We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suites are fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2006

We had originally booked an Horizon Club room and was a little disapointed. The room were Ok but not to our usual standard. I understand that they are all due to be refurbished this year. So at check in there was notes about upgrading to suites so we asked the cost.
We were show the Tanjung Executive site, it was simply stunning what was the cost? It was only going to be £50 per night so we decided to do it and it just ,made our holiday fantastic!
Eating at the hotel was very expensive compared to typical Malaysian meals cost for example £8 for sandwich and chips at lunch. Opposite the hotel was a great place to eat Beachbums only opened 4 weeks ago( sandwich and drink £1.50) great food, service and value.
Easy to get to KK and eat out at the waterfront where you are spoilt for choice, Seafood, Indian, ect
Horizon club was great for breakfast, evening cocktails and nibbles and free drinks during the day, when you need a rest from the sun.
This was the better hotel to stay at than the Rasa Ria, it too far from anything!
Lovely and quiet around the pools or you could find a nice quiet spot on the grass or beach. Health club was also very nice.
A great holiday

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
27  Thank JA/IRBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,810)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,953 - 2,959 of 3,810 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2006

A pleasant stay overall. Positives include a good selection of restaurants including a mixed buffet breakfast; a not overly crowded pool and beach area; a good selection of water sports; very short journey from the airport. Negatives are costs (a beer would cost more than it would in London!); quite a small resort; few things to do outside the resort and in town (make sure you bring your insect spray!); and a lack of nightlife.

Stayed: January 2006
11  Thank ricardoHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
england
117
Reviewed January 21, 2006

we loved this holiday so much we went back for a second holiday!!!!!! we had booked our holiday to borneo simply because my husband had always wanted to go. i read so many reviews before we went i ended up not wanting to go i was quite worried about what would greet us. we travelled with our 2 children then aged 12 and 8 and i worried for their safety. it could not have been more different never did i feel threatened or not safe the staff at the hotel could not have been more friendly or helpful. there was always a good selection of food and restaurants to eat in. the childrens club is the best one my children have ever been to and hold a party on friday nights so parents can also have a night off - fantastic!!! given the chance we will return again this year. on our second holiday we upgraded to the horizon club which included breakfast, soft drinks tea and coffee all day, free alcohol for 2 hours in the evening plus canapes and also free internet for half an hour per day it was well worth the extra money and the personal service we received was great with special thanks to jonny and beatrice who really looked after us not everyone has the same views on hotels but you cant go wrong with this one great for families and couples!!!

17  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2006

We stayed at the STAR for 8 nights in January and overall the resort is great. Staff are very friendly, there are plenty of activities available for both adults and children and the rooms are lovely.
The only negative comments we have about the hotel is that it is very large and was full while we were there so there are a lot of people and this makes breakfast a little chaotic. Food was generally good in each of the restaurants we ate in. The cultural show and Malaysian buffet at Pulau Bayu was great but make sure you dont eat lunch that day.
The pool area is lovely as well.

12  Thank bradletn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2005

Having spent one night in Shangri-La Rasa Ria we decided to move to Tanjung Aru Resort. We were disappointed at the Rasa Ria for its remote location and for the somewhat worn-out look and feel. The decision was good as Tanjung Aru was much closer to Kota Kinabalu and if you wanted to venture out of the hotel you could do it. Rasa Ria was simply too far away from anything - even with a car.

We stayed at the newly renovated Tanjung Wing and the room was magnificient. The beach at the hotel is small but the big pool was great.

However as this is a very large hotel I got the feeling of being in a holiday factory - a feeling I haven't had in other places in Asia eventhough the hotels I have stayed have been as big as this one. There was something pretentiuos.

The restaurants were great. especially the beach front restaurant with its flairs in the evening made in magical. Despite, I wouldn't make an another thip to KOta Kinabalu just for this hotel.

The islands in front of Kota Kinabalu are great. There are boats (at a hefty charge of course) that will to take you to these islands fror a day trip. It's worth doing several islands if you come this far - diving and snorkeling is surprisingly good even this close to Kota Kinabalu town.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
30  Thank Timo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2005

A superb hotel, previos review says it all. We stayed in their basic room which is not supposed to have a view, the view was lovely. Food is fantastic, but with European prices which would be expected. Our room in the cheaper Kinabalu was excellent, we had a look at a suite in the Tanjung wing it was out of this world, beware, if you get one of these rooms you will be tempted to spend your holiday in the room. Staff were great.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank J123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2005

We have just retuned from a two week stay at the tanjung.This is the best large hotel we have stayed in.We did not upgrade to the Horizon Club as our package included breakfast anyway so it was not worth the extra to us.Breakfast in the Tu-Tu cafe was excellent and included European,Chinese,Indian and Malay options as well as an omelete bar.The food in the hotel was always of the highest quality though much more expensive than in KK. There is a hawker centre five minutes walk away providing great cheap local food.
Service from all staff was excellent and attentive so I must dis agree vigorously with previous comments.The reception staff were particularly efficient.
Our room was a deluxe in the tanjung wing,good size and great bathroom with top class toiletries.
A shuttle bus runs about eight times a day to KK for 4ringet return. Seafood lovers should not miss the Ocean Village restaurant, where you self select live seafood and it is cooked in a style of your liking.My reccomendation crab in spicey sauce. A meal for two with wine was about 30GBP.
A second bus runs to the sister hotel the Rasa Ria.Here they have a small wildlife reserve with six orangutan. You can watch them feed and then enjoy the hotel facilities
Finally do not miss the sunset bar happy hour 5-6 pm chill out with a dink and some good company.
We had a fantastic time and would highly reccomend this hotel

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank Ismaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
1.4 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
2.7 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,189 reviews
11.9 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#10 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,507 reviews
15.5 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
2.6 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa

Address: 20 Jalan Aru, Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: $210 - $423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 492
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A paradise for the senses surrounded by natural beautyA gentle breeze caresses your face as you wake to the sound of waves lapping the beach. The balcony opens up to an inspiring vista of sparkling coral islands and swaying of palm trees. Tunku Abdul Rahman Park, bordered by crystal clear waters and lush vegetation Sophistication surrounds you in a lavishly decorated suite inspired by Borneo’s rich cultural heritage. Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu, is a perfect tropical getaway, a luxurious tranquil retreat just a short drive from the city.Yet, excitement beckons as you set out to discover all Kota Kinabalu’s delights. Making your way to Kinabalu National Park, you are thrust into a jungle paradise of natural wonders, rugged landscapes and scenic beauty. From the Rafflesia, the largest flower in the world, to the famous Orangutans in their natural habitat, it only gets more breathtaking every step of the way.The afternoon is spent exploring the picturesque town of Kota Belud. As Sabah’s largest and most popular open market, you find gems of all sorts, ranging from handmade handicrafts to mouth-watering local delights like natural honey.Back at the resort, you look forward to a sunset cruise, which departs from STAR Marina, to catch Borneo's famous sunset. Not long after, you wind down at Coco-Joe’s Bar & Grill. Lounging atop one of the beach-dining platforms, over cocktails and a delectable seafood tower, you continue to enjoy the sound of overlapping waves on the shores of Sunset Beach. A pampering session at CHI, The Spa rounds off the day. With treatments based on traditional Asian healing philosophies, you lose yourself in an enchanted and indulgent journey, all on the resort’s private spa island.For every experience here, you are surrounded by natural beauty. And it all begins at Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Resort And Spa
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Resort
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Hotel
Shangri La Kota Kinabalu
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing