We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing, lovely people!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #48 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing, lovely people!!”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed there for two weeks at the start of September, lovely hotel with lovely staff too. Very helpful and friendly. The gym was great , including the steam room, and pool the perfect size. Breakfast was lovely, with wide range of foods. We all loved the freshly made waffles and omelette in the morning. The fruit selection was great too. After breakfast we lounged by the pool, very relaxing and comfortable. Staff member named Ray was extremely helpful and friendly. Gave us all the right information and advised us to do many activities including jungle treks which was great fun. A girl at the desk also asked us out on Friday night and took us to the 'bed' club In town, great fun!!! Overall I would totally recommend this hotel!! You will love it!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loga S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    88
    63
    20
    10
See reviews for
30
64
21
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Krabi Town, Thailand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

The staff were really really amazing!! The room was lovely and I think it was good value if a bit expensive. The food and pool area were great. The hotel is not in the city and its quite a walk so we had to get a few taxis! When we came back to KK on our way home at the end of our trip we stayed here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AudreyMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is awesome and it is more on protecting the earth ! I have a stay here for 3 days 2 nights .... Moreover , it have shuttle bas service and good view of Kota Kinabalu .... During the stay , the staff was very friendly and nice and lastly , good connection of WIFi

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thony0912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

I stay from 27th February till 29th February for business trip.
Overall the decoration is good as it is just done the renovation. Bed is very comfortable. Decent hotel room, well equip with wifi and hot water. Just the hot water quite hard to control the temperature...its either sudden too hot or too cool... Breakfast is awesome, serve with continental breakfast and plenty of choice. Parking is not a problems in this hotel if you rent a car in KK.

Room Tip: Bring more socket with you if you have more electronic device.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eugene_Chin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

I love everything about this hotel and keep coming every now and then. The new decoration was awesome. Food was improved. The staff all friendly and very welcoming. The karaoke lounge "Glamourous" was excellence and it was a non smoking lounge. The gym facilities also amazing including swimming pool. The only hold back about this hotel is the location which was a bit isolated but not to worry, cab is around .

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cintame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

because firstly, the hotel reception staff did not provide any information regarding the hotel facilities or the fact that they had their own tour desk. We had to find out all of the information ourselves during our stay. Secondly, although the hotel staff were friendly, it was very difficult to be understood by them. Thirdly, although there is a pool on the basement level, it is overlooked by people eating in the restaurant above. Fourthly, which is not the hotel's fault at all, but the main visitors to the hotel wereused by males, who stared at us CONSTANTLY,and as two females travelling it made us feel very uncomfortable! The good things about this hotel are the food and the friendliness of the staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolineKent_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

the good: hotel staff are friendly, speaks english, very polite and always with a smile. the rooms are clean, and we got a room with a "garden" view..(more of a forest actually..hehe)...breakfast spread is just great! the food is superb with lots of choices.

the bad: hotel is far from city center and shopping malls. they provide a shuttle to the malls which runs only on 11am-3pm and 6pm. so if u want to go you have to catch a cab which charges 15rm per way. when you open the bathroom door, it bangs against the shower stall which is made of glass..i was constanly scared that i would have to pay if it shatters...

other than that, it is good enough to stay in for a day or two...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fallen_angel024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,158 reviews
5.7 mi away
Grand Borneo Hotel
Grand Borneo Hotel
#67 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
354 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oceania Hotel
Oceania Hotel
#23 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#10 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
413 reviews
1.0 mi away
Little Gaya Hotel
Little Gaya Hotel
#25 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
46 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
#20 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Property: The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Address: No 1 Jalan Tangki, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia (Formerly Berjaya Palace Hotel)
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing