We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money for a short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #36 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
211 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Good value for money for a short stay”
Reviewed September 28, 2010

We had a good experience staying at the Palace hotel (not to be confused with the Berjaya Palace) for one night. I would not recommend a long stay, but as a stopover hotel or if you are on a budget it is fine.

Taxi from the airport to the hotel was 30 MR.

I wasn't expecting too much since I paid only $60 for the three of us for one night. I was pleasantly surprised. The dinner was quite good and the included breakfast too. The room looks simple but still has all amenities, including flat screen TV, fridge, small but ok bathroom, decent beds and decent airco.

It is not in the centre of Kota Kinabalu (a stiff 20 minute walk along a big road) but then again there is not much to do/see in the centre except one decent shopping mall.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    93
    69
    20
    10
See reviews for
38
64
22
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2010

we stayed for 3 nights - thankfully not nay longer as the hotel is closer to 2 star than the stated star ratings. the staff we're friendly but not very helpful, breakfast very basic and the pool was closed thoughout our stay (which we were unaware of when we booked).
the make matters worse, the hotel expereinced a water shortage and the staff didnt bother to inform the guests!!!
the room was large with good views and that's about it. if you're looking for a basic, cheap place to just sleep, then book here...if you're looking for more, then avoid!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ATH04KAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

Blacksburg, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2010

Was frustrated with the hotels' decision to close the swimming pool starting from 3.00p.m. on 7 August 2010 for a private party. Later, found out that the private party was for the hotel manager's son/daughter birthday party. Instead of organizing the party elsewhere, the hotel put the personal interest of the employee above the needs and wants of their paying guests....top class attitude for a hotel that used to be marred with bad reputation on services and facilities... keep it up and history will repeat itself...

During the function, you can see several hotel guests, some with little kids, standing at the restaurant balcony overlooking the swimming pool where the event was held. Did the sellfish manager offered the guests to join in? NOPE...totally being ignored...yes...keep it up and sooner or later you'll notice customers ignoring your hotel, your business...

It is such a sad thing to see...a hotel that is uniquely designed in an equally unique location, and has gone through extensive renovation...being managed by a team/person that obviously doesn't know to separate personal and business matters. For crying out loud...this is a hotel...a hospitality operation...not some palm oil farm or barnyard!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ahmeedadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2010

Really felt for these guys watching me limp through the front doors sodden from a downpour, weary from an hours trek trying to find them (later realising I had gone completly the wrong way). Not only did they honour my previous booking that I had 'no showed' for but quickly assisted me to my room and were so friendly getting me comfortable - all the while noticing I wasn't their usual business clientele. Such was their service I threw budget to the wind and stayed an additional night. Costs were AUD$67 for first night (deluxe room which was fantastic) and AUD $43 for 2nd night (standard room) both included a very extensive breakfast.
It's hidden on a beatiful grassy hill away from the noise of KK but still in walking distance to both the centre & bus terminal. It also has a shopping mall across the road.
I highly reccommend this place

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ukjaninenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2010

Refurbished hotel with decent sizes swimming pool and good food in the restaurant. We liked the quiet location just outside the town centre but within easy walk of KK centre with its restaurants, market stalls and access to day trips to the islands etc. The rooms were clean and bright with some of the trappings of a more expensive hotel eg kettle with tea, toiletries in the bathroom. If you like a quiet room as we do, be aware that some of the rooms pair up as a suite so your room may have an interconnecting door which reduces the sound-proofing if you happen to have noisy neighbours. When we were there the clientele was a mix of businessmen and families with young children. The staff were friendly and helpful - also efficient at organising a taxi to the airport early in the morning.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryUK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2010

This hotel is reasonably priced. The rooms are very basic, but clean and comfortable. Free wifi. The hotel is around 15 minute walk from the town centre. It has a good size pool, gym and the food in the restaurant is quite good. We enjoyed our stay here. Staff are helpful and friendly. The night market (food) close to the pier is quite interesting to visit. You can also do island hopping and diving/snorkeling off Gaya Island. Kota Kinabalu and the surrounding areas have quite a few activities to offer.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Explorer003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2010

Stayed at Palace Hotel (formerly known as Berjaya Palace Hotel) for a week during our stay in Kota Kinabalu. Basically it is nicely refurbished and rooms were clean, well kept and contemporary. The location is a little off the main town area but it is walkable, 10-15 mins walk and you will arrive at CentrePoint. The hotel also has wireless facilities in the room but it is very slow (sometimes 1.0 mbps), still good enough to load for me to write this travel advice. Has a small swimming pool. Also a gym (which they honestly need to keep the gym cool and less suffocating by switching on the air-con only when there are guests. Breakfast was so so, but one outstanding part of this hotel is the service and hospitality rendered to us. Everyone smiles!!! It makes up for the little lackings here and there and we did have a good stay. For a good RM187 nett (booked online), this hotel is worth every cent paid.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Sabah Oriental Hotel
Sabah Oriental Hotel
#38 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
301 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oceania Hotel
Oceania Hotel
#22 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
184 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#10 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Klagan Regency
The Klagan Regency
#57 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
838 reviews
5.7 mi away
Grand Borneo Hotel
Grand Borneo Hotel
#65 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
362 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Property: The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Address: No 1 Jalan Tangki, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia (Formerly Berjaya Palace Hotel)
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#12 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing