We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Just Beautiful”
Reviewed July 2, 2006

We recently returned from 9 fabulous nights at the beautiful Tanjung Aru resort. The hotel had a relaxing feel and well kept facilities, gorgeous gardens and lots of quiet places to just sit and relax. The service we received throughout our stay was first rate, and this and the staff friendliness made our stay an absolute pleasure. As part of our package we upgraded to the Horizon Club which we would highly recommend. We loved the HC for the evening cocktails and nibbles from 5-7pm and this time was also a nice chance to chat to other people at the resort. Rooms in the Kinabalu wing are older and have more traditional furnishings, but we loved the view here from the 6th floor and the short walk to the HC. While we were there we upgraded to a suite for the last 2 nights in the Tanjung wing which had new and very modern furnishings. The food in the hotel was plentiful and appealing, but we also liked eating downtown at the waterfront development where we found great seafood and chinese (try Ocean Seafood and Bayi Chinese). At Bayi order the roast lamb it’s delicious. We spent most days enjoying the resort facilities, golfing at nearby courses or walking around the shopping centres in the town. The hotel also offers plenty of activities, we tried the yoga and pitch-and-putt tournament. On Friday and Saturday nights the hotel’s Blue Note night club goes off! We will definitely recommend this hotel to our friends and we hope to return as soon as we get the opportunity.

Helpful?
14 Thank OutandAb0ut14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,091
    1,059
    339
    117
    81
See reviews for
1,279
1,395
91
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (792)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2006

We have just returned from a trip to Borneo and stayed at the tanjung aru resort in kota kinabalu, the hotel is very good, a great selection for breakfast, and we also ate out in the town, just get a taxi from the hotel and go to the waterfront where there is several resteraunts in the open including the irish bar, and a chineese and an indian. when we checked in the hotel we were offered an upgrade and was shown 3 rooms one of these was a suit, they wanted an extra £120 for the week but the standard room we booked was really nice so we stuck with that. there are three islands acrosss from the hotel and if you go to the jetty on the hotels priovate beach, they will take you to one of the islands, its about 5 mins in a boat, we went there most days and it is very quite on the small island there was only us there one day. excellent for sunbathing and you can also see the coral, there is a small cafe on there. you can hire snorkling equipment also. you must take the trip to sepilok to see the orangatangs it is well worth it, although its a plane ride it was really an experience, we also went to see the probosus monkeys which was also brilliant. the hot springs are well worth a trip, and we had dinner at the English tea rooms which was really lovely. all in all a great holiday.

Helpful?
14 Thank maz6000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmi_dbf
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2006

Stayed at the Shangri-la ,5 days at the end of May 2006...Hotel grounds are clean, well maintained, rooms are nice ( furniture not very new, but in reasonable shape), spacious, free broadband Internet !!!, buffet breakfast good quality, staff very friendly. Relatively small pool, beach almost inexistent...Luckily we have explored the nearby islands and the other attracations in Sabah. Would recommend it as a base to explore Borneo, would not use it for an extended stay, because of the lack of beach and activities. Good location, close to the city, the hotel runs a shuttle almost every hour in the evening to Kota Kinabalu. Hotel has small marina, from where you can take a 10 moin boat trip to a neighbouring island for a decent beach exprience, some hiking and snorkeling.

Helpful?
7 Thank Ahmi_dbf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2006

Stayed here as part of a whirlwind tour of KK and SIN and totally loved the place. Met Ulf the manager who was nice guy and showed us about the hotel. Having just come from the Rasa Ria which is very chilled we immediately felt a much more lively vibe flowing through the open air lobby! Stayed in Tangjung wing which after recent refurb was lovely and views good from most rooms of sea or gardens/golf course. Considered a club room but they are only a touch bigger and who wants to be locked away drinking on the 6th floor when you can have drinks at the awesome Sunset bar, where you can enjoy a drink whilst the sun sets over the offshore islands surrounding KK. The eateries on site are very good too. In short i enjoyed this hotel more than the Rasa Ria as it is more lively (check out the Blue Note club on site). Another brilliant Shangri La hotel, is there a bad one?

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank NictheCarver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2006

Well guy's just got back this morning after staing 10 glorious nights at the STAR, , ok on arriving, I was a little disappointed with the lobby area, we haved stayed at the Pelangi beach resort in Langkawi and for us their reception area was better, we were shown to the 6th floor for us to check in to our Horizon club rooms and to meet with the Horizon club staff ( more about them later ), on walking down the corridors to your rooms, there is no getting away from the fact that there is this smell of musty dampness and this smell does progess right into your room. The fact of the matter is that, the corridors and rooms are carpeted and with such high humidity you could not expect anything else, a tip would be to rip all the carpets up and install some local natural stone, anyway. The grounds are immaculate and perfectly manicured, the pool area's are great, no problems with kids and whats wrong with kids anyway we were all one once!. A lot of Japanes having fun but hey, isn't that what you are supposed to be doing when away on hols. Great little footy pitch and nice pitch and put, loads of activites for the kids and a great entertainer in Rohan a true comic and a lovely guy. Food, well, we were in the Horizon club for breakfast and evening cocktails and a lovely place to, great choice of buffet breakfast and really nice snacks in the evening and as much drink as you want, however, no one abused the fact. I suppose the only draw back is if you have youngsters with you, as they are not really encouraged in the evening and the dress code is long trousers for men and no shorts for women. The buffet by the beach is great value and fab choice with everything out of the sea you can imagine and very well priced, ie: huge tiger prawns MYR 13 each. The Shang Palace serves really nice Chinese food with very good sized portions, cannot really fault the eating places at all. Drinks can be expensive at MYR 17 for a small beer and MYR 21 for a cocktail. Try and have a drink in the Borneo lounge and have a chat with Reze the local barman, a great guy with a very good sense of humour and full of local knowledge.

The Horizon club staff must have a mention, Brian, Beatrice, Johnny, Thomas to name but a few, these are the warmest you will find anywhere, professional, attentive and most of all wonderfull people and they made our stay that much better. I am not going to gone about rooms, as some people on here have maoned about ie bed linen too hard, a hole in one towel, come guy's get a life. the rooms are more than adequate and with some of the very best sea views that you will get anywhere. Hope this honest opinion helps, by the way we did go to the RR to see the Orang Utans and on first impressions loved their reception, however, it stopped there and we are more than glad we plumbed for the STAR.

Jamie, Suzanne, Josh and Becky

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank Jamesandsuzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2006

What a wonderful hotel - couldn't agree more with last review from London - we also travel extensively and it has to be number one for us. We have just returned from 8 days there - only regret was that we didn't do more trips as we were in such paradise at the hotel. Apart from one person at reception when we arrived who tried to talk us into other options at more cost (even though they were included in what we were paying for - so be on the ball!), the hotel staff, without exception, during the 8 days we were there were overwhelmingly helpful and courteous, anticipating our every wish. Poolside service was excellent and fresh melon "kebabs" were brought round to cool you down, the international buffet in the main dining room was out of this world - everything you could possibly dream about - we had to force ourselves away every evening to try other restaurants (which are plentiful) and to avoid piling on the pounds! The deluxe room in the Tanjung Aru wing was vast with a big balcony, classy top-quality furniture, and a superb bathroom with huge walk-in shower.
We went on the Sepilok orang-utan trip in Sandakan and, although you saw a few more orang-utans than at the Rasa Ria Resort, it did mean a whole-day trip - most of which is spent flying and hanging around at the airport. Being a flight away also made it quite an expensive trip compared to the Rasa Ria alternative.
As for massages, lovely spa or alternatively massages by the pool/sea with the sound of the waves.
This is a lovely hotel for families AND a romantic hotel for couples - a nice balance, not too much of one or another.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank carolux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 26, 2006

Firstly let me just say what ever you have read about this hotel in a bad content forget it because this hotel in my opion is the best i have stayed at,and i have travelled all over the world.
HOTEL...
2 hour flight from kuala lumpur collect your bags and in 10 mins you are in paradise,check-in was swift,the hotel staff are very freindly and helpful,there was 4 of us in our group and we stayed in the tanjung wing which for me are the best rooms to stay in.
The hotel layout is superb there is an excellent kids club 4 restaurants a nightclub open till 2am if you eat in the hotel try the shang palace or the buffet restaurant.
EATING OUT..
Just 10mins in a taxi will bring you to the waterfront of downtown kk here are a number of restaurants and bars which cater for all tastes...for example a meal for 4 people with drinks was around about £5 a-head,try the north indian restaurant or the fantastic noodle bar and just a 5 min walk you will find little italy a lovely little restaurant.
Just outside the hotel is beachbums which is very cheap for food and drinks and seeing as we were room only £1 for breakfast was excellent value.
ORANGATANS...
when you arrive make sure you book the trip to the rasa ria there sister hotel to see the orangatans they only take 12 people a day it is a must and the beach there is fantastic but thats about it for that hotel as a whole the tanjung has to be the choice to stay at.
It costs about £10 per person that includes transport there and back and entry into the orangatans bring some mosi repellelent,and the nice thing about seeing them is that there not behind fences,they have 6 babys there at the moment and you have about an hour with them.
After that the day is yours to spend at the hotel.
TRIPS....
If you do anything while you are here you must take the boat trip to manakun island,pick your towels up from the pool walk 2 mins to the marina pay about £5 each and in 10 mins you are on an island where you can snorkel with all kinds of fish it also has chalets that you can hire for £50 a night with your own private beach(heaven).
They also have a beach seafood barbecue from 12 till 2.30pm all the watersports you can think of a restaurant and a fresh water swimming pool.

If you have anywhere in mind for a once in a lifetime holiday then this is the place for you i for 1 and my freinds will def be back for more.......

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
1.5 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
15.5 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,075 reviews
11.9 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#12 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,333 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
Address: 20 Jalan Aru, Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A paradise for the senses surrounded by natural beautyA gentle breeze caresses your face as you wake to the sound of waves lapping the beach. The balcony opens up to an inspiring vista of sparkling coral islands and swaying of palm trees. Tunku Abdul Rahman Park, bordered by crystal clear waters and lush vegetation Sophistication surrounds you in a lavishly decorated suite inspired by Borneo’s rich cultural heritage. Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu, is a perfect tropical getaway, a luxurious tranquil retreat just a short drive from the city.Yet, excitement beckons as you set out to discover all Kota Kinabalu’s delights. Making your way to Kinabalu National Park, you are thrust into a jungle paradise of natural wonders, rugged landscapes and scenic beauty. From the Rafflesia, the largest flower in the world, to the famous Orangutans in their natural habitat, it only gets more breathtaking every step of the way.The afternoon is spent exploring the picturesque town of Kota Belud. As Sabah’s largest and most popular open market, you find gems of all sorts, ranging from handmade handicrafts to mouth-watering local delights like natural honey.Back at the resort, you look forward to a sunset cruise, which departs from STAR Marina, to catch Borneo's famous sunset. Not long after, you wind down at Coco-Joe’s Bar & Grill. Lounging atop one of the beach-dining platforms, over cocktails and a delectable seafood tower, you continue to enjoy the sound of overlapping waves on the shores of Sunset Beach. A pampering session at CHI, The Spa rounds off the day. With treatments based on traditional Asian healing philosophies, you lose yourself in an enchanted and indulgent journey, all on the resort’s private spa island.For every experience here, you are surrounded by natural beauty. And it all begins at Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Resort And Spa
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Resort
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Hotel
Shangri La Kota Kinabalu
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing