We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$222
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$386
$178
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu(Kota Kinabalu)
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Horizon Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
$241
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sixty3(Kota Kinabalu)
$71
$50
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 38% below average rates

The price you found is 38% lower than this hotel's average rate of $81/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Klagan Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
$59
$48
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$56
$41
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $46/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Grandis(Kota Kinabalu)
$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $121/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (4,024)
Filter reviews
4,025 results
Traveler rating
2,270
1,144
380
131
100
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,270
1,144
380
131
100
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskinabalu wingsunset barkinabalu clubcafe tatucoco joeschi spastar marinawater slidesborneo loungehorizon clubsister hotelpitch and puttkids clubinfinity poola mountain view roomclub roomlife guards
Filter
Updating list...
575 - 580 of 4,025 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2016 via mobile

We have visited Borneo twice before although 8 years ago. On previous visits we stayed at the Shangri la Rasa Ria which we really enjoyed. People have described the Tanjung Aru as more luxurious so we were expecting something really special. To say we were a little disappointed is probably too strong but this hotel, whilst very nice, wasn't quite the luxury we were expecting. Room was good, public areas nice, pool area good. What we did find that instead of it being a quiet tropical paradise it is a family hotel with large parties of Chinese and Korean families having a good time. It is close to Kota Kinabalu and so on 3 evenings we took a taxi into the city for a meal. There is a taxi rank at the hotel where you pre pay for taxis which is good. In summary, very nice hotel but if you want a quiet tropical paradise then don't think is the place for you.

Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
1  Thank IPH57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangriLa_TAH, Director of Communications at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2016

Dear IPH57,

Thank you very much for your feedback and compliments.

We appreciate the time you had taken the time to share this review.

May you have many safe and fun travel adventures ahead.


Yours sincerely,
Claudina Wong
Director of Communications
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, Kota Kinabalu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2016

We spent a great long weekend in this Shangri-La, and were very happy.
The best feature would have to be the pool area and water slide area for the kids - it kept our 3 entertained for hours.
There is also an in-house pier that allows you to go over to the islands for the day. The hotel is very helpful and organised with these tours, and let's you get out of the hotel for a while (as there really isn't too much to do in KK, especially since the other Shangri-La has shut down it's orang-utans sanctuary!!)
Good wi-fi throughout the hotel, and Chi Spa was lovely.

Room Tip: Getting a room with club lounge access was well worth it.
  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VITaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangriLa_TAH, Director of Communications at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2016

Dear VITaylor,

Thank you very much for the time you had taken to write this review of the resort.

We are so happy to hear that you had enjoyed a lot of the facilities here and can't wait to welcome you back!

Until we meet again, safe travels always.


Yours sincerely,
Claudina Wong
Director of Communications
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, Kota Kinabalu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2016

Beside the tight meeting schedule, still able to find suitable time to relax. The cosy and peaceful environment is welcoming. The wonderful landscaping providing a soothing environment while walking on the pavement at the seaside. However, the short stretch of beach was not attractive. For my entire 3 days stay at the hotel, I had never seen anyone swim in the sea or hang around the beach.

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Songwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangriLa_TAH, Director of Communications at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2016

Dear Songwl,

We are very happy to learn that you had had the time to rest and relax while you were recently here for a meeting.

It is our hope that you return for a holiday one day soon. Until then, safe travels always.


With warm regards,
Claudina Wong
Director of Communications
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, Kota Kinabalu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2016

I was satisfied Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort front desk staffs and their's services, facilities, swimming pool, three water-slides, foods in TATU Cafe, star lounge, room service, etc. were very good.

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank P6988NBjamesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangriLa_TAH, Director of Communications at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2016

Dear P6988NBjamesk,

Thank you very much for your generous compliments in this review.

We are most happy to have been given the opportunity to serve you and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Until we meet again, safe travels always.


Yours sincerely,
Claudina Wong
Director of Communications
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, Kota Kinabalu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2016

Staff very friendly and helpful. My suite was on the 5th floor facing the sea, breath taking view, especially the sunrise. Room can be a bit noisy as you can hear the foot steps in the room above you. Feel a bit warm in the room despite air-condition temperature turn to minimum and fan at highest level. Breakfast has the usual average resort quality and choice, much less than what I am used to from the Shangri-La group. Nice beach front to walk about.

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amorgoong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangriLa_TAH, Director of Communications at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2016

Dear Amorgoong,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

Can you kindly let us know which room you stayed in by emailing us at tah@shangri-la.com? We would like to look into the possibly faulty air-conditioning in the room immediately.

Thank you for pointing out the colleagues' friendliness and helpfulness. It is much appreciated.

We hope to serve you again soon.


With best regards,
Claudina Wong
Director of Communications
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, Kota Kinabalu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews