We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dont stay there the rooms are horrible!!!!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #47 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dont stay there the rooms are horrible!!!!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2007

We arrived at on the 12-Jul-07 at around 1030am and were asked to wait an hour whilst the room was prepared.

When the room was prepared we booked in. We had noticed some noise in the hotel whilst waiting and were informed that the hotel was going through renovation at present and there would be noise from 8am to 8pm every day. We were not informed by STA Travel about this at time of booking.

We then got the keys for room 313. The room just not nice.

Issues with it:-
1)Although generally clean the room has stains on the carpet and furniture
2)We’d asked for a double and had two twins pushed together
3)TV had only three channels (all fuzzy) with no remote control
4)The bathroom sink had a crack in it.
5)The bathroom grouting was all dark brown and black
6)Shower screen was stained.
7)The toilet had green mould growing under the cistern
8)The bath had had a hole it and someone had attempted to fix it by putting plaster/liquid plastic in it.

Compared to The Meridian is was rubbish and it was only one grouping lower.

I complained to the reception staff and was told they were fully booked. I said it was not a double room but a twin and mentioned the issues with the room. They said they would ask maintenance to look into it.

Maintenance looked into the room and said that yes they would have to consider re-rooming us. But as previously stated there were no other rooms.

Liked I said we had just finished our trip and I was tired and did not want to start arguing with raised voices with the staff. I had enough and told them that I did not want to stay in the room and that I was checking out . I did so and booked back into The Meridian.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NikC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    88
    63
    20
    10
See reviews for
30
64
21
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, Borneo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2007

I understand the hotel already bought over by new company called NPC Resources as inform by the receptionist since March 2007. The service quite bad as the staffs do not know their facilities and services provided (mostly new staffs). The room that i stayed quite rundown. Dirty tiles in the bathroom, smelly carpet with stain, aircond not functioning well due too old airconditioning. Shower problem on hot/ cold tab and difficult to flush. Swimming pool water quite dirty as no regular maintenance. The coffee house's floor looks dirty, breakfast every morning is same menu and services i can say poor. Taxi driver very good and they speak english well too.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — far away from roadside.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PlanetBorneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2007

We stayed in this hotel on two separate occasions during the space of a week. The first time, the room we got was really nice. Very clean, and nice decor - with all the usual amenities - mini bar etc. Fairly high standard. The second time we checked in, we had specified and paid for a room of the same standard. But we didn't get it. The room they gave us was very basic, and not as clean. No real amenities either. We complained to front desk and they gave us the standard of room that we had originally asked for. The front desk staff were very helpful, but it was annoying not to be given what we had paid for. Otherwise, the hotel was in a decent location and of a good standard. I would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emski78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2007

For 45AUD a night in KK I expect better. The main problem with this hotel is the awful smell which we surmised to be emanating from the air conditioning system. It permeated the entire hotel and makes the stay kind of unpleasant. I suspect that it is due to some kind of mould in the airconditioning system.

My wife couldn't sleep at all because of the smell. I found it tolerable but wouldn't choose to stay here again. For RM250 a night you could stay at much nicer hotels right in town like hotel new capital or kinabalu daya hotel. they are much closer to the waterfront and shops and about RM 100-140 each.

Don't stay here.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yoonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2006

This hotel is located outside the city centre. The rooms look like there has not been any decorating work done in the past 30 years. The service was poor and staff very unfriendly. There was only one member of the staff who understood english. When we ordered roomservice our food was already cold by the time it got to our room. We stayed at Berjaya Palace for three terrible nights.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
Thank MariekeRudolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2006

if you are looking for a very affordable hotel with a good location, berjaya is a good choice. it's very near the city and it is not hard to find a taxi if you're going out. look for the taxi driver named mr. pan (pan ten sung).. he speaks english well and is very friendly.. he can give you a tour with all the information you need.. and tell him that four people from manila said that :)

with regard to food,they have a buffet breakfast and i can't say that we enjoyed it.. they have a lot of variety though..

the rooms are clean and beds are okay.. the only comment i have is that we stayed on the third floor and it was hard to flush the toilet..it couldn't even flush a small piece of u know what.. so we had to request for a pail!and they gave us a not so clean one..

hotel attendants are friendly :)

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2006

Hotel was well located for taxi or shuttle to town. Bedding was not too clean and no change during the week. Staff struggled to understand any language other than chinese or malay, but were very friendly. Meals tended to be cool other than drinking water which was hot!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oceania Hotel
Oceania Hotel
#23 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
5.7 mi away
Grand Borneo Hotel
Grand Borneo Hotel
#65 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Little Gaya Hotel
Little Gaya Hotel
#26 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#9 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
#20 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Property: The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Address: No 1 Jalan Tangki, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia (Formerly Berjaya Palace Hotel)
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing