We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good we came back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #35 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed August 12, 2012

The staff were really really amazing!! The room was lovely and I think it was good value if a bit expensive. The food and pool area were great. The hotel is not in the city and its quite a walk so we had to get a few taxis! When we came back to KK on our way home at the end of our trip we stayed here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AudreyMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

134 - 140 of 247 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is awesome and it is more on protecting the earth ! I have a stay here for 3 days 2 nights .... Moreover , it have shuttle bas service and good view of Kota Kinabalu .... During the stay , the staff was very friendly and nice and lastly , good connection of WIFi

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thony0912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

I stay from 27th February till 29th February for business trip.
Overall the decoration is good as it is just done the renovation. Bed is very comfortable. Decent hotel room, well equip with wifi and hot water. Just the hot water quite hard to control the temperature...its either sudden too hot or too cool... Breakfast is awesome, serve with continental breakfast and plenty of choice. Parking is not a problems in this hotel if you rent a car in KK.

Room Tip: Bring more socket with you if you have more electronic device.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eugene_Chin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

I love everything about this hotel and keep coming every now and then. The new decoration was awesome. Food was improved. The staff all friendly and very welcoming. The karaoke lounge "Glamourous" was excellence and it was a non smoking lounge. The gym facilities also amazing including swimming pool. The only hold back about this hotel is the location which was a bit isolated but not to worry, cab is around .

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cintame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

because firstly, the hotel reception staff did not provide any information regarding the hotel facilities or the fact that they had their own tour desk. We had to find out all of the information ourselves during our stay. Secondly, although the hotel staff were friendly, it was very difficult to be understood by them. Thirdly, although there is a pool on the basement level, it is overlooked by people eating in the restaurant above. Fourthly, which is not the hotel's fault at all, but the main visitors to the hotel wereused by males, who stared at us CONSTANTLY,and as two females travelling it made us feel very uncomfortable! The good things about this hotel are the food and the friendliness of the staff.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolineKent_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

the good: hotel staff are friendly, speaks english, very polite and always with a smile. the rooms are clean, and we got a room with a "garden" view..(more of a forest actually..hehe)...breakfast spread is just great! the food is superb with lots of choices.

the bad: hotel is far from city center and shopping malls. they provide a shuttle to the malls which runs only on 11am-3pm and 6pm. so if u want to go you have to catch a cab which charges 15rm per way. when you open the bathroom door, it bangs against the shower stall which is made of glass..i was constanly scared that i would have to pay if it shatters...

other than that, it is good enough to stay in for a day or two...

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fallen_angel024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

last week i take a good 2 day vacation on my on..dont know what i want to do ..just want to take a good walk and have some fun..acctualy i want to buy a replacement for my hard disk and in the same times bring as much as i can my cloth and go to laundry..hahaha yes im that kind of man..by the way we go to the topic..in a way from tenom to kota kinabalu..im searching from my cute application for a good hotel..but still when near to kota kinabalu..i cant make any choice A good hotel..what im thinking..no plan for anything..so when the cab driver ask me..i just say what i see..there i say...what the hotel name i dont know..so the driver told me..that is BERJAYA PALACE HOTEL..oWH..so the 1st thing i came in my mind is what im thinking..this must be a expnsve..but its compltly wrong..coz its turn got a very good rate..and the service is so so so good..thnkz to them they acctualy help me to make my vacation a good day..a sweet room ..have a good facality and everything is near to the hotel..a shopping cmplx and everything u want to search is near them..wow..the taxi srvice there is good 2 me and i make a long distnce trip just for MYR 25 -30..some say the taxi service is expsive..but u have a so much choice..exmple have a rental car and take some guide with you..its will be pleasnt holiday..that what i see..anyway..if u want to have a guide for a good hotel rate..u can go to Agoda.com..:)..overrall..it is a good hotel to stay..owh berfore i frget..if u stay in this hotel dont forget to try "palace burger" is will make u stunt..so delicious..by the way sorry for my english :) im NOt very good wiTH iT..

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank akue1872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Sabah Oriental Hotel
Sabah Oriental Hotel
#42 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
308 reviews
5.7 mi away
Grand Borneo Hotel
Grand Borneo Hotel
#63 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
369 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#11 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
#20 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
541 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oceania Hotel
Oceania Hotel
#23 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
192 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
#15 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Address: No 1 Jalan Tangki, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia (Formerly Berjaya Palace Hotel)
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#12 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: $41 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing