We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best of our three resorts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“best of our three resorts”
Reviewed March 5, 2006

Stayed in three different resorts in Sabah, Borneo and felt that this was marginally the best. Were in the Kota Kinabalu wing which is the cheaper one but as we were half board cannot think what extras we would have had in Tanjung wing. Really liked the white cotton mat at bedside with the slippers, felt this was the world of luxury. Were lucky with our room as on the top corner with views over KK and the distant hills. Had a little sunbird which sat on the little balcony plant quite often when we were relaxing there. As booked through a package cannot really comment on staff but were disappointed with the restaurant ones. Sometimes we were not given water automatically for dinner and it certainly was very rarely topped up, on our last morning we did not even receive coffee for breakfast until we asked for it. There did not seem to be a consistency with signing the chitties for meal, depended who was on duty. Having said that the food was wonderful, especially the chocolate souffle at dinner. Plenty of choice for meals both meat, fish and vegs. Nice resort for walking around, sea or pools for swimming in always plenty of room for lounging around without being crowded. Tanjung Aru town within walking distance so nice for a little stroll. If the restaurant staff got themselves a bit better organised then could not fault the hotel

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank margaretc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,091
    1,059
    339
    117
    81
See reviews for
1,279
1,395
91
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (792)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2006

Stayed here for a week at the end of February and found it to be excellent quality.Only drawback for us that February is the time of the year when there are a lot of Company functions so about 300 of the rooms were occupied by business personel and lots of people wandering around in corporate dress with clip boards.We visited the Rasa Ria which was our first choice ( to see the Orang Utan sanctuary) and soon came to the conclusion that we were at the better hotel as the Rasa Ria was short on sun beds and a long way from anything else.The hotel food was excellent, but an alternative was the 4 Ringit return hotel shuttle to Kota Kinabalu where we were able to try out the cheap delicious street food.We stayed in the refurbished Tanjung Wing and the rooms are very, very nice with top class service.There are plenty of sun beds and umbrellas for everyone.It is definately a place that is " moreish" but there are so many other places in the world to visit alas.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank 11057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 18, 2006

We have just returned from 2 weeks in Tanjung Aru, staying in the Tanjung wing de luxe room (even had a ceiling fan on the balcony) and joined the Horizon Club which provided free waiter service breakfast and "Happy hour" or indeed very happy hour as all drinks and delicious canapes were free between 5 - 7 p.m.
We could not fault the hotel in any way - the only problem was that there is so much to see in Sabah on trips etc that we never really got round to exploring the adjacent islands nor indeed doing much lounging about at the hotel. We give the hotel full marks for providing sun shades over the childrens swimming pools - a lesson many hotels could learn.

Try it for as near a perfect holiday as you can get

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2006

I had booked 10 days at teh sister Rasa Ria Shangri-La, and bevcame unhappy with access to activities and the variety of food. Because I had booked through the Shangri-La web site, they quickly accomodated my request to move from the Rasa Ris Shangri-La to the Tanjung Aru.

Despite the fact that it is closer to town, it is in fact a lot easier to arrange activities from the Tanjung Aru Shangri-La, in part because most boat trips depart from docks in town.

The food was fantastic, service was great---thanks so very much.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank traveler6189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 356 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2006

Not too far from main centre of town. Walking distance to many eating places. Friendly check in staff. Breakfast was quite nice - no complaints.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Love_Life_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2006

Just returned from our Far East trip and KK was the highlight. STAR is just fabolous, best hotel I have ever stayed in. Check in was swift at the Golden Circle desk (advantage of being a member) Got upgraded to a Suite. Was told that this is the biggest room they have. I am not revealing the room number. (Want to go back there again)

I got the package with breakfast and dinner included. Check out on Shangri-La website the best rates for different packages before booking. Food is amazing, breakfast and dinner buffets have an excellent variety. I would certainly recommend anyone to take the dinner offer, unless you want to eat at the hawkers place.

THe facilites are great too. Pool is adequate, there is a play room for kids. Have a 1 year old, so guess where I had to spent majority of my time.

I would recommend this resort to everyone. Its the best resort I have been to.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank kea13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2006

We had originally booked an Horizon Club room and was a little disapointed. The room were Ok but not to our usual standard. I understand that they are all due to be refurbished this year. So at check in there was notes about upgrading to suites so we asked the cost.
We were show the Tanjung Executive site, it was simply stunning what was the cost? It was only going to be £50 per night so we decided to do it and it just ,made our holiday fantastic!
Eating at the hotel was very expensive compared to typical Malaysian meals cost for example £8 for sandwich and chips at lunch. Opposite the hotel was a great place to eat Beachbums only opened 4 weeks ago( sandwich and drink £1.50) great food, service and value.
Easy to get to KK and eat out at the waterfront where you are spoilt for choice, Seafood, Indian, ect
Horizon club was great for breakfast, evening cocktails and nibbles and free drinks during the day, when you need a rest from the sun.
This was the better hotel to stay at than the Rasa Ria, it too far from anything!
Lovely and quiet around the pools or you could find a nice quiet spot on the grass or beach. Health club was also very nice.
A great holiday

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
27 Thank JA/IRBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
1.5 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
15.5 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,075 reviews
11.9 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#12 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,333 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
Address: 20 Jalan Aru, Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A paradise for the senses surrounded by natural beautyA gentle breeze caresses your face as you wake to the sound of waves lapping the beach. The balcony opens up to an inspiring vista of sparkling coral islands and swaying of palm trees. Tunku Abdul Rahman Park, bordered by crystal clear waters and lush vegetation Sophistication surrounds you in a lavishly decorated suite inspired by Borneo’s rich cultural heritage. Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu, is a perfect tropical getaway, a luxurious tranquil retreat just a short drive from the city.Yet, excitement beckons as you set out to discover all Kota Kinabalu’s delights. Making your way to Kinabalu National Park, you are thrust into a jungle paradise of natural wonders, rugged landscapes and scenic beauty. From the Rafflesia, the largest flower in the world, to the famous Orangutans in their natural habitat, it only gets more breathtaking every step of the way.The afternoon is spent exploring the picturesque town of Kota Belud. As Sabah’s largest and most popular open market, you find gems of all sorts, ranging from handmade handicrafts to mouth-watering local delights like natural honey.Back at the resort, you look forward to a sunset cruise, which departs from STAR Marina, to catch Borneo's famous sunset. Not long after, you wind down at Coco-Joe’s Bar & Grill. Lounging atop one of the beach-dining platforms, over cocktails and a delectable seafood tower, you continue to enjoy the sound of overlapping waves on the shores of Sunset Beach. A pampering session at CHI, The Spa rounds off the day. With treatments based on traditional Asian healing philosophies, you lose yourself in an enchanted and indulgent journey, all on the resort’s private spa island.For every experience here, you are surrounded by natural beauty. And it all begins at Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Resort And Spa
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Resort
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Hotel
Shangri La Kota Kinabalu
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing