We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Nearby Hotels
$166
$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$535
$487
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$258
$151
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Borneo Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
$40
$36
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Celyn Hotel City Mall(Kota Kinabalu)
$34
$29
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$45
$42
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu(Kota Kinabalu)
$104
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sabah Oriental Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
$40
$37
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Oceania Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)(Great Value!)
$37
$31
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$23
$22
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Reviews (252)
Filter reviews
252 results
Traveler rating
53
95
72
21
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
95
72
21
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain downtownfood wastekaraoke loungec unita small swimming poolstandard rooms areno windowmodern hotelnon smokinglaksachinese new yearbooked this hotelbuffet breakfastnoodlesdeluxe roommin walkshopping mall
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 252 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stayed in the palace hotel twice and really enjoyed our stay. Its a nice location away from the noise with a convenient free shuttle service to the centre of kk. The pool and fitness area are great. We were lucky to be upgraded the first time due to a administration error which they handled quickly and professionally, great service and needles to say we were very happy with this nice room! The room our second time was ok but small with no windows. The food is nice and reasonably priced and the free internet works fine. Recommend!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PERotterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Check-in was friendly and simple and the lobby staff were very nice. The room was large, but very tired and worn. There were quite large gaps between the window and the walls and, as we had a room overlooking the pool and the trees, this was a little problematic - I'm quite a delicacy for bugs and skeeters. The breakfast buffet was nice though.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Katy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We picked this hotel because it was near to the airport as we had a plane to catch the next morning. The room has modern furnishings but a bit small-ish. Walls are probably thin because we could hear what was going on in the room next to us and the hallways. Otherwise, very clean and the breakfast buffet is great. They pride themselves for being eco-friendly which means no chlorine in the pool which suits us fine as we had a baby. We got lost getting there as we were driving ourselves and relied on goole maps. Suffice to say, don't trust google maps in KK. Its not updated. All in all an okay-ish hotel

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank IkhaZakariah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

We had an event in this place. While we were carrying instruments into the hotel, they want us to use their back lift and not their lobby, which was ok. But when asked for a trolley to carry the stuffs, their staff said that they don't have any. Even worse, their staff did not lift a finger or even to offer to carry. So we carried everything while they stood there watching. After a few rounds of carrying instruments from the car to the lift, we took the lift up to the function hall.

When we reached the floor, there were a few staffs on that floor. So again, we asked for a trolley to carry the things from the lift to the hall. The worker said that the only have it in their lobby. So we carried the things to the hall over few rounds. When we finished , I saw another worker pushing a trolley around for their own use... wow... awesome hospitality...

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KennethMalaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Based on my personal experience, this hotel is below expectation. Not very cooling air conditioner, toilet flush doesn't work well, television is way too small, no wifi available on the room. Should have choose the other hotel than this though but the location is pretty okay, will only choose this one again if there's no available hotel on kota kinabalu. I'll rate 4 out of 10.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Invoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews