We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Clean, friendly staff and good breakfast.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #25 of 89 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly staff and good breakfast.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Really nice Hotel, Clean and the staff are very helpful. The breakfast is really good and fresch. They have a nice gym and pool. I enjoyed staying at this Hotel. It's located 15-20min walking distance from the centre(nice way to explore the area), but they have a free shuttlebus service.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MyJosefin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    82
    55
    15
    9
See reviews for
25
58
19
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Such a comfortable, relaxing place!

Despite some of the reviews we read on Tripadvisor prior to our stay, the Palace Hotel is located only a short two minute walk from the city centre. It's a great place to stay with friendly staff, lovely food at the restaurant, a nice pool, clean modern decoration, and excellent modern rooms with a great shower!

We would definitely stay here if we were in Kota Kinabalu again, had all the hallmarks of a modern 4 star hotel from the UK!

Enjoy!...

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike_Lydia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The Palace Hotel check all our boxes: great pool, clean rooms, breakfast included... It became an oasis in KK - a place we enjoyed coming back to. The rooms were very comfortable and fully-equipped: A/C, TV, great showers, firm mattresses. The pool is great - workout facilities available, plus a garden area and sauna!

It's not a 'local' experience, but for affordable comfort in KK, the Palace Hotel can't be beat!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravFamFour-TF4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Booked a room through agoda. The hotel is situated just outside the city center. They offer great service and a nice pool and fitness center.
Good place to relax after some jungle adventures. Great breakfast menu! Everything from dumplings to chocopops.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karloos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I 've been to Kota Kinabalu for 5days,
from 27/12-31/12
rm are gd( but it offer me a pool level rm, no view), clean and tidy,
independent toliet, also clean
the rm is big and the a/c is gd.
the staff there are nice and helpful
and the breakfast is quite gd, numerous kind of food
5mins to the nearest big shopping arcade

the bad is no wifi at pool level(but it covered the hotel EXCEPT pool level)
and the transport offered by the hotel is pretty poor
only 3 shuttle bus per day(i am not kiding, only 3: 11:00, 15:00 and 18:00)
so u got to catch a cab all the time (RM 15 per ride)

i rank it a 4, bcoz of the pool level offer and bad transport, or not, it should get a 5~
:)

Room Tip: dun choose the pool level~
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

a nice hotel. everything is mere perfect. the food, services, pool, gym, parking, etc.. only apart from the city though but that's ok. i can go by taxi. the staff is really friendly and helpful at the same time leaving us with a good experience and will definitly coming back for sure. the things that bother me is the fact that the lack of ammenities.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jojo P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Room is huge, modern and most importantly, clean. Beds are comfortable and flat screen TV and wifi with good reception is a plus. The aircon is not working in one out of the three rooms that we stayed in.

Swimming pool is small and crowded with people for most of the time when we were there. It seems like the pool is also being utilised for swimming lesson as there were parents standing around the pool, waiting for the coaching to end. Buffet breakfast is deicious and the spread is good.

Service standard is definitely below par, corridor outside our rooms was not cleaned, leaving the plates and rubbish on the floor. Despite informing the front desk to remove it, it was still there when we checked out. The female staff at the front desk are always helpful but not the other gentleman (presumably senior staff/manager), who appeared to be very unfriendly and egoistic when we requested for information.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
3.1 mi away
Oceania Hotel
Oceania Hotel
#18 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
2.9 mi away
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
#21 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 stars 480 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sabah Oriental Hotel
Sabah Oriental Hotel
#26 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 stars 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Grand Borneo Hotel
Grand Borneo Hotel
#53 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 stars 322 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
#10 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 stars 344 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences
#15 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 stars 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Property: The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Address: No 1 Jalan Tangki, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia (Formerly Berjaya Palace Hotel)
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#11 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing