star Sabahan hospitality at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, the premier choice for business and leisure travellers to Sabah, the Land Below the Wind. This luxury hotel in Sabah is a mere 15 minutes drive from Kota Kinabalu International Airport, offering a central location in the heart of the city close to tourist attractions and stunning views of the famed sunsets in Kota Kinabalu. Unwind in one of our 288 spacious rooms and suites all exquisitely designed with sophisticated comfort in mind plus some of the best views in Kota Kinabalu including those of the sparkling South China Sea or the Kinabalu city surroundings. Dining options at our three Kinabalu restaurants and bars are a food aficionado's delight with some of the best food the city has to offer. Be it a dip in the blue waters of the outdoor pool, a relaxing massage at the Avantang Spa and fitness centre or a party at our Shenanigan's Fun Pub, our Kota Kinabalu hotel in Sabah has it all for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kota Kinabalu
Hyatt Kota Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing