We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,076)
Filter reviews
4,076 results
Traveler rating
2,296
1,162
384
133
101
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,296
1,162
384
133
101
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kinabalu wing sunset bar kinabalu club cafe tatu coco joes chi spa star marina water slides borneo lounge horizon club sister hotel pitch and putt kids club infinity pool club room life guards our honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
2,814 - 2,819 of 4,076 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2009

Very beautiful resort with a fantastic SPA facilities. We had a great time here. Close by to town for Sabah seafood dinners.

Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank ParamjitK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipdewar, Resident Manager at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2009

Thank you for staying with us recently and for your kind review.

We are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2009

The Tanjung Aru resort is a very pleasant resort. The rooms were large and clean with nice views, the facilities were adequate and the service was OK but there was nothing great about it.

For a Shangri-La (and the amount we paid) this probably fell below my expectations and there was nothing outstanding about the resort, facilities or the staff.

Staff were polite but the service was not exceptional. Reception staff while responsive were not friendly. The staff at breakfast was brusque though this was understandable given how busy it was. The service at Coco Joe’s restaurant was really poor e.g. long wait for food, mixing up bills, badly cooked food. Service at the Shang Palace, however, was very good and I would recommend eating there.

The facilities are clean and safe but could do with an upgrade e.g. the rental bikes are in terrible shape, the pool area is quite small for the size of the resort and a bit worn and most of the building needs a lick of paint. The landscaping is very nice and the views from the resort are impressive and it is easy to access the islands and watersports from the jetty at the hotel.

I wouldn’t recommend this resort if you don’t find it relaxing being around a lot of children. We stayed at the resort out of school holidays anywhere but it was still overrun with kids.

There are definitely better value options in KK.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank talltaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipdewar, Resident Manager at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2009

Greetings from Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa.

I am distressed to hear that your stay fell below your expectations.

Your comment regarding the services you received at breakfast and Coco Joe's are well noted and we have been working vigorously on improvement in consistency in these areas. My apologies that we did not provide our usual standards of service to you.

I note also your concern with the condition of our rental bikes. We replace the bikes every six months, but they do get a lot of use since they are a complimentary service. This, coupled with being near the sea shortens their life span and I am now looking at our replacement cycle.

We are working on the plans of a pool renovation and your comment regarding a bigger pool is high on our agenda.

Once again thank you for your feedback. I very much trust that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back and demonstrating our usual high standards of Shangri-La service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2009

Stayed for 1 week in October had read some negative views on Tripadvisor before we went and I can`t believe this is the same resort. The service from check in to check out was 1st class, all staff very friendly, helpful and plenty of them. We upgraded to a club seaview room with club access on arrival and would recommend this option to all.
Good pool area with plenty of sun loungers, beach area on the small side. Good ferry service to the other islands for snorkling/site seeing.
We only used Coco Joes for food lunch and evening ( large lunch portions ideal to share ) very good quaility, during our stay deals on drinks were available. Visited the town for dinner at the waterfront large choice of restaurants and bars. Just a 10 minute walk from the hotel you will find 1st beach with bars restaurants and local hawker stalls offering food and drink at lower prices. On the way to 1st beach is the Kinabalu yacht club were can get temporary membership for £5 per week and the drinks at a much cheaper rate than the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tigertoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipdewar, Resident Manager at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2009

Many thanks for staying with us recently and your kind comments. We are all thrilled that you enjoyed your stay.

However, I note your comment regarding our alcohol prices. Alcohol is subject to high taxes in Malaysia and all of the alcohol we serve is brought into the country strictly legally, which means we carry a relatively high cost to start with, compared to some of the local stand alone venues. That said, your comment is certainly taken on board and we are always looking for ways to provide more value to our guests. We do a happy hour at our Sunset Bar and a number of poolside beverage offers during the day, with some of those offers being on wine.

Thanks again for your posting and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2009

Fantastic first class hotel. My husband & I stayed in a kota Kinabalu seaview room here for 16 nights. We were not disappointed, this hotel really did live up to the Shangri La reputation. Room was first class, hotel and resort immaculate, and the staff nearly fell over backwards to be helpful, polite and most importantly friendly. We ate in the hotel most nights and although probably expensive by Malaysian standards, definitely not by UK standards, and it was first class.!!!. The buffet at the Tatu cafe was excellent,extensive, and more than anyone could eat in one session.It covered European, Malaysian, Chinese, italian, Japaneese, and it you wished a variation on the a la carte menu, no problem. The Chineese restaurant was superb, and for a more relaxed dinner at the water front there was Cocco Joes, Superb!!. Drink is extremely expensive at the hotel, and spirits and wine just as difficult to buy at the shops, if able to find it was much more expensive than in the UK. The room was first class, and the house keeping staff went out of their way to ensure the room was kept to the highest of standards. We had fresh flowers 3 times, and when my husband was unwell for a couple of days, they provided, extra bottles of water, fresh flowers, fruit and a get well card, The complimentary activities at the hotel are well worth taking part in. I tried yoga for the first time, very professional instructor, first class. If you bump into a gentleman called Paul at the pool side ( he does the excellent water exercise class amongst a lot of other things) very professional, and if you could bottle his enthusiasm, and smile you would be worth a fortune.. Josie in the hotel shop will always remember your name and take a genuine interest in what you have been doing that day, and of course that big smile. I bought cheese cake from the shop most days ( not to be missed!!!), and on leaving Josie had a little personal cheese cake made for me. Fantastic hotel, resort and staff, made this a really perfect trip. We would highly recommend to anyone, and cannot wait to go back!!. We did take a trip to the Riasa Ria ( sister hotel) very nice, but a little too out of the way if you want to go out and about and do things. Mr & Mrs J Tait

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tait57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipdewar, Resident Manager at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2009

Dear Mr and Mrs Tait,

Many thanks for staying with us recently and for sharing your kind comments. We are all thrilled that you enjoyed your stay.

Delighted to hear that you enjoyed our friendly Sabahan service and I will gladly pass the comments onto my colleagues.

Again, thank you for the kind feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2009

Check in lets you know this place is relaxing - seems slow but is efficient enough.
We saw rooms in the Tanjung and Kinabalu seaview wings, and while both were excellent, we chose the Kinabalu - guess we've seen enough sunsets in the past.
Room was well maintained, clean, roomy, all facilities worked. Good bathroom.
Bed VERY firm - not to our liking, but that a personal thing.
One tip - if staying in Kinabalu wing, get a room on the higher levels away from the Bluenote Bar.
Cable internet in room, but is a slow connection.
Staff were superb at all locations.
Virtually no beach but the pool was fine.
We liked being able to go to town easily (15RM by taxi) so we ate some of the waterfront restaurants there too. The local markets were also interesting.
Went by hotel shuttle to Sangri-La Rasa Ria to see the orangutangs - well worth it. Satyng there may be nice too as they have a great beach, but it is a long way from town so there would only be infrequent shuttle services rather than taxis.
Overall great place for a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthernWanderer0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipdewar, Resident Manager at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2009

Many thanks for staying with us recently and for sharing your kind comments. We are all thrilled that you enjoyed your stay.

Delighted to hear that you enjoyed our friendly Sabahan service and I will gladly pass the comments onto my colleagues. However, I note your comment with regards to the bed. We would be delighted to arrange a mattress per your preference on future visits. Please do let us know if you are visiting any Shangri-La and we will make the necessary arrangement as well as noting it for future visits.

There was indeed an issue with our Internet Service Provider for the rooms. We have since changed provider and have seen good improvement in this area.

Again, thank you for the kind feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews