We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, superb customer service, wonderful hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Kinabalu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Ranked #3 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
“Great location, superb customer service, wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights in July for a reunion. The hotel's centrally located, and walking distance to everything. The hotel was recently renovated, and the room was modern and clean. The customer service's outstanding, and we found all the hotel staff courteous and friendly. Special thanks to Ms. Natasha Toyong (Reservations) who arranged a non-smoking sea-view room on a non-smoking floor.

Also enjoyed dining at the Nagisa Restaurant (Japanese). Thank you, Captain Alina, for recommending the "Kaisen Moria Bento", a special treat available during the Food Festival (Jul 9-22). It was the best Japanese food we ever ate in KK!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KK_Sotong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    556
    534
    150
    47
    17
See reviews for
277
416
105
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2011

The most luxurious rooms you will find in Kinabalu city - quiet, great views, and well done.
A little busy and commercialized but the Hyatt was just what we needed before and after the Mt. Kinabalu hike.

Bedsheets and duvet - clean from far away but look closer and you'll find some stains and hairs from previous guests. Hyatt has a great list of facilities to keep you occupied and relaxed.

However. We accidentally left behind a few significant items that we tried to get back, offering to pay for postal and service fees. We called them once, they said they would call us back, nothing. We called them 3-4 times over the next few days, no one picks up the phone. So I called by the 5th day, gave them my email and number again to which they said they would get back to me. Nothing. The email that's on all their receipts does not even exist. Very horrifying, all I want are my belongings. A hotel should continue to service guests even after check-out - especially if they are willing to pay.

Room Tip: Highest room, Best View
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank islandtangg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

We stayed at the Hyatt for two weeks while in Sabah and thought it was great. The rooms were up to date and clean. Staff were very friendly and the food was excellent. For what you pay we thought it was great and had everything we needed from the nice big pool to big rooms which were nice and quiet. Would come back to KK and would def return to the Hyatt!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
109 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

During our trip we stayed on two occasions one night in the Hyatt Kota Kinabalu. On the first occasion we were given a room on the 8th floor at the end of the corridor. The room was OK, nice seaview but it only had a long window starting at shoulder height. Bathroom was shower only so not ideal if you want to have a nice bath after the Mount Kinabalu climb to relax those sore muscles. Luckily on our return after the climb we were given a different room. Really awesome, very large window with a complete seaview and even better with a stunning bathroom that allows you to enjoy the view when soaking in your bath! A room with seaview is very recommended as the view is quite magical especially at sunset. Both rooms had very comfortable beds with good linen and big TV's with DVD player . We liked very much the breakfast with a huge choice from pancakes, noodles, croissants, miso soup and much more. Nice swimming pool as well and overall the staff is friendly and efficient.
Reading all previous reviews we hesitated a lot between the Hyatt and LeMeridien. Opinions on this site were quite divided and hence we also stayed one night in LeMeridien at the start of our holiday. If it was only based on our first room in the Hyatt we would definitely have recommended LeMeridien. But based on our second stay both hotels are equal and it really comes to personal taste. LeMeridien is located opposite the Night Market but then the Hyatt is next to a shopping mall. But bear in mind that both hotels are not far from each other. Same stunning seaviews from both hotels. The room in LeMeridien was larger but having the view from the bathroom in the Hyatt is amazing. I cannot comment on the breakfast of LeMeridien as we left early but we really appreciated the breakfast box they gave us. Both swimming pools are of similar size and really nice. Staff at the Hyatt were friendly and efficient as also at LeMeridien with the latter making us feel really special. Anyway it is difficult not to enjoy any of those classy hotels in an amazing city with its superb sunsets.
Overall we had a really nice stay in the Hyatt without any problems and we enjoyed KK very much. We cannot wait to go back as Borneo is so amazing.

Room Tip: Room with seaview is really worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank avLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

Had 5 x nights at the Hyatt and were very happy with our choice. Lovely large room with modern bathroom. The best pillows thruout Malaysia and Thailand. Comfortable sun lounges around the pool which only got busy after 4pm so we enjoyed a few days chilling out in the fantastic weather. Easy walking distance to all local markets and to the pier to catch boats to the outer islands. Had a meal in the Japanesse restaurant one night, not cheap but great service and also the wee restaurant on the corner of the hotel, service was very slow in here. The bread and pastry shop in the foyer was very handy for a snack. Staff all very friendly. Would definatley stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shazrnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Labuan Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
204 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

My family and I stayed at this hotel during our recent trip to Kota Kinabalu. I made an online booking based on the pictures and information on the website. I was relieved to see that this time the room allocated to us looked exactly the same as the one advertised in the website. The rooms are well decorated ,clean and well equipped with everything a traveller needs. Some hotel websites do provide inaccurate information about their rooms or facilities, so indirectly, guests will be cheated. Since the location is in the town centre, everything is within walking distance. The only drawback is that the area is pretty crowded and parking space is limited but since most travellers don't drive, this can be considered a minor issue. The front office staff who attended to me was serious looking though, which made me feel like I was not welcome in the beginning. However she managed to fulfill our request, so I didn't really mind. I just thought that it would be nicer if she can put a smile on her face. Anyway, since this hotel is about RM100 cheaper than other hotels of the same standard, then it is worth staying here, if you don't mind the crowd

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank june1970_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosman Park, Western Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

One often stays in such hotels for business and certainly this has been the case over my working life. However as part of a significant birthday celebration (a "Wildlife Tour of Borneo") for a deserving member of the family we started with a couple of days in Kota Kinabalu as none of us (5 near-senior citizens 3 siblings and two in-laws)) had ever ventured into this part of Borneo (Malaysia) before. What a marvellous place to stay with excellent food, amazingly friendly staff and the consequent service and simply majestic rooms looking out to the sea with all its activity. The rooms were excellently appointed.
What was more important to us was the location that allowed us to easily venture through several shopping centres (ladies in the party loved it!!!); walk to facilities that allowed us to compare pricing and catch boats to visit the offshore islands (and have lunch on one of them) and generaly get a feel of the place. The greatest joy was during the couple of evenings we were there that allowed us to wander through local seafood markets and experience the local seafood delights (dishes) and enjoy the real fruit juices (particularly fresh mango). Fun friendly and a wonderful place to visit... and while there were the street "hustlers" selling their "genuine" wares they did not hassle you once you had indicated that you were not interested...
A final worthwhile experience is a full body massage (Borneo style) that leaves one ready to take on the world. While available in the hotel we did use parlours in the shopping centres which were excellent...
Do recommend KK as a "chilling out" low key place and the Hyatt Regency as a very excellent hotel in which to stay... cannot comment on the price as it was part of a package deal

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grandbabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,978 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#13 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#6 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Kinabalu

Property: Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Address: Hyatt Regency Kinabalu Jalan Datuk Salleh Sulong, Kota Kinabalu 88991, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Kinabalu 5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience five-star Sabahan hospitality at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, the premier choice for business and leisure travellers to Sabah, the Land Below the Wind. This luxury hotel in Sabah is a mere 15 minutes drive from Kota Kinabalu International Airport, offering a central location in the heart of the city close to tourist attractions and stunning views of the famed sunsets in Kota Kinabalu. Unwind in one of our 288 spacious rooms and suites all exquisitely designed with sophisticated comfort in mind plus some of the best views in Kota Kinabalu including those of the sparkling South China Sea or the Kinabalu city surroundings. Dining options at our three Kinabalu restaurants and bars are a food aficionado's delight with some of the best food the city has to offer. Be it a dip in the blue waters of the outdoor pool, a relaxing massage at the Avantang Spa and fitness centre or a party at our Shenanigan's Fun Pub, our Kota Kinabalu hotel in Sabah has it all for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Travelocity so you can book your Hyatt Regency Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kota Kinabalu
Hyatt Kota Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing